Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel in Zurich

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Was visiting the hotel for a day of sightseeing before going to a business trip. Hotel was a bit far from downtown and up a hill but there's a tram stop just outside. Had a fine stay overall, breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Yvonne Holm, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madame Thank you for having taken the time to review the Sorell Hotel Rex and for sharing your experience. We would really like to make your next stay as perfect as possible and show that the hospitality at the Sorell Hotels is among the finest. Please let us know of any personal requirements and/or preferences you may have. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Sorell Hotels. Best regards, Yvonne Holm & Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice hotel, easy location, good price

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The walk to the bus depot and train area each day was 10-15 minutes (faster going as it'a all down hill). The staff was quite nice and the breakfast was excellent each morning. The only odd thing and is such a weird place to cut corners, but they never restocked the bathroom supplies (cups, moisturizer, etc) during our 4 night stay. We asked they front desk and still nothing. This isn't a major concern, but seems like a really weird place to save a few pennies.
5 out of 5
by luz rebeca

An oasis within an oasis

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
Easy access bur need to take local transportation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

One night stop - very nice

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel was very comfortable, staff was very knowledgeable, close to train station, delicious breakfast.
5 out of 5
by luz rebeca

A real oasis

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
A place with all the comforts of home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire,England

Hotel with breakfast

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: The smaller feel about the hotel lived up to expectations - more like local properties and less of a brand or chain ( even though Sorell is)
Cons: Would have liked a better welcome on our late arrival - given sparse information. Reception staff indifferent attitude needs addressing.
Location: Great position even if it is uphill - 15 minute steady paced walk to tours pick up point. Didn't use trams there are stops nearby.
We have had a 4 night stay and overall have had a pleasing stay. Just a few niggles which we didn't expect. Reception staff were mostly efficient but not necessarily welcoming. Our room( small double) was compact which was okay, perfectly fine for our needs. We found some items ( tea, coffee etc) were not replenished each day which mean't we had to request for said after our days out - irritating to say the least. Breakfast was generally good - plenty of choice if a somewhat limited hot selection. So overall would say good value for money in such a expensive area to stay, but would leave a better impression if these points hadn't occurred.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NB, Canada

Great Hotel Minutes from Train Station

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast, room size
Cons: Air Conditioning
Location: Restaurants close by
Only stayed here for one night on the way from Rome to Paris. Was very pleased with the hotel. It is a bit too far to walk from the train station. Arrived at the hotel via taxi and check in was easy and very friendly. Had two rooms on the 4th floor. Both were very clean and functional with nice bathrooms. We arrived a bit late but asked the front desk about where to get something to eat and she gave us options within walking distance and all were good. We found an excellent bakery about a 10 minute walk away. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was good. A very typical selection of meats, cheese, cereal and eggs. Just enough to get us going in the morning. The only one issue I had with the hotel is that it had portable air conditioning units in each room but they were not on before we arrived and the rooms were very hot. They took a long time to bring the room to a comfortable temperature. This is minor but since we arrived so late the rooms never really got cool before late night. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would absolutely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is okay but a hike from the centre

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Hotel is up on a hill about 15 minute walk up from Train station (10 minutes down). Bed mattress was nice but seems to be older (falling off on one side). Garbage in toilet was not clean when i checked No printer and desk would not print my boarding pass. Breakfast was good. Great coffee!
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Good value in Zurich.

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Good location- about a 10 minute walk to central train station and right off the #7 and 15 trams if you don't care to walk. Very good breakfast. Rooms a bit small by US standards. Rate very competitive for Zurich in the summer.
4 out of 5
by carl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels