Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

great value

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: extremely clean rooms. updated bathrooms. friendly staff and happy greetings with a smile and a personable touch with knowing your name and room.
Cons: after staying at 10 hotels on this trip, I feel they have a great hotel.
Location: close to train and boat. traveled to lucern, bern, zurick, mt. titlis and good shopping. There's the lindt factory and a designer outlet nearby.
had a room with a direct view of the water. right across the street from the train station. easy to take a car or train to Lucern or Zurick. There are several good places to eat in town, especially the Schwan. Breakfast was good to start the day and the behind the desk people were fantastic and willing to help in anything. This was a great find for us, we stayed 5 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Falkirk, Scotland

Pleasant return stay at the Hotel Meierhof, Horgen

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff, terrific lake views from the panoramic windows on the 5th floor Bar and Lounge. The coffee machine in reception.
Cons: Nothing obvious comes to mind.
Location: Visits to Rapperswil by Lake Cruiser (1 hour) and Lucerne by train (1 hour) are both recommended day visits, returning to the comfort of the hotel.
My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Meierhof exactly one year ago, and due to our pleasant experience last year it was our Hotel of choice during our return visit to the town of Horgen. The Hotel is ideally situated for a number of travel options, providing easy access to both Zurich city and the airport. The railway station is directly across the road from the hotel, with both Bus stance and Taxi rank to the left and right of the Hotel. The Lake ship station beyond the railway station ( 5mins walk) giving access to Lake cruises around the beautiful Lake Zurich. Visits to Rapperswil by Lake Cruiser (1 hour) and Lucerne by train (1 hour) are both recommended day visits, returning to the comfort of the hotel at night. There are a good selection of restaurants in the town all within 10 minutes walk. We found the hotel, friendly, welcoming and comfortable with excellent transport links. An ideal base 18mins (by train) from Zurich city centre. The hotel does have a fitness centre, which is accessible to hotel guests free of charge. Overall we would recommend the Hotel Meierhof and we intend to return next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dorset uk

Hotel we'll situated for all transport

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Very friendly and ready to assist staff. Rooms kept very clean a compliment to the chambermaids.
Cons: Facilities for disabled people.
Location: Access very good to all modes of trains. Personally we used a car so travelled away from hotel. Did boat trip on lake which was very pleasant.
We'll placed for all modes of transport. Train ferry and tram tickets can be combined and bought for week. Lift and bridge over road and rail was very close to give access to lakeside for lovely walks. My husband is in a wheelchair and this was very useful. Trains a little awkward with wheelchair as only certain trains have disable facilities and only some stations can be accessed. Hotel very good and friendly but limited for rooms with shower only. Also no maintenance staff work Sunday. Had problem with safe on a Sunday and it was just as well I was not booking out on that day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
The hotel is right outside the train station but you can barely hear the trains at night. The staff couldn't have been more helpful both before and during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Stayed here for Ironman Zurich and the hotel put on an early breakfast for residents that wanted it. Very impressed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome and Fantastic!

Posted Jul 26, 2014
My stay at Meierhof Hotel was great, perfect location across Lake Zurich, train station and bus station. Very nice hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a budget one

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Room is clean but no aircon and it's under some renovation , some room is under paint job so kinda noisy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronald from New York

Posted May 10, 2014
Cons: The line in the cafeteria for breakfast, the waiter was yelling at some guests for going the wrong way to get food which was rude.
The location is right in front of the train that goes anywhere which is very convenient. Great view the overlooks the lake for breakfast and bar. It is quiet other than the trains going by which is bearable. Fruit basket in the room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from Kent. U.K.

Lakeside hotel with lovely views.

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The lake front position with boat, bus or train stops adjacent. The cleanliness of the Hotel & the very friendly, helpful staff.
Location: Easy transport links to Zurich with all it's attractions. Boats cruising around the Lake .Walking & cycling around the area.
Very friendly welcome creating a good 1st. impression. All necessary information given. A good size bedroom with welcome basket of fruit & chocolate. Tea & coffee facilities & free wi-fi. 5th. floor bar & restaurant , a free welcome drink included as was breakfast in this lovely area with panoramic views over Lake Zurich. Plenty of choice for breakfast from the buffet. Again very friendly staff...nothing was too much trouble.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tavi from Manchester, UK

Comfortable hotel with good access to Zurich

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: water bar on each floor free wifi in the room breakfast restaurant with great view of the lake convenient access to transport links
Cons: wifi access limit of 2 devices at one time per room (think smartphone + laptop/tablet/... for each guest in the room) pillows too soft no slippers
Our stay at Hotel Meierhof was a pleasant one, for sure. We stayed there around the New Year holiday, as we could get a good deal with the Stay 3 nights, pay for 2 offer. The hotel is clean, quiet, and the staff is quite helpful. The best thing about this place is, perhaps, the location. Horgen train station is right in front of the hotel and you can get to Zurich HB in 20 minutes if you take the S2 train; we constantly found this to be very convenient. If you plan to travel by public transport, however, please be aware that Horgen is two transport zones away from the Zurich main zone, so that's going to push up the travel costs somewhat. There's also a large bus hub and a ferry dock next to it. Some other good things: - freshly-ground coffee and hot water machine in the lobby, freely accessible; the coffee tastes quite good! - water bars on each floor, with still and sparkling water taps - the taste of the sparkling water was great - nice view of the Zurich lake, both from the rooms (if you get a lake-facing room) and from the 5th floor breakfast restaurant - a good selection of TV channels, including 3 BBC channels and ITV Some not-so-good things: - the pillows are awfully soft, almost as if half the filling was removed from each; we later realised that we could have asked replacements, but couldn't be bothered by that point - limit of 2 devices connected to the wifi at one time - slippers only on request - no water heaters in the rooms