Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great location in the city

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Great location. Wonderful river and city views from the center rooms. Great roof terrace bar, and enjoyed the restaurant terrace for drinks/dining.
Cons: More power outlets in the rooms for chargers.
Was visiting friends nearby and the Hotel was within walking distance. Very convenient. Also very convenient to numerous trams for getting around the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, Iowa

Updated but noisy

Posted Jun 26, 2017
I was there during a really hot couple of days. There is no air conditioning and my fan wasn't working, so the room was quite hot. It was also hard to sleep because of the traffic noise. That being said though, everything was updated and clean. They offered free snacks and water. And the staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

A couple of days shopping and visiting family

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Beautiful old hotel with a great restaurant/bar downstairs and very nice room.
Location: Close to shops and the central train station. Trams and trains next door also. Lots of bars, pubs and restaurants nearby.
Everything was excellent. Staff, room, location were all good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, but that's about it.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
It was so hot, we could barely sleep. The room was very small. We had to have the windows open(which only opened and inch), so it was very loud as well. Not enough bright light to put on make up. Too expensive for what it was.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Fine Hotel, Downgraded at Check-in.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Nice design and bath products. Good location.
Cons: Don't overbook rooms!
Location: Contemporary art museum and walking distance to the whole city.
I booked a two night stay here and wanted to surprise my partner with a nice room, so I booked the Business Apartment, and when we showed up, we were told that these rooms were occupied and that they could only give us a normal room and said loudly in front of my partner that I got a VERY CHEAP rate and that it was the normal rate for a usual room. (I got a 50% booking on expedia) They offered me a 50% discount on my total room, but we were downgraded, which was a shame, considering I booked well in advance. I would not recommend to others, they charge WAY TOO much for what they offer. Very designey room, which was cool, but spotty WiFi.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Miami

Gorgeous high end hotel in beautiful old building

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Seriously one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever stayed in. An old building with beautiful gothic architecture, impeccably clean, with wood and expensive stone design. You truly believe that you are getting your money's worth. The rooms are small by American standards but comparable to most European hotels and more than comfortable enough for singles or couples. The rooms and building are clean and beautifully kept, with gorgeous views of the city life outside. The location is right next to the old town and a 10 minute scenic walk to the high end shops on Bahnofstrasse. Wifi is strong and reliable and there's a nice restaurant downstairs, in wooden old gothic style with seats outside on the riverfront. In the summer there's a rooftop bars with beautiful views of the city and mountains in the distance. Beautiful hotel,words dont do it justice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Hotel was ok

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Overall was ok but a little bit pricey for what was provided. Staffs are helpful and room is clean. Just good for a night layover. Near main train station
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Good accommodation but a little noisy

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Comfort, decoration, staff
Cons: The description
Location: 5 minute from the city on foot, good access to everything and very easy to pop back during the day so we did not have to carry so much around with us.
We wanted to spoil ourselves a little with this hotel choice and the room was unusual but quirky and comfortable, breakfast was very enjoyable and the terrace was sunny and relaxing. Our only complaint would be the noise from the underground, trams and terrace bar above our room; this was an expensive stay for us with our children and a good night's sleep should have been included! I would recommend it again but the most expensive rooms are possibly the noisiest, which is a shame.