Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Do not stay at this hotel!

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: The great ocean view from our deck, the cleaning and restaurant staff who were fantastic, the pool and beach areas.
Cons: The hotel needs a complete renovation. The bedding was the worst we have ever seen in any hotel in any of the many we have stayed in over the years.
Location: Hotel is located too far away from the Malecon and Old Town; takes about 25 minutes in taxi to get there. Enjoyed Pancho's and Cilantro's restaurants.
This hotel is in bad need of renovation. We felt insecure because the entry door lock was flimsy & we could see into the suite from the exterior. The wood was eroding on one interior door. The hotel advertises premium quality TV channels = false. The only real news channel was CNN but we could not listen to it due to continuous buzzing noise. Every day the desk staff promised to deal with the problem but nothing happened. A much bigger issue was the sanitary condition of the room, which had nothing to do with the excellent housekeeper. We saw some large cockroaches around the entry door and the mattress was very old and dirty. The hotel had placed a foam layer on top to try to hide the filth. The pillows were old and lumpy. The sheets were not fitted and constantly came loose. On the 6th morning, when I turned over to reach for my book, the loose sheets and covers pulled me onto the floor. I seriously banged my head on the concrete room divider and was stunned for several minutes so we decided to leave. The hotel has not respected their own cancellation policy and has refused to for the 3 nights owed us even though the manager came to meet with us and signed a contract that stated that we would be reimbursed within 2-3 weeks. We reported the problem to Expedia who have tried many times to contact the manager but have not been able to speak to her because she does not want to deal with the problem. We have now reported the fraud to MasterCard who will deal with it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Room for improvement

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Kitchen stove top in need of replacement, fridge too small and water not safe were the down side. Otherwise staff were very good and room was small but comfortable and on the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by concierge, Hotel Management
Appreciable guest. Thank you for sharing your experience at Palace Hotels. we offer you an apology for the inconveniences that you mention. This type of opinion is very important for us because thanks to them we can identify areas of opportunity. Waiting gives us the opportunity to return to serve them at Palace Hotels. Best regards. Ana Maria Valdes G: Concierge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach,CA

Beautiful Hotel with a fabulous beach and pool

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: The beautiful beach, pool, room w/kitchenette, the staff, and the food. Also how quiet the place was for the most part.
Cons: The faucet fixtures are hard to turn on/off. Also the noise level from the Friday night Quincenera was CRAZY! Need to not allow load parties!
Location: Close to the Golden Zone (shopping and great Restaurants) all within walking distance. Best beach on site! National Car Rental across the street.
Extremely nice and clean hotel. One of the best beaches in Mazatlan. Loved our kitchenette in the room. Just make sure the maid knows exactly how many utensils/dishes you have (or don't have) so as not to get charged for missing items. Beautiful pool that was easy for my handicap mom to use also. Food at the poolside restaurant was excellent! They also serve you on the beach! Just make sure to have enough money charged to your credit card in advance to cover the tab. They like to have upfront credit but will give you the refund when you leave. Super quiet hotel for the most part. We only had one night (Friday) when there was a huge Quincenera party that was unbelievably load! It started at just after 10pm and went until 2am! I don't think ANYONE could sleep through it! The decibels from the band were shaking our slider window and you could hardly talk to the guy at the desk because it was so load! We complained and they offered to give us a free dinner. The rest of the nights were very quiet, even the Saturday night wedding was hardly noticeable. Overall, it's a wonderful location and great hotel! We'll definitely stay there again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bugs

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Ants , bugs , not what they said the room would be like and rude
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place and location, customer srvce notso much

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
The location is great, on the beach, nice pool nice view, clean room (needs some updating) but all that was good to great. The check in was the headache! Their reservations department closes at 3pm on Sunday and their systems or internet systems were down, they could not find our reservation. So we had to put a deposit of the amount of a full night stay and the regular deposit for two rooms. (We were not able to use that credit card after we held that amount) that was the only way the were going to let us in! After two hours of waiting and discussing they finally let us in but with a bad taste in our mouths about the situation. The did not even offer a bottle of water for the inconvenience, they didn't care! That's what alerted us the most!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

Great hotel.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Great hotel. Would definitely stay there again. Fantastic view. Friendly helpful staff. Great location.
5 out of 5
by Jessica

Great stay

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
The service at Luna Palace was great. Don Ramons service was great! He would recommend us to great restaurants. Overall this is a great and affordable place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Yup...nice and on the beach

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Reasonably priced...great location...friEndy folks...and we are going back nxt year...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best beach in mazatlán!

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel is older and could use some updates but is perfectly acceptable. We only spend a few hours in the room in the mornings, having coffee on the balcony while looking at the ocean. The view is amazing! The rest of our day is spent sitting on the beach, where we had the same spot with a palapa everyday for 2 weeks! Never had a problem getting chairs or tables!! We had friends at emerald Bay who pay SO much to be there and had NO chairs or palapas unless the "saved" one at 6 in the morning!! Having the kitchenette is the clincher tho. Although we don't cook while there (SO many restaurants that are within walking distance to choose from) we love having the refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot available!! We love the location on the north end. And will go back there again. My favorite place in the world!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mn

Posted Mar 16, 2017
The hotel needs some repairs no hot water no access to bel water poor out door furniture on patio bed spreads stained and blanket torn sheet where yellows found long black hair on pillow cases throw pillow were stained bathroom sink needed repair door frame mold on the bottom