Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Best Beach in Mazatlan.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
I always return to the El Cid, Mazatlan. The staff is friendly, the hotel is located close to shopping and restaurants, and the El Cid has the best lounging and swimming beach. The per diem ALL INCLUSIVE rates are reasonable enough that you can still eat out and not feel guilty. The ATV excursions are a lot of fun. Visit Old Town, the Cathedral, the Market (not to be missed) and the cliff divers. Poncho's is my favorite beach restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Germán Fayad/ General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Leslie, Thank you vey much for sharing your review with us regarding your awesome vacation in Mazatlan. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our all inclusive package. We hope to continue being your choice the next time you travel. Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Ca.

too close to noisy area.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The people that work there are very friendly,buffet and dinner with a good variety .
Cons: maintenance
Location: everything for your needs is close by.
Despite the fact we were at the 26Th floor we could not sleep the first two nights. the sound of music was very loud and we could feel the heavy bass resonance in our chests. Our room that I had book six months in advance was not ready I ask for a king size bed and they gave us two bed room,we ask to be moved and the second room was two floors up but the bath tub drain was clogged.and the room mattress had a terrible smell.finally they move us to a suite and that was when we finally settle in(clothes and everything else) we had a reservation for ten days and we had planed to enjoy our vacation without this kind of inconvenience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by German Fayad, Hotel Management
Dear Jesse, I want to extend my sincerest apologies for the experience that you has with the misunderstanding request to your king size bed and loud music. Unfortunately in these days we were o high occupancy that’s why we aren’t available to meet your request. However this doesn’t excuse that you have found a decrease in the room services. We have made the necessary steps to ensure that our cleaning processes are being taken place as should they have following the rules of “cristal” our certification company suggest. I want to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We are always looking for ways to better our service, and your feedback is an invaluable part of that process. Should you need help in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I will be very happy to assist you personally with anything you need. Sincerely, German Fayad General Manager
1 out of 5
by Alma

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017
Dear Mrs. Alma, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your score with us through Expedia. It is through guest reviews such as yours that we can assess the standards of our service, and therefore make changes, so as to meet and exceed your expectations. As soon as I heared your negative score that you had during your stay I get back to you in order to obtain details of the issues you had. We are thankful for the opportunity to continue to improve every day. I would hope that you would reconsider coming back to stay with us when your plans might bring you to Mazatlan again in the future. If so, I would ask that you let me know prior to your arrival so I may welcome you personally and ensure that you have the vacation experience that our hotel is known for. Sincerely, Germán Fayad General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Burbank, CA

FUN IN THE SUN

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Swim up bar - and Kids entertainment.
Cons: The showers weren't properly cleaned. So maybe putting more attention in keeping the showers cleaned.
Location: The location was in a great spot. Lots of places to eat around the hotel.
The kids had so much fun. Food was good. But I do recommend the food at La Gruta in El Cid Morro. The best bartender is Ramon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by German Fayad / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Eva, Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent stay at el Cid Moro. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that we met your expectations. Be assured all of your comments help us to continue improving our services. We hope to continue being your choice the next time you come back. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

nice hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Close to the beach, easy to access transportation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by German Fayad / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Roxy, Thank you very much for sharing you reviw by Expedia. We are happy to hear we met all your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Pretty sure ALL rooms have beach view - NICE!

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: The pools, some of the bartenders/staff (Ignacio was AMAZING), the views, the beach, the buffet food is above average. Restaurants are pretty good.
Cons: The dress code - men can't wear sleeveless shirts in ANY of the restaurants, including the buffet. A couple restaurants not part of all-inclusive.
Location: Right on the beach and there's a decent amount of shops nearby. Take a pulmonia to the boardwalk and more shopping, or walk but it's a little far.
Stayed here for a week (Sat-Sat) with friends. My friends own timeshare there and were pretty irritated that I paid the same on Expedia for my All Inclusive Room for two than they had to pay as members for their all-inclusive bracelets! :) The place has it's pros and cons, but overall is a very nice resort whether you're travelling with friends, looking for a romantic getaway, or going on a family vacation. I would definitely not bother buying a timeshare, but their sales pitch (should you CHOOSE to attend it - it's NOT required) is definitely worth it. VERY low pressure if you're up front about not being interested. All I had to do was say I got a better deal on Expedia and we were done. LOL The pools here are great - HUGE, all over the resort, kids areas, shallow pools, deep pools, diving spots, slides, swim-up bars... there's a quiet pool too, but that's only for "members" (luckily we were WITH members). The beach was also great, and is right off the pool area. Wait staff patrol the beach too, so you can get drinks and bar food without leaving your cabana!! DO, however, expect to be constantly approached by locals selling things on the beach. The drinks aren't as good as they were at El Cid in Cancun, but if you get a margarita on the rocks, they're better than the blended ones. I wasn't able to find any vendors nearby that I felt weren't "touristy". Was hoping to find local honey, coffee, hand-made stuff... but most of it looked to be made in China.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by German Fayad / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Wow! Such an awesome comment. Thank you for sharing your experience with us through Expedia regarding your recent stay with us at El Cid Moro. I am very pleased to hear that our staff attended to all of your needs and made of your vacation at El Cid something unforgettable. Be assured they will receive recognition for their good efforts. Comments like yours motivate us to always try to improve the quality of our service, and It is very good to know that we met all your expectations, food, services, facilities, location and activities. We will be awaiting your return the next time you visit this beautiful town and we look forward to welcome you once again. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
by Marlene

