Ratings based on 572 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Very convenient location and great breakfast

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Everything, really.
Location: If you want something to do you can drive or take the train from the airport into Zurich city. Leave plenty of time to wander.
Location is perfect when you are flying out of Zurich airport. The breakfast is one of the best, they have lots of great bread and croissants and someone to cook omelets or eggs to order - which is something you don't often see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Affordable, comfortable and convenient.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Convenient to Zurich airport and downtown. Hotel restaurants. Clean comfortable rooms. Free wifi adequate for doing email etc. Luggage storage room.
Cons: I would have liked a smaller and cheaper option for breakfast other than ordering single items a la carte. For example a simple Continental breakfast.
Location: Shopping center and train station at the airport. Catch trains to Zurich HB to quickly get downtown. Walking around old town Zurich is interesting.
Overall this hotel had everything I need and expect for a short two day stop over. I wanted to be close to Zurich airport as I had an early morning departure. This hotel offers a regular free bus service to and from the airport. I arrived to Zurich HB train station late at night with a lot of luggage and so opted to take a taxi. That was a mistake as the taxi driver over charged me and I did not feel like arguing. The alternative would have been to take a train to the airport followed by the free shuttle. On arrival I was able to get a good quality meal in the bar / restaurant. Check in was a bit odd. I got a trainee receptionist who somehow managed to link my Expedia booking to some completely random and unrelated person. I was handed a registration form with this other persons information and had to cross out the pre-filled information and put my own. I was a little concerned that maybe someone had somehow accessed my Expedia account, but hopefully this was just a clerical error. The rest of my two day stay was pleasant and comfortable. I ate breakfast at the hotel. The choice was an all you can eat buffet or ordering single items a la carte. The buffet was too much food and therefore too expensive. But ordering a la carte was more involved, and would have been no cheaper. I would have been happier with a Continental breakfast. The other option is to go elsewhere for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Boulder, Colorado

Airport hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: location and service
Cons: nothing
Location: airport
Excellent hotel and I like the fact that they send their van 3 times/hourly to the airport, so one does not have to wait for ever in the cold...Worth every cent of it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Lena Kukla, Hotel Management
Dear M Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate your feedback. We are happy to read that you have appreciated our location and the service of our staff during your stay. It would be very nice to welcome you again during your next stay in Zurich. Kind regards, L.Kukla, Sales Coordinator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access from & to the airport, lovely facility

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Easy check in, lovely facility, easy to access from the airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Nice room and very comfortable bed.
The only problem we had was trying to find the shuttle to the hotel. It was not clearly marked and we were not told where to meet it. The staff was very friendly and helpful and provided us a room for the two nights that were going to be there before our tour started.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, Verenigde Staten van Amerika

Very beautiful hotel very near to the airport.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Staff at check in was very friendly and helpful.
Location: Very convenient to the Zurich airport.
We had a short overnight stay before flying out the next morning. We would have loved to have been able to stay longer. The hotel was very nice, comfortable and priced well. Hopefully we will get another chance to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Lena Kukla , Hotel Management
Dear William Brad Thank you very much for your stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Zurich Airport and your comment on Expedia. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are happy to read about your nice feedback .Such comments are very motivating and we have gladly shared your nice input with our team. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon with us. Best regards, L.Kukla, Sales Coordinator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, ok location, good coffee!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Staff friendliness and efficiency. good wifi. not bad parking setup given its an airport hotel.
Cons: reception did get busy at times but you'd expect that from an airport hotel. location was...ok. a few mins by shuttle from airport. Taxi to Zurich
We enjoyed our stay. the staff were really nice and super efficient. We were easily up-graded (all it took was a nice smile!) and the room was quiet. breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Lena Kukla, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your nice feedback and your stay at the Movenpick Hotel Zurich Airport. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have felt welcome, because to be a warm and attentive host is our most important matter of concern. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our welcome services. Of course it is very nice to get such a positive feedback. We will forward your comment also to our team, it will motivate them. Moreover it is nice to read that you were satisfied with our location and especially our coffee. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon with us. Best regards. L.Kukla, Sales Coordinator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Hotel close to airport, tram and train station

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: 5-minute walk from the S-bahn train station and tram station. Just 20-minute ride from Zurich Hbf. However the deal is much more better than hotels in central Zurich. There are free shuttle buses to and from Zurich Airport every 15 minutes. Good for travellers having early departure flight at Zurich Airport. The room is spacious and equipped with all you need. The environment is quiet as well.
Cons: The internet speed can be improved. Anything else are good.
Location: Nothing nearby. 5 minutes from the Zurich Airport with free shuttle buss or trams and you may find supermarkets there open til 11pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by LenaKukla, Hotel Management
Dear Hugo Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate your feedback. We are happy to read that you have appreciated our rooms, location and our free shuttle service. Please let me refer to your comment about the free wifi; In our superior and executive rooms the internet is included.We also have a business corner with free internet access which is available 24 hours for all guests.Please apologize that we did not meet your expectations in this case. We are looking forward to your next visit when you are in Zurich. Best regards L.Kukla Sales Coordinator
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Our stay in Zurich

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Little to nothing is near by. A small village with a co-op to get a quick bite to eat.
Due to some delayed travel plans, we cancelled our in town hotel res. so to be at the hotel our tour started at. The front desk staff was nice enough. The hotel has two restaurants, both are over priced even by Switzerland standards. There is a village near the hotel but there are only three restaurant and none of them were open on a Saturday at 3pm. We would have been better off going to the grocery store in the village. The rating on this Hotel is a 4 stars. I stay in many hotels and this is not a 4 more like 2.5 - 3. The hallways were poorly lit, the doors do not shut and lack unless you pull the door to, the accent color in the room was green, the shower level did not move smoothly leaving you with either cold water or blistering hot water. We had a room with two beds, there was one massive pillow per bed, making it very difficult and uncomfortable to sleep. Having said all this, I would only stay here again if convienence dictated it as it did in our case this time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Lena Kukla, Hotel Management
Dear Natosha First of all we thank you very much for your comment and your stay at the Movenpick Hotel Zurich Airport. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with our welcome service. Moreover, we feel very sorry that you may have not been able to fully enjoy your stay with us; we do apologize that you were not comfortable with our prices but our prices are very competitive to our local competitors, with a very good value for money. But I can fully understand your opinion, especially with the strong Swiss franc it is expensive for guest from foreign countries.Referring your comment about the room and the interior; various renovations have been done during the past years. We regret that we did not meet your personal expectations. Should during your next stay an issue like with the shower level arise, please do not hesitate to contact the reception and they will assist you immediately with their support. We take your input very serious and have forwarded your comment already to the Housekeeping Team. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Comments such as yours are the best tool for us to not only maintain, but to improve our quality and our service. Please be assure that we are taken your input very serious and have forwarded your comment already to the Housekeeping Team. We trust that next time we will be able to satisfy all your requirements and expectations. We would be more than happy to welcome you back. Best regards, L.Kukla, Sales Coordinator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to airport

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Cons: Breakfast buffet price is extremely high.
Been staying in this hotel for years. Especially like the restaurant and its excellent food.