Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value in Zurich

Posted May 28, 2015
Definitely not for everyone, but for a seasoned traveller who has good access to Internet / phone this is a great value for your stay in Zurich. Area was safe, 5-10 minute tram ride to the main train station, and had a couple good places to get food nearby. Room itself was solid- on the small side, but you don't travel to Europe to stay in your hotel room all day. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Ideal value guest house

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Good value by Swiss standards.
Cons: Even though it was immaculate on arrival, we might of appreciated the cleaners to drop by. But th only a minor thing, as we were there only 3 nights.
Location: Decent bars nearby, easy to reach the very centre by foot or tram.
The room was clean, comfortable and simple. The check-in process was easy, by entering a code on a machine at the door entrance, the key dropped out and in we went. We however never once caught sight of any staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Biel

Self Service hotel with clean room and great value

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Simple, great value
Cons: Small, even empty, fridge
Location: Stauffacher is nearby (walk 10 minutes) and offers many restaurants and bars. The street of the hotel itself has some shady bars I wouldn't go in.
It was the first time that I checked into such a self-service hotel, so it was a little bit strange. You get a code via e-mail and then you get a key at the front door when entering the code. The room number is on the key (took me a while to understand). The room itself is well-sized and had a small balcony. The toilet is tiny, but has everything and the water is hot and has a great pressure. There isn't a mini bar or any kind of fridge, but towels and soap are provided. Although simple, I slept well and felt quite at home. I am sure I will book this or a similar hotel again if I have to stay in Zurich on a tight budget.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

You get what you pay for

Posted May 10, 2015
We asked for an extra rollaway bed, they said they would bring it to us, but they never did.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Locked out of hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Wifi should be easier to access. Owner should send key code right away not make you hunt him down.
There is no reception. We were suppose to receive a code to get our key unlocked but the owner never had time to give us a code. So we had to frantically run around to try and find a way to call him. Many tourists don't have phone connection without paying a ton for roaming fees. Finally a very nice local man was able to get a hold of him to get our key. A phone connection is required to get wifi access which is ridiculous. So expect to pay roaming fees and text message fees to receive a code.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellingh

Great value for Zurich!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Make sure to do your research and plan ahead. This is not a fancy hotel but the amenities are suitable for the price, and a great value for Zurich. Hotel to was very clean, great location (fun young neighbourhood), close to tram stop, lots of restaurants, and near enough to the city center (30 minute walk). Only minus really had to do with Internet access. It is free but you have to call a mber from your mobile to get a code, which means you are roaming. It worked great though once all that was settled.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Depends what you are looking for

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Cons: Hotel staff rated as 1 as there are no hotel staff.
We needed a cheap place to crash in Zurich for the night and this worked well. Close to train station, large clean room. Couldn't get internet to work. Got key easily. Note the front door isn't locked ...that's why your key doesn't work for it. Was a quiet neighbourhood. Nice that there is laundry available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good apartment, nice neighbourhod

Posted Jun 14, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at this apartment. It was spacious and comfortable with a nice modern bathroom. Great location. Walking distance to the main sights of Zurich. Issues: the system by which you extract your key from a box on the front door does not work well - our expedia booking number did not work as our code. There is no onsite reception staff. We had to use the phone of a passerby to call the manager who told us our code was something completely different! this was frustrating. I had attempted to find the email contact details for the apartments so I could check our code in advance, but I couldn't find the details. The wifi in the hotel would not work for us and there was no reception to enquire to. Overall I still recommend these apartments but they would be better suited to travelers with connected mobile phones in case issues arise. Also the apartment owners should really have a manual with information, city maps etc in the absence of a front reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anthony from canada

Clean and simple

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Bang for the buck you can't go wrong. Clean simple. Short walk to tram line to get to central train station. Wifi code on door of the room however wasn't able to locate server in settings so useless. Other guests had same issue... And since there is no staff present or way to reach them you are SOL.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from j

A horrible place

Posted May 28, 2014
Guest West end charged me for two rooms but only have me one. Wifi did not work. Staff is rude and unresponsive