Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel for the price.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Hotel worked out ok. My room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Good location but not quiet

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Plus: great staff service/experience; near town Minus: not quiet even if they place you behind cos it's next to the tram lines. But great for going to Zurich airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small and very hot, uncomfortable room :(

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The room was sweltering hot. No air conditioning. We couldn't leave the window open during the night because it was on ground level right next to a parking area. The family room that we booked was basically two double mattresses in a tiny room. Not a happy stay. We would not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near centre of Zurich

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Located in Zurich, but not in a noisy part of town. The hotel is on a tram line and only four tram stops from the main train station.
Cons: I was a bit disappointed to find myself waiting (in some cases even hoping) that certain things on the Breakfast-buffet might get replenished.
Location: Zurich Zoo and the Fifa Museum are nearby on Tram, as is the Zurich waterfront and ferry quai (for boat trips on lake Zurich).
We had booked a room to sleep a family of 4 (double bed for adults and sofabed for the two infants). It turns out that the day before we arrived had been the Stadtfest (festival) in Zurich. Well the party-goers who had used the room the night before managed to break the sofabed. On check-in the receptionist had to explain their predicament and adivse that we would need to be split in to two rooms for the same price. Obviously we couldn't help the uneasy feeling that our choice of hotel had been misguided. In fact everything else about this booking turned out to the prove quite the opposite. The rooms are clean, well maintained and well appointed. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast buffet - typically continental - offered something to suite most people. Overall the experience was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Smart, well located hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2016
I arrived on a hot day, and the friendly receptionist offered me an iced tea and cool face towel. The room was clean and well appointed with tea and coffee making facilities. Excellent breakfast with a range of hot and cold foods. I had a very comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great little hotel close to the city center

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: location, cleanliness, staff, wifi
Cons: not much really, it really was great. The room was a bit small, but it really wasn't an issue for us.
Location: Quiet street not far from the city center. Not much is going on around the hotel, but it takes only 15 minutes to walk to all the activities.
Excellent location, walkable distance to city enter, has own parking, very clean rooms, quiet, very friendly and helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good value

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Staff, location
This hotel was perfect for a short stay in Zurich, and a great value for the money. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. The location was in short walking distance from the train station and old city center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Great Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: The location and the value for the price.
Location: Old town, the river, museums.
This hotel is on a main street that is a 15 minute walk from the central station and the main excursion point and on 2 tram routes so you can get anywhere you want including the Airport without having to use the train station. We had the 3 day Zurich pass .You cannot beat it...unlimited tram, train rides, lots of museums and river/lake cruises. The hotel itself is very nice with large well maintained rooms, an excellent staff that is most helpful in any matter. The WiFi was excellent and the breakfast had everything imaginable and most of it locally prepared and very environmentally political correct. It also has an evening restaurant but we did not use ats we found some very good inexpensive restaurants near by that we liked very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa, CA

Truly exceptional staff and a nice room.

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: The entire staff was A-1 and made my week-long stay pleasant. My room was also nice, specifically the bathroom.
Cons: Really had nothing to criticize regarding my stay here- it was great!
Location: Was a ten-minute walk to the downtown area or main train station, and there's a tram a block from the hotel. There's also a bakery across the street.
The staff at the Sorrell Hotel Rex was outstanding. Every employee I encountered at the front desk and in the breakfast room were courteous, professional and kind. I travel fairly frequently, and I wish every hotel had this kind of wonderful staff. Breakfast was included, and was good every day. Loved the complimentary rubber duckie as well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value, decent hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Hotel was decent with clean rooms. Internet was free and worked well. Breakfast was free and offered a nice buffet. Not a luxury hotel but a good value. Small shower.