Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Basic hotel but good location close to the centre

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Fit for purpose hotel near the main train station and with a tram stop just outside.
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Best hotel in Zurich!

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing! We love Zurich, we LOVE Comfort Inn Royal Zurich, we've stayed at this hotel 5 times in the last 15 years. They have upgraded all the rooms, the beds are fabulous, clean clean clean!!!! beautiful bathrooms, the breakfast is outstanding, friendly accommodating staff, we would highly recommend it. The location is superb, we love jumping on and off the tram right at the front door, close to the Hauptbanhof, easy to get to the Flughafen, great place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
It was OK.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Satisfactory hotel to use as a Base whilst in Zurich. No frills. Just comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Koh from Singapore

GOOD LOCATION

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
it would be great if the hotel can advise guest to take tram no 6 or 10 from the main train station which stop in front of the hotel which less walking distance and climbing the long steep staircase.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Convenient to town centre and to the airport.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The morning breakfast isn't worth the 18 Swiss Francs. There are no refrigerators in the room and no safe for valuables.
Location: The Tourist Info Office is located at the train station nearby. We booked a full day tour to the top of the Swiss Alps - expensive but worth it.
The #10 tram runs directly from the airport past the hotel and is less than 7 Swiss Francs--much cheaper than the 60 francs paid (including tip) for a taxi fare when we arrived. The hotel is walking distance to town. The room was small but the bed comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Alejandro from Paris, France

Looked great on paper

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel looked quite good on paper. And we paid $160 for the night -it is a lot but Zurich is insanely expensive with the current overvalued Swiss Franc. Great location (walking distance of most Zurich highlights), large room (for European standards), probably all you can need in the room. We underestimated how important a 24-hour reception is in the Alps, so this is good. Front desk people are quite friendly (a rarity in this area) and do the best they can. 5 min walk from Zurich main train station (which also means 20 min from the airport). But some other aspects failed in critical ways: - the bed gave us no rest, - they had to spend 25 minutes looking for our reservation (and resort to our phone), - the internet was so poor that the connection would fail constantly (we were right on top of the lobby area/wifi router, - so others may experience worse situations ... we did not complain because it was free wifi); - Rooms numbered X11 to X15 may experience difficulties in sleeping at night (the entrance buzzes when a guest comes into the hotel at night... we are quite insensitive to noise and we were quite tired after hiking that day but this was really disruptive); - We jumped into the 18-euro breakfast half an hour before closing (9:30am on a Sunday) and they have literally ran out of everything, with nothing more than some sad fruits, no bread left, and a mini omelette no larger than the diameter of a pepsi can.