Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Jakob from Blantyre

Great hotel location, food a disappointment

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel at the ridge of Zomba plateau with a fantastic view. We had a superior room which is one of the best rooms we had for a long time. Good place for some splendid walks around the plateau or just relaxing. The food was unfortunately not up to the standard for the hotel. Slow service in the evening for a dry and overdone beef, and at lunch we experienced a very ordinary buffet far too overpriced. A pity that the food is not up to par for the rest of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worth a visit

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
It is in a lovely location with spectacular views. The hotel is very nice but the food is not great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Bernt from Göteborg

kallt på vintern, men brasa i rummet

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
Hotellet ligger 10 km upp på berget, men har fin utsikt, utmärkt mat och tillfälle till promenader.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Worth the climb!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Superb location, very comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, attractive grounds, good food, TV and broadband.
Cons: No shortcomings. Reviews suggested service in restaurant was slow. Not so. Encouraged to place dinner orders in advance and food served without delay.
Location: At top of plateau, with superb views for miles. Plenty of attractive mountain walks available, with guides if necessary. Really relaxing environment.
Spent 2 nights at Ku Chawe on holiday from the UK, having previously stayed here over 25 years ago. Much of hotel had subsequently been rebuilt after a fire. Beautiful, peaceful location. Very relaxing stay. Good accommodation and service.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl from Lilongwe, Malawi

Zomba Plateau Heaven!

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: The view! We had a lovely, spacious room, with a fridge and tea-making facilities. The peace and quiet was great, especially when sitting outside.
Cons: The lunch service should be faster.
Location: The location of the hotel is excellent. We did have a car, but I believe they do shuttle services from the airport. The town in reasonably close.
We spent two nights at this lovely hotel. The position is amazing - the hotel is on top of Zomba Plateau, at about 1900 metres. The view is incredible, although it was a little smoky due to a fire on the mountain. The gardens are beautiful and we loved having lunch outside. The lunch menu is varied, but the service was rather slow. The staff are friendly and well-meaning, but the food took a long time to arrive. Dinner was a very nice buffet, beautifully presented. We organised a guide to take us on a three hour walk to Emperor's View and Queen's View. We walked through a pine forest to the view sites, and the views were wonderful! We really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good choice, but best in warm weather

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels
This is certainly the best hotel choice in Zomba. However it works best when the weather is warm. It was cold when we were there and the hotel has very few heated areas. We were constantly fighting to stay warm. On the positive side the view is spectacular, food which was included was very good and exceeded our expectations. Wireless didn't work in the rooms. Overall we were happy.
4 out of 5
by Wendy

Stunning views and a lovely tranquil setting

Posted Sep 11, 2012
Pros: Surroundings, Views, Nice staff
Cons: Little bit slow and the desserts were pretty bad, give those a miss - they're not worth the wait!
Location: Stunning with pretty well-tended gardens and awe inspiring views out from the plateau
I read very mixed reviews about this place before I went but as it is really your only option on Zomba plateau I went ahead and booked it anyway. I was so pleasantly surprised. Turns out the original Kuchawe Inn burned down about 5 yrs ago so has been newly rebuilt. If you read bad reviews from 5 or more yrs ago, know it was not the same hotel then. Service was a bit slow at times, and I'm not an impatient traveller - I don't expect service in Malawi to be at the same speed as people demand in New York or London. For example we waited well over an hour for dinner but just learned to show up and order before we were in a state of starving and it was fine. The surroundings are so pleasant and peaceful and the staff so friendly and welcoming that waiting for things isn't an unpleasant experience anyway. The rooms are lovely and the staff will kindly light the fireplace in your room if you ask them to, which is very cozy on a chilly night. All in all, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here and would happily go back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kuchawe Inn, Zomba Plateau, Malawi

Posted Apr 9, 2012
Pros: Preis/Leistung und Lage
Location: Eines der schönsten Reiseziele in Malawi
Service sehr freundlich, kompetent und schnell. Die Zimmer sind originell ausgestattet, mit kleinem Garten-Sitzplatz und Kamin. Die Umgebung ist umwerfend schön und ruhig. Wunderschöne Wanderungen, Pferdeställe in unmittlebarerer Nähe...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Très bel hôtel de charme

Posted Oct 17, 2011 on Hotels
Très bel hôtel de charme. Dominant la ville de Zomba, la situtaion et le cadre sont exceptionnels. Le personnel est compétent et prevenant. En comparaison avec le Sunbird de Blantyre, les prestations sont ici de qualité : repas, service, bar. Un bémol, les chambres peuvent paraitre un ton au dessous au regard du reste de l'hôtel. Mais la litterie est confortable et le feu de cheminée vous fera oublier ce coté un peu daté. L'hotel est idéalement situé pour qui veut partir à la découverte de Zomba plateau, un peu moins pour qui doit travailler à Zomba town. Compter 15-20 min de belle route montagneuse au milieu des arbres...et des babouins.