Ratings based on 1,257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London UK

Amster joy

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was outstanding. the staff always helpful,
Location: centrla to train station, boat trips, main touristy matters, eating choices and bus and tram network.
a week in a lovely environment, peacful yet central, a very well located site and a marvellous breakfast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

3 star hotel at best.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: location
In order to check in prior to 3 at earliest and maybe much later we were offered an upgrade from superior rooms to what ever is above that. Location is good very close to train station but room (upgraded) was mediocre at best
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Poor Maintenance

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Location is perfect to the city Center but the maintenance is very poor for the Victoria Wing. I booked for 2 nights but I vacated there in one night and booked in Radisson Blu in schipol Where I stayed couple of time in my previous Visit for lesser than whatever I paid for the stay in the Park Plaza Victoria
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edm Canada

Good location but over priced

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: People and staff were great. They helped in everyway they could. Language was not a problem
Cons: They need to renovate and clean the rooms and hallways
Location: lots of good food. Night life was impressive. Food and pubs for all in an easy walking distance
I spend over 200 nights in hotels a year and this hotel was in a great location. Less than 5 minutes walk to central train station. So easy to get to commuter trains. Also it is a short 10-15 min train to the airport from central station and only 5 euro's . Of course it is in the heart of the night life if your looking for that. But the hotel was pricey. The lobby and downstairs was nice but the rooms were small and dirty. Halls smelled, were dark, and carpets were stained. Last night stay there was sewer smell in hall outside the room. Room was OK but outside not great. I used it for convenience and put up with the smell. Bed was OK. And I stayed only one night each time as I was on route to other locations in the Netherlands and just need something for the one night. If I had more time I might look for something else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Ideal position for touring

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: centrally located
very comfortable with excellent staff and service, a well furnished sitting area in the bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

Central hotel close to everything.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The location, Abdul, the staff and the facilities offered.
Location: All major attractions easy to reach either by foot, tram or bike. Just walking down the canal paths & lanes was lovely in itself.
We stayed for 3 nights/2 days. Three stops on the train from the airport, across the square and you are at the hotel. Easy. Buses, trams, boats and bicycles all right outside the door. Our room was an executive one in the old building and was nicely furnished, spacious enough and immaculate. All of the staff that we met were charming, polite and helpful. Abdul from the concierge team was outstanding - thoughtful, perceptive and helpful. Igor was also a useful font of information. We had supper in the restaurant on our first night. It was fairly quiet, but the staff were lovely and the food good. Other meals we ate out and about. We also used the small pool and sauna one evening, which was a bit of relaxing treat after walking miles. My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Park Plaza Victoria, and this was an excellent base from which to explore such a lovely city. I would highly recommend pre booking tickets for Anne Frank's house as we did, as by 9.30 am the queues go several times around the block. And it's like that until gone 7.30 pm in the evening as we saw when we went out to supper. Amsterdam is easy to navigate whether on foot, bike or by tram, and the hotel is perfectly placed. We used all modes of transport and had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent location.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff attitiued
Location: Right across the Train Station, surrounded by lots of restaurants, city landmarks and shopping centers. Across the river.
Excellent location, near the train station and lots of Amsterdam landmarks. Nice and clean room. Staff in general can be a bit more helpful, it seems that questions asked are seeing as a burden and not a chance to help a customer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC, USA

Close access to the train station, not much else

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location to train station
Cons: Most of the interior needed updating.
Location: Central to the train station and not far from tourist destinations.
This hotel is good for someone who mainly wants to be right across from the train station and light rail stop. For the price and star rating of the hotel however, I was disappointed in the quality of the room. The necessities were there but the carpet was worn, the room was dark and everything looked dated. Other reviewers remarked that they would stay in the modern wing and perhaps that would have been a better experience. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you just are looking for ease of access into and out of the city by train.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel close to all amenities in Amsterdam

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The location, friendly staff
Cons: Igniting in rooms
Location: Dam square, canal trips, hop on/off tourist bus, train station, shops and other attractions close by
Booked a superior room, which was OK, but a little on the small size for the price and the window overlooked another part of the hotel, making the room very dark. Free internet worked well for e-mails and downloading maps etc. did not book breabkfast as there were numerous places to eat close to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Annette, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, We appreciate you taking the time to review regarding your recent stay with us. It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, or to one of our affiliated hotels, in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area! Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Very helpful staff

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Great location and excellent staff.
Cons: Signs clearly naming the hotel. It's confused with the Victoria Plaza. The receptionist told me it's a common problem.
Location: Right in the middle of caf├ęs, restaurants and tourist attractions. Very close to the shopping district, just a minute or 2 walk away.
The hotel couldn't be any closer to the station and is an ideal location to explore the city and surrounding area. The staff are very polite and helpful, at no point do you feel like just another number, they actually talk to you like a person. Can't comment on the food and restaurant as I didn't try these facilities.