Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edgar from Miami

Nice hotel in the heart of Zurich, close to lake

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Central location, close to main transportation center, close to the lake
Cons: Larger beds
Location: Perfect location for sightseing, everything is walking distance, close to beautiful lake and many excellent restaurants.
Very nice environment. Friendly and efficient staff. Some rooms are a bit small as are the beds.
3 out of 5
by Trip of a lifetime

Great location, staff need more personality

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on HotelClub
We enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was in a great location and good value for money, however the staff were not friendly at all. A staff member was in the lift with the doors open and saw us coming towards the lift and we saw her trying to get the doors closed before we got there. They do not acknowledge you when going through the front doors during the day and no staff were present when we loaded our cases into the taxi to go to the airport. We have compared their hospitality to 9 other hotels we have already stayed in during our European trip and the other hotels have made us feel welcome and acknowledge our presence but there is nothing like that at Hotel St Gotthard. We won't be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by wildrose47

cozy but nice

Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Orbitz
small but well planned, excellent lighting. Perfect location for train travel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesom

Posted Jun 29, 2013
This was a last-minute booking that turned out to be a real gem. Extremely clean and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jogsog from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Recent stay in Zurich

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Slightly too costly even for Zurich.
Location: Great location, close to everything.
Very centrally situated and handy to everything. Room very comfortable and staff most obliging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by NickNN

NickNN

Posted May 6, 2013 on Orbitz
Perfect location, on the main shopping alley! Excellent customer service! Modern amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Munroe

Marvellous

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on HotelClub
Very comfortable and convenient to all locations with very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by brookam

Great location, nice hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Orbitz
We needed a place to stay, near the train station, for our last night in Switzerland before an early morning flight home to the US, and Hotel St Gotthard was a great fit. It is central to tons of restaurants and shopping and we even found a lively Irish pub (Paddy Reily's) on St Patrick's Day with a friendly staff. The room is smallish, but for overnight, that's no big deal. The shower is wonderful but hair conditioner would have been nice - there were two of every other product. The pillows were terrible and we had to ask for different ones, but the bed was comfy. Like everyplace else we stayed in Switzerland, it was overheated so thank goodness for a big window! The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk to the Zurich HB train station and for 6.40 CHF you can catch the 12 minute train to the airport. This allowed plenty of time to get checked in, through security, and to the gate for our 6:55 am flight home. If we are in Zurich again, we would stay at Hotel St Gotthard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Travelchic

Hotel St. Gotthard

Posted Mar 11, 2013 on CheapTickets
This hotel is located in a wonderful location-- right on Banhofstrasse and within feet of the main train station. It's easy to get anywhere from here, be it a day trip or somewhere within Zurich. The staff was extremely friendly and even allowed us to check out two hours late on our last day. We stayed in a newly remodeled room which had great features and was nicely appointed. The cafe on the premises was very nice, but we did not check out any of the other facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeffrey

Great Location

Posted Feb 22, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Pillows
Location: Central to everything
Location is perfect, right on Bahnhofstrasse 1 block from the Hauptbahnhof. Extremely close to all the sights in the Altstadt, walking distance everywhere. Very handy (and only real cheap food option) Coop Supermarket one block away. Only 1 problem, the beds were hard, which was fine for me, but doesn't suit everyone. Also the pillows aren't aweful, they don't really function as pillows, very thin, but they seem to be the standard hotel pillow option for Switzerland/Austria/Southern Germeny. Overall, a wonderful stay in a wonderful hotel.