El Cid

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
It was ok found it noisy at times Buffets were great didn't get to sleep till 4 am as the booming base kept us awake on Sunday night and having to drive back to Canada at 7AM Monday morning was not a good send off as we are elderly and don't think We will be back .Pretty pricey for what we received.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location of our sons wedding

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, close to beach, pools, pleasant staff.
Cons: Quality of food, (breakfast was great) lunch and dinner buffets weren't the best. A scuttle to and from the airport with more hotel packages.
Location: Location is great, close to shopping and restaurants.
My wife and I were very pleased with our first trip to Mexico, we were in Mexico for our sons wedding.The El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel is one of the biggest reasons for the success of our visit to Mexico, our son and his family stayed at the El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel also, the children loved the proximity to the beach, and the swimming pools.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by German Fayad / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us your review regarding your first trip to Mexico. We are very happy for have been part of that and your son's wedding. It is wonderful to hear that we met all your expectations and that your children enjoyed the time in here. We hope to see you coming back very soon. All of my best,
4 out of 5
by Jorge

Father , Son visit to Mazatlan

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Overall it is a great place with friendly people . Somewhat outdated but in working order . Breakfast buffet was not very good , the food was cold . A bit overpriced for what you get , however Lunch and Diner were superb. Hugo , the waiter ,was out of this world and went out of his way to please my son ,so we had new and different food every time. Unfortunately our stay was to short but definitely would recommend this place if you are looking for relaxation, good drinks and excellent food .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Dear Jorge, I appreciate that you took time to share your comments about El Cid Moro. Our objective is to always provide the best service to our guests, so reading this kind of comments makes us realize that we are doing a great job. Thank you for mentioning our staff who made of your trip something special, be assured they will get a recognition for their great job. We are thankful for the opportunity to continue to improve every day so we addressed the details you gave us to the food and beverage's manager in order to make the improvements necessaries in the process. We look forward to seeing you next time your travel brings you to Mazatlan. Sincerely, German Fayad General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Pros and Cons

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: We loved the people. Everyone was so kind.
Cons: New beds and pillows. Bars where people can sit and mingle.
Location: We did the tequila tour and loved it. Our tour guide, Ulysses with Pronto Travel, was fabulous.
This was our 4th Mexican All-Inclusive vacation, and out first time at the El Cid El Morro. Pros-Wonderful people! Great staff. If Ana asks you to do the timeshare presentation, do it. We did this for the perks and it was interesting. We didn't purchase and did not feel overly pressured as a result. Ana was fabulous and became our go-to person whenever we needed anything. We had a very bad experience with a timeshare presentation on a visit to Puerto Vallarta and vowed to never do one again. Ana promised it wouldn't be high pressure, and it wasn't. The room was spacious and very clean. The food was good (typical all-inclusive fare) with lots of variety. The hotel itself was very clean. The pool and beach were clean, and we always found chairs. The staff is attentive. We only hung out at the adult pool. It is not heated, so we didn't swim. Our 18 year old daughter met kids her own age and had fun hanging out with them. There are lots of interesting places to walk to. There is a great Italian restaurant across the street. Taxis are cheap and easy to hail. We felt safe at all times (we do not speak any Spanish.) Cons-The night life is limited. We did not attend the shows. The beds and pillows are very hard. They did add a pad for us, but it was still miserably hard. There is a disco near the hotel which has loud music playing all night. Take an iPad with a white noise reduction app to help with this. One night a very loud band of musicians played on the beach until 1:00 am.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by German Fayad / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Syllie, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments by Expedia regarding your recent vacations at el Cid Moro. It is through guest reviews such as yours that we can assess the standards of our service, and therefore make changes, so as to meet and exceed your expectations. It is very good to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that the staff was kind and helpful to your needs. Please be assured that we addressed the issues you mentioned with the staff involved so we can make the improvements necessaries. We are thankful for the opportunity to continue to improve every day. I would hope that you would reconsider coming back to stay with us when your plans might bring you to Mazatlan again in the future. Kind Regards,