Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Peru

Nice sea view far from the noise

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Location, nice staff and service, nice and clean rooms with air condition, small tv, free wifi and frige
Cons: Needs a pool and the TV size can be increased
Location: Amalfi is a great place to explore all the cost and visit nearby towns like Positano and Ravello or to take day excursions to Capri
This hotel is walking distance from the city center of Amalfi (bioth bus stop and pier) in a quiet area in front of the sea. The oinly thing missing was a pool given that beaches in Amalfi are small and overcrowded
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Friendly hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly service, especially from the expat Boltonian, comfortable and quiet.
Cons: Breakfast coffee could be stronger.
Location: Amalfi cathedral is interesting and quite spectacular, especially the cloister. The paper-making museum is modest but good. Ravello beautiful.
We enjoyed our stay at Aurora. It is at the quiet end of Amalfi, ten minutes walk from the centre but away from the bustle. It is right by the large breakwater which offers a pleasant and interesting walk over the harbour and looking back to the town. Hotel very welcoming and very helpful with information and travel tips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greater Manchester

Ideally situated hotel which met our requirements

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: The location first and foremost (one of the reasons we chose it). Five minutes gentle stroll to the middle of Amalfi, along the front of the Marina.
Cons: Upgrade the bar area and it seemed underused and a little forlorn - which was a shame as it was a nice area which could be so much more appealing
Location: Superbly located - boat/scooter hire very close, short walk to town centre and many more eateries. (Recommend Andrea Pansa for pastries - delicious!!)
After battling with the Italian Public Transport System (largely due to inaccurate information in all the guidebooks and online) we finally arrived in Amalfi some seven hours or so after landing at Naples. A bus to Naples Central Station, the Circumvesuviana to Sorrento, and then a two hour bus ride were the modes of transport utilised. Ideally situated along the seafront from the bus station, meaning no hills/steps to negotiate, we easily found the Hotel Aurora. The welcome, after a somewhat tiring day, was just what was needed; genuinely warm and friendly, and also in English. Andrew (I believe his name was) advised that our arrival was timed excellently as we could freshen up, get some dinner (perhaps at one of the several establishments with which the Aurora has agreements), and (if we could stay awake) a free firework display in the harbour. Our arrival coincided with the feast day of St Andrea, the patron saint of Amalfi and there was a festa in his honour that evening. The welcome pack from the hotel was very useful, containing information about the Hotel, Amalfi itself and some of the excursions which were available and could be booked through the hotel. All of the staff spoke English, to varying degrees (thankfully, as neither my wife or I are big Italian speakers) and always had a Buongiorno or Bon Sera for us. Without sounding trite, they made you feel like part of the family, so much so, we didn't want to leave. It was a very good base for excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the harbour and beach

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Excellent location for a trip to the Amalfi coast. Highlights of the hotel are the outstanding views from the breakfast terrace and the friendly and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mercer from Dallas

Harbor restaurant

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was great especially Andrew make sure your room number is not 36 the room is next to the maids supply room. Also the bed was real hard but room was clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Right on the water

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Location: Only a short romantic stroll from the heart of Amalfi.
Great stay; great staff; would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Love this place!

Posted Sep 25, 2013
This is our 2nd stay at Hotel Aurora in 7 yrs. We love this hotel. Great location to the water and town the staff is wonderful, anf the rooms are very comfortable. Get a room with a terrace! Breakfast was typical for European breakfasts, but the setting was wonderful. We will be back for a 3rd stay someday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Andy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very satisfied
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Totally overratedRooms are very dark and too pricy

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is very pricy and overrated. Location is not that good as you have a walk to the town. And it is really pricy for just old dark rooms. The courtyard room is really dark and scary. It has a window that opens to a wall. I would not choose this hotel to stay in amalfi. Amalfi is a small town, so you can better stay in the town itself.