Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

beautiful beach

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: loved the beach
Cons: some cosmetic updates are needed and buffet could use more variety
Location: many sea excursions leave from the beach, local bus stops outside resort, taxis and car rental readily available, marina within walking distance
The resort is a little run-down and in need of some TLC but the beach is stunning and lots of great excursions leave from the beach (recommend going to sister island, Barbuda) Food is good but buffet could use more variety. Staff very friendly and always smiling. Wasn't very crowded during our stay - so service was good and lots of chairs available both at the beach and pool. Taxis available outside lobby doors and local bus available ($2US) right outside resort to take you to the capital, St. John's where there's lots of shopping. Marina is a short walk away. Be sure to try the included sailing lessons - lots of fun. Nightly entertainment varies - the local steel drum band was the best.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Hotel, Beautiful beach with clear, warm water

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The beach, Pools, The helpful, smiling staff, activities available, fresh fruit and desert range. Local activities and tours offered.
Cons: The Air-Conditioning units could use a update. The air-cooling systems do not provide adequate cold air throughout the rooms.
Location: The resort is a 10-15min walk away from the Marina and Local grocery/pharmacy. Strongly recommend the Quad bike tour and local seafood restaurants.
We booked Jolly Beach as it allowed for a family vacation as well as couple get-away!! We booked the Junior Suite which is based on the quiet end of the mile long resort/beach. It's small walk away from the entertainment areas, main eating areas, and the family,super saver and standard rooms. The Resort is what you would expect from a well established resort. It is kept maintained and clean at all times. The All-inclusive food is your basic: Pasta, veggies, chicken, pork, fish and beef served in different forms on a daily basis. The breakfast is also your standard eggs, bacon, beans, potatoes and pancakes. You can enjoy the Jerk Chicken and fries at the Beach Hut Located by the main family pool/pool bar. The Resort as 3 restaurants that are a must to try and are included in the all inclusive package, you just have to book a table a day prior. The Italian restaurant was comparably better than the Seafood and Indian. However the desert, bakery and fresh fruit range is amazing!!! There are a range of activities to do on the beach, like sailing & kayaking. Lessons and life vests are provided!! The Beach is clean, the water is warm and clear. Beautiful shades of blues alongside a white soft sandy beach. beware of the Seashells though!! The staff deal really well with request and any complaints you may have. The only issue we came across was the air-conditioning. Some rooms have individual AC units and others a air-cooling system, which do not cool the rooms enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I’m so glad you were able to enjoy both a family vacation, as well as a couple’s getaway during your stay with us! That’s one of the nice things about Jolly Beach, isn’t it? With so much space and so many different types of amenities and activities, your vacation can be whatever you want it to be :) I’m also delighted to hear that there were so many other things you enjoyed about your stay - the a la carte restaurants, the Jerk chicken at the Coconut Grill, our beach activities, the staff, and, of course, our fantastic beach. I also appreciate your comments with regards to air conditioning. I’m sorry you weren’t able to keep cool enough, and this is something we’ll keep under consideration as we continue to make improvements in our rooms. All the best! General Manager Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Alright - probably wouldn't go back

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The beach was nice, the location was pretty good and the staff was friendly.
Cons: Condition of the room, availability of food and beverages.
Location: There are many amazing beaches and restaurants. With respect to restaurants we went to Jacqui O's, OJ's and Carmichael's just to name a few...
The overall experience was Ok. The resort was fairly clean and the room was Ok. There was the daily challenge with the maid service. They would either forget to leave toilet paper, towels, kleenex, coffee etc.. and when I would call down to get them to bring the missed items up it would normally take about an hour. The availability of food and beverages was quite limited and because they are a three star hotel there is no room service - that's what I was told. Again overall it was alright. The location wasn't bad, the beach was nice and the staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It’s disappointing to hear that your overall experience was just “okay.” It sounds like you did really enjoy yourself on our beautiful beach, though, and that you also found the staff friendly. On that note, I do apologize for your issues with housekeeping. Clearly the lack of certain items in your room did not meet our usual high standards. We usually hear nothing but praise for our cleaning staff, but it’s always helpful to hear feedback like this so we know how we can improve. We want to make sure all guests have the best time possible while staying with us. Thanks for sharing your experience at Jolly Beach. We wish you all the best in your future travels. General Manager Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

