Ratings based on 855 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017
Dear Guest Thank you very much for this very nice and positive review. We are very proud to hear, that you have enjoyed our service and your stay. We would be very pleased to welcome you soon at our Sorell Hotel Seidenhof again. Sincerely Yours Matthias Ramer Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean, the free Wi-Fi was fast and reliable, you have an internet enabled tablet in your room, and there are even earplugs which are great for jetlagged sleepers. This was my first trip to Zurich and I am very happy I chose to stay here. The room was larger than a lot of European hotels at which I have stayed and the large desk makes it ideal for business travel. At this hotel you are about a 15 minute walk from the lake along the remarkable Bahnhofstrasse. As a solo woman traveler, I felt very safe in this area whether I was leaving the hotel at 5:30 am to catch a train to Zermatt or returning at night from the nearby James Joyce pub after 10.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here twice. This hotel location is fantastic at one block off the fanciest shopping street in Zurich and walking distance from the main train station. Tips: The taxi charged me 15 francs from the main train station which you can see from the hotel’s cross street. If you can walk 10 minutes with your bags save yourself the money. For my first stay, I arrived very early after an international flight and my hotel room was already ready. The second stay the room was not ready in the early morning but was ready as promised at 2 pm. They held my luggage when I arrived at 9 and it was waiting for me already in my room when I returned. The free breakfast with your stay is substantial, not like a continental style breakfast. Smoked salmon and Swiss cheeses, muesli and yogurt, good coffee, a selection of breads,scrambled eggs and sausages. There is also an option to just have the breakfast brought to your room for no extra charge. Restaurant fare in Zurich is a fortune (think 32 francs for a spaghetti dinner at an outdoor café) so this large breakfast is a great bonus. With your stay you also received a 10 franc voucher for a meal at the hotel Asian restaurant. There is also a constantly available coffee cart downstairs in the lobby with apples and fresh water, which was great for a grab and go snack. The hotel is across the street from Hiltl, an excellent restaurant with many vegetarian and ethnic food options for eat-in or take away.
4 out of 5
by Thiti

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jon Kristinn

Value for money

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Good room. Nice bed. Products in bathroom were great. Staff friendly. Highly priced minibar though.
5 out of 5
by Gilbert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morlautern, DE

Overpriced and underwhelming

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Orbitz
First, let me say that this hotel has a lot of nice features, but failed to measure up in enough ways we won't be visiting again. Parking is neither discounted or close by. At a minimum you'll pay 43 CF a day for a public parking garage 5-10 minutes walk away. I would have been less upset if the advertising for the hotel had specified the situation, instead of mentioning discounted parking. The desk staff didn't seem to realize what the advertising on orbitz specified. The staff were generally friendly and took our bags up to the room for us. A personalized note signed by the manager and cleaning staff, free fruit basket, and water were also nice touches. However we had to wait for them to switch out a regular bed for a baby crib (asked for in the reservation), call the front desk for toilet paper because it was empty, and the A/C unit advertised was functionally useless. The sink is also essentially in your lap when using the facilities for lack of space in the bathroom. The beds were comfortable but sweltering and we couldn't leave the windows open for long for the cigarette smoke wafting up from the courtyard and noise keeping us awake. Breakfast the next morning was below average. Coffee was undrinkable and the eggs were powdered. My young daughter who usually loves them couldn't understand why these were nasty. The fruit salad tasted old and so I ate bread and Nutella to cut my losses. This hotel has potential to be great, but I will not be visiting again.
4 out of 5
by Ezequiel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Overall good and comfortable. The air conditioner was not working properly The bath tub was clogging