Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Disappointed considering the price

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: View of lake Zurich
Cons: Where do I begin?
Location: As it's up in the hills, you have to take a tram into Zurich.
We expected more from this hotel. It was way overpriced for what you get. Our least favorite hotel in Switzerland. The best part was the beautiful orange cat that they take good care of on the property. Staff seemed annoyed with our questions, room was very hot and lacking ambience. Lots of dust on the floor under the bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Beautiful old building with amazing staff and view

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Like many hotels in the old word, great service and great food,beautiful property but ; rooms are small , no AC, limited to none luxury. Yes great views and staff was amazing, property grounds not a 4 star much less a 5 star, no pool, thus not a family with kids hotel. Rooms had a small tv just bigger than my iPad Pro (sometimes controlled by room next door ) would I go back ? maybe with no kids in the winter, maybe , just maybe...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Marc Brunner, Deputy General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Pierce Thank you very much for having taken time to comment about your stay at Sorell Hotel Zürichberg. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our property, our staff and our food. It makes us happy to read trough your compliment for this. Regarding the AC, since our main hotel building is monument protected, we cannot build air-condition in the rooms. However, we provide fans. For the entire team it is very important that you feel comfortable in our hotel and we are very sorry that your room had not been aired before your arrival. This is a very important feedback and for sure, we will have an eye on this in the future. Once again thank you for your rating. We would be pleased to welcome you again during your next visit in Zürich. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with a fabulous bar

Posted May 11, 2017
My son & I stayed at the Sorell for two nights and throughly enjoyed our stay. Staff was helpful, including restaurant & bar staff. The view from our rooms was spectacular. We enjoyed staying at this hotel located in a beautiful neighborhood..went for a run around the upscale neighborhood. The hotel was easy to get to from the train station. We took tram everywhere.
5 out of 5
by peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best choice

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent all around.
4 out of 5
by Matthias

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodstock, CT

Excellent hotel on hill above city

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Old City, main art museum is excellent, churches, take a 3 hr boat trip on the lake, enjoy the ambiance.
I'm glad I had a good GPS in my car to find this excellent mansion-hotel perched high on a hill above the city. But once there, I was not disappointed. The view is wonderful (open fields give you an unobstructed view) - the city below (the sounds of church bells waft up as you sit on the terrace with a beer or glass of wine in the early evening), the whole lake stretched out before you with the snowcapped Alps in the far distance. The staff was very helpful and pleasant, room excellent, clean and quiet, breakfast was likewise excellent, and the food on the terrace was also very good (if pricey). I advise making a reservation in advance at the restaurant on weekends since they often have weddings parties and the place is full - I couldn't get a decent time without one. But the terrace above is a very good substitute - and you have that wonderful view. There's a tram just a two minute walk down the hill from the hotel which takes you right to the Center stop. From there you can just walk to see the main sites. Zurich Old City is, as is true with other Swiss cities, beautiful.
4 out of 5
by Manni from Manchester

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great view, friendly staff and good food. Room was basic but very clean and sufficient, only thing was they had no iron/ ironing boards available for guest and said they would iron my clothes for me... Ended up charging me for dry cleaning. Besides that still a good hotel.
3 out of 5
by alonso from london

Average but not as good as expected.

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is below 4 Start, structure is very good, Food is average (they don't understand dietary problems such no salt and lactose free meals), housekeeping service is good but other staff are very rude. Overall is OK but I would not recommend for the price there are better options around Zurich.