Ratings based on 470 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Useful place to stay close to airport

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms clen and comfortable.
Comfortable and suitable for convenient stay in Anchorage for a short time .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Old & noisy

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Location: Close to the airport in an old section of town
We were given a room in an annex building. I believe it was an old hotel they recently acquired. Room was clean but small and very noisy. Outside traffic and noise in room above made it difficult to sleep. Receptionist and other workers were friendly & courteous. This is just an old hotel on a busy street and not worth $230 per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Osceola, WI

Nice Accommodations

Posted Jul 3, 2014
This older hotel is well maintained, and very comfortable. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. We especially liked the fact that they had freezer space to store our Halibut. If we get back to Alaska, we will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doe from Illinois

Close to Airport

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The cold storage on site for the fish.
Cons: Fruit for breakfast would be nicw, but I know it is expensive there.
Location: Within a block of the floatplane lake, close to internaional airport. Easy city to get around in with lots to do, but didn't have time to do it all.
We stayed at the Puffin Inn after a 3 day fishing trip. While seeing mixed reviews on trip advisor, I was a little concerned about staying there. It turned out to be a nice place to stay that was close to the airport since we were flying out early AM the next day. The continental breakfast was the normal fare. The great thing was that they had cold storage onsite where we could keep the fish frozen until heading to the airport. We were able to get it out by 5:00 am to leave for the airport by 5:30. I would recommend this hotel. It's not the Ritz, but it doesn't cost like the Ritz either!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

room experience

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: the continental breakfast was pretty good and desk employees were helpful.
Cons: that's a tough question but the detached building was overpriced.
Location: location was good and close to the airport and places to eat near by.
window had no screen for insects and the building it was in was a ways from the main building so had to walk a ways outside for ice. The price was a little better then other hotels but it wasn't worth the door ding I got in the car from some less then careful person.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Overall a pretty good experience. They have a really nice shuttle system that can take you to the airport and back!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, pleasant, on bus line.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The location was okay.
Cons: The curtains do not block the light from outside the window and the sound from the street.
Location: It is on the bus line. However, busses only ran once an hour after 8 PM. It was a 45 minute walk from REI and Northern Lights mall.
Staff got me to the airport on time. There was breakfast at 3:45 AM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Naomi from Lititz, PA

Comfort, cleanliness and economy

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: As stated above.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Three fast-food restaurants and others within easy walking distance. Bus stop for public transportation across the street.
This hotel was great for our needs. We found it quiet, comfortable and very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. There was a very nice breakfast. We were in the main building. For those who want comfort and cleanliness and economy, but not luxury, this is your hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael

Surprisingly nice for the price

Posted May 26, 2014
As late evening arrivals we were greeted with a very comfy bed for our stay. Although our room was modestly furnished it seemed more spacious than advertised (250sf). Equipped with a microwave and refrigerator the 2nd sink outside the bathroom was an added convenience. Mirrored closet door was off its track and difficult to maneuver. Hotel lobby was clean and inviting. Business services area was convenient with 2 workstations available. Hotel Transportation to and from airport was courteous and positive. Overall a "B" rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Denver, CO

Good hotel for the price

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Hotel front desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: While the mattress was comfortable for me, the pillows were flat and a bit lumpy. Upgrading them would be a good move.
Location: Close to the airport. Kincaid and Earthquake Parks with access to trails for walking/running/biking are nearby.
Spent five nights here while visiting family in Anchorage. Bought a deluxe room in the main building to be sure my 82 year old mom and I didn't end up negotiating stairs with luggage. The room was comfortable with a small fridge and microwave but nothing fancy. Bathroom was a bit small but clean. I was a little disappointed to see toiletries did not include conditioner, just shampoo, but a small complaint. I did not try the complimentary breakfast, partly because my mom's report didn't make it sound worthwhile ( no fresh fruit) and partly because I'm picky about my coffee. I would stay again.