It's all about expectations

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Beach - long, white sand, ocean bottom is even, no drops, no corals, the water is clear and calm. We were there at the end of July.
Cons: More choices of fresh fruits and veggies, service in the buffet had to be improved. The premises were clean only around the main area.
please do not expect any luxury from this resort. Our stay was good because all we wanted is a good beach. It is gorgeous. Other than that, I don't see any other reason to go here. The room is very basic, old furniture, but clean. We chose to book superior room and stayed at St.John block. It is very first block from the ocean and it added pleasant moments to the experience. It had a small fridge, coffeemaker, very small and old TV. Room size was OK. The AC wall unit was very noisy but efficient. You have to pay for the safe key. Only one electric outlet, take the strip. Food choice is VERY limited in the buffet. If you ever stayed in Mexico or Dominican Rep. all inclusives, you cannot even compare to their selection. You will not be hungry, but if you have a dietary needs or gluten-free, forget about it. Fruits were served at breakfast only. At dinner, we only saw "fruit cocktail" in a big bowl. No yogurt or cream cheese for breakfast. Most of the salads are canned food, or potato/pasta type. There was fish, mostly fried in bread crumbs, conch sometimes, but no other seafood. Food in restaurants was a little better. The alcohol is domestic only (premium is an additional charge) and a very low quality. The house vine was good, though. Something from Chile. We did not like the service, it was unattentive, the waitresses were indifferent at best. Almost no shade around the pools. Go only if you plan to swim and enjoy the ocean. A lot of water activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
The beach really is gorgeous, isn’t it, so it comes as no surprise that you enjoyed the calm turquoise water and various water activities that Jolly Beach is so well known for. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the proximity to our beach from your room, too, which added pleasing moments to your experience. It’s a shame that you found our selection limited in the buffet. During low-season there are fewer guests at the resort, so we do limit some of our options, but we’re more than happy to accept special requests, which can be arranged during booking or on-site with our staff. As you pointed out and as is also clearly stated on our website, only house brand beverages and cocktails are included in the all-inclusive rates, and I’m glad you enjoyed the house wine. Thanks for your comment about the shade near the pool. We’re currently exploring ways to improve this aspect of our guests’ experience. While you’ve mentioned a few things that we may be able to improve on, it sounds like what you wanted most of all was a really good beach, so I’m happy that we didn’t disappoint on this specific requirement :) Take care, General Manager Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plainfield, IL

Nice hotel on a great beach

Posted Jun 19, 2014
My family of four (2 adults & 2 teenage boys) recently stayed at the Jolly Beach Resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach was beautiful, large and clean. The large pool was also very nice. We didn't use the quiet pool, but it also looked nice. The grounds are pretty. The rooms are average, but are clean and comfortable and the AC worked well. The restaurants were pretty good but the buffet restaurant at dinner was a little disappointing but the breakfast there was good. The poolside grill was very convenient for lunch and snacks and the jerk chicken was very good. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We’re delighted to hear that your family had such a great visit at Jolly Beach! Thank you for taking the time to tell us some of the things you loved about your stay - our beautiful beach, the resort grounds, the staff, the jerk chicken, etc. These are the things that many of our guests comment favourably on…but we never get tired of hearing about them :) We also appreciate your feedback regarding the buffet. While I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with the options at dinner, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed the many offerings at breakfast and that you were also able to take advantage of the convenience of the poolside grill for lunch and snacks. Hopefully you also had a chance to try out one or more of our a la carte restaurants while you were here, too. We hope to see you and your family return for a second visit. General Manager Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
5 out of 5
for Personal Event
by MJ from New York

all you need without all the fluff

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
it was perfect and the location was great. the staff was friendly and helpful. a good balance of being able to just relax on the beach and do nothing as well as walk around and eat at a nice restaurant. also close to other areas for day trips.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by Max from M.

Great location, mediocre hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Outstanding location but if you decide to stay at Jolly Beach set your expectation low. The personnel is not friendly with a few exceptions. However, locals are not too nice in general. The food at Jolly Beach is mediocre but rooms are clean and convenient for the beach. This resort is close to some other great beaches like Darkwood Beach.
3 out of 5
by M & K from Northern NY

Amazing beach

Posted Apr 18, 2014
The beach is absolutely amazing! The food is pretty good, but not a lot of variety. The resort is kind of run down. Pools are clean and nice areas. Weather was fantastic. Staff's attitudes were very annoying, a real disappointment. Truly loved the many beaches we visited. Will not return.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by Marty from St. Pete Beach, FL

Wonderful Jolly Beach!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Charm, character, romantic (in the broad and the narrow sense) setting--but mostly THE STAFF!
Cons: Again, better WIFI connection would improve things for some.
Location: The beach is second to none (I live in a U.S. beach resort community, and this beach is equal to ours). Loved boat tour around island and snorkeling.
The best thing about our stay at the Jolly Beach Resort was the staff. They did everything we hoped and even more to make our stay easy, relaxed, and comfortable. Every bit of food and drink we had was perfect. We celebrated a wedding there, and from the hair and makeup for the bride, to the accommodations, to the dinner afterwards, to the ceremony itself--all we picture perfect! The one minor thing I would recommend (not for me, but for some) is better WIFI access. The grounds were gorgeous and beautifully kept, and I loved my little private, cozy balcony! Also, the concierge did a wonderful job of familiarizing us with the amenities and local possibiilities. I hope to go back again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marty, How great to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended at Jolly Beach and felt so well-looked after by the staff! Customer service is a really important priority for us, so I love to hear feedback like this. I know our gardeners will also appreciate your comments about the resort’s grounds. Thanks for letting us know what you thought about the beach, food, and other details that created an easy, relaxed stay for you. We hope to see you back in Antigua soon! General Manager Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Kenya from Jersey City, NJ

Beautiful hotel right on the beach, nice....

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The drinks, food, the service that was provided by hotel staff.
Cons: Improved the casino and get dealers for the tables instead of providing cab service to the King Casino.
Location: Its in the middle of the city and everything is about 15mins away for some activities but overall great location with some activities included.
My 1st time in Antigua at this hotel was a Great Experience. I would recommend this hotel to all (i.e. couples, families with kids, single people etc...) and include the all inclusive package food & beverage. Its a great place to relax & enjoy your time away from everyday routine life style. The Spa services is well worth the experience, reasonable prices for great massage.