Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Little problem initially

Posted Mar 23, 2017
I got to the hotel at 11 PM! After 2 hrs, noticed that the air conditioning unit did not work. The shower handle was broken! The staff was very responsive to my complaint and switched my room at 2 AM! For that kind of hotel, they should be checking these things before giving the room to people! After that, the stay was smooth!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOISY, BAD MAINTENANCE, FAR FROM BEIRUT

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
If you go to a restaurant and get a hair in your salad, a cockroach in your entrée and an ant in your dessert would they tell you to pay for your meal and come back later for a complimentary dinner? Something similar happened at le Royal. We stayed for a night in December. At 10 pm music from one of the ballrooms a few floors under started rocking the bed. The reception told us at first they would turn it down at 1 am!!!! After we protested they allegedly 'upgraded' us to a suite (pics attached) which had a musty odor, minimal furniture, ugly carpetting, smaller bed and NON-FUNCTIONING HEATING which couldn't be repaired. Long story short at 5 am we were transferred to another suite which had cold AC on in the living room (we couldn't turn it off) but fortunately heat in the bedroom. There was also a faint smell of men's perfume on the bedding. They vehemently refused a refund for our sleepless night. They offered a complimentary night. We're not interested in that as we've already had 3 rooms which were all defective. The problem with the hotel is that with the usual traffic it takes a good 45 min- 1h to Beirut. People might prefer to stay in Beirut. Since the hotel is quite big a lot of rooms are not occupied for a while so the staff is unaware of problems in them. Maintenance is affected and they value the ballroom events more than the rooms. Note that le royal hosts events in 3 ballrooms and outside around the pool. That's a lot of rooms affected by noise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
very nice sea view from the room!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The spa was great

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
It was nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Horrible Staff

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff need training on customer service and time management
Location: restaurants and cafes only
It took from me more than 1 hour to check in. Even I arrived at 4 p.m.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west virginia

Great location, great view

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Location, view, friendly staff.
Cons: The food at Le Jardin made me sick
Location: There is two shopping malls (ABC and Le Mall), with a restaurant complex called: " the Village". You can enjoy shopping, food and hookah at the villag
Stayed there for 10 days, this hotel has American and European style, great view very friendly staff and great security! Located in one of the best area, 25 minutes drive to ALhamra street, 20 min drive to our lady of Lebanon. My only negative point is the food at Le Jardin, it made me sick! The food at Shahrayar was fantastic with great Lebanese Ambience! Overall great hotel, I would recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Anne Marie Hachem, Hotel Management
Dear valuable Hani, Thank you your great review and note; we were disappointed to read about your concern related to the incident at Le Jardin; did you talk about it with the restaurant's Manager? Looking forward to welcome you back, Regards
1 out of 5
by Roger

Bad service not respecting the client

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Bad costumer service
2 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Mass

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
I'm shocked at the low value, I had two rooms for 10 days and spent $8000 at the hotel. I could have overlooked some of the little things if the service wasn't so appalling. The list of wrongs is long. We were 3 people in a room with a separate bedroom and a pull out couch. The pull out couch was so uncomfortable we had to get a blow up mattress. Every day I would have to call for more. in spite of housekeeping taking out 4 towels every morning, they would only leave two clean ones. The 2nd room had dirty Kleenex under the bed when we checked in. Despite notifying housekeeping they didn't remove it for two days. The spa was disgusting. They don't clean the instruments between clients. Instead of a mani and a pedi for $40 all they did was change the polish on your fingers and PAINT OVER the existing polish on your feet. They bartender by the pool couldn't be bothered to wait on you. The light next to the bed didn't work, the remote had dead batteries. We did have a beautiful balcony that faced the Mediterranean but it only had one chair on it and in spite of asking for a second one we never got it. As soon as you enter the room there is a light by the door but there is no switch, no way of shutting it off without unscrewing the bulb. To top it all off, the day before we left the manager apologized and supposedly set a wake up call and a ride the the airport the next day for us. Guess what? No taxi, no wakeup call.