Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Not what the pictures show

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: I thought the rooms and bathrooms were large.
Cons: The property needs an improved larger pool or pools, better beds, a small store, and management which is aware of the short comings.
Location: The hotel is centrally located and is convenient for many outdoor activities just like many of the hotels in that area.
I stayed at the Mountain Paradise with my family for four days. The reception area is dark with poor lighting in the evening and night. There is no small store for purchases of little items or "what have you" on the property. The internet wifi service available in public places is slow and unreliable. The pool area is very small and misleading in appearance from the pictures. They have small jacuzzi's in the patio outside of the rooms which does not appear to be used. I can not understand why they did not put the money towards having a nice pool on the resort property and not have jacuzzi's which don't appear to be used. The rooms and bathrooms are very large which is nice. However, the beds have thin mattresses on slats without box springs, so a person should really like an extremely firm bed if they stay on the property. The restaurant has complementary breakfast in the morning which is OK, but a little starchy if you know what I mean. They serve fresh fruit usually papaya, watermelon, and pineapples which is tasty, but uncovered in a open restaurant area, so the many insects in the area are enjoying it too. I have stayed four times in the Arenal area at the resorts: The Lost Iguana, The Arenal Springs Resort, and Silencio del Campo. They were all nicer properties with better meals, pools, internet service, and rooms. The Arenal Springs Resort costs about the same money and is a much better resort in my view. The others cost more and are nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing hotel and dedicated staff!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
I'm scared my review won't make enough justice to this amazing experience my family and I had. We stayed at this hotel for 6 days, we just got back and we can't wait to visit again!! Not one employee ever gave us an attitude or negative response!! I've never visited a place where each and every staff member is so committed to make you feel so comfortable and fulfill all of our needs. From the wet bar and all the guys there like Randall and the other guy who shared the shift with him (I forgot his name) to the lobby employee Josue, the ladies taking care of the front desk during the day, the kitchen staff and even security (Andrei and the rest of the guys) and the room service staff, words are not enough to thank you guys for such extraordinary service and experience, not to mention the restaurant staff!! I wish I remembered each and everyone's name. Every morning for breakfast we felt like royalty, food amazing and good. Even the hotel driver was an amazing gentleman. We got picked up at the airport by the hotel service and like the overall experience it was great. If I was to go into details I won't finish this review lol! But overall it's an outstanding place, with an astonishing view and rooms with the best team to spoil and make your vacation the best ever! Really nice people!! Can't wait to visit and see all the guys again PURA VIDA!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Good stay

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Staff and food we're my favorite! Chef is the best one there. Loved Jonathan and Douglas at the bar. The only negative is the pool should be updated or painted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Fantastic view of volcano

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: I liked it's location to all the adventure sightseeing and the views of the volcano.
Cons: The mattresses on the beds need to be thicker or more plush. The beach chairs at the pool need to be more comfortable.
Location: The location in the La Fortuna area is excellent and convenient to all the many adventure sightseeing tours that are available.
Excellent resort with the best views of the Arenal Volcano. Hotel staff very accommodating and will do anything to make your stay memorable. The rooms are spacious and the rainforest shower amazing. One of my suggestions is for the resort to upgrade their mattresses to be more plush as they were a little on the thin side. My other suggestion is for the resort to upgrade their beach chairs to be more comfortable as their current hard wood beach chairs are very uncomfortable. The food at the main restaurant was very good. The resort is conveniently located to be near all the adventure sightseeing. I did ziplining, waterfall rappelling, the volcano hike and a rainforest night walk. If you are looking for a tropical resort in a quiet area, then this is the place for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Close to Main Arenal Activities

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Hotel is close to everything (zip line tours, hot springs), so it's conveniently located and easy to get around town from here. I felt that the food in the main restaurant was overpriced. We were told that happy hour was from 5-6 and the bartender refused to acknowledge that. That was really weird. The rest of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for a honeymoon!

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We stayed at mountain paradise for a week for our honeymoon. The staff were all very nice an helpful. The room was awesome and spacious, the only thing we didn't like was the bed was too hard, and the waterfall shower (which was one of our favorite things about the room) stayed hot for only 10 minutes if that. Also, they had a coffee maker in the room, but no coffee and if you want went and bought coffee you would be charged for using the coffee maker. We loved the towel animals they left on our bed everyday! The pool was where we spent most of our time, very relaxing, and we loved the swim up bar. The staff played fun music and the drinks were great! They only had one restauraunt open while we were there which was a disappointment because they said there were 2 restaurants that we would be able to eat at. The food at the restaurant was decent but nothing too special. Overall we had a good time, but if you are traveling during the rainy season be prepared for rain, every single day!! Bring umbrellas and rain jackets!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Hidden gem

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Room and facilities are kept very clean being they are in the middle of the rainforest!
Cons: Dinner menu was a bit pricey for the quality of the food. Eat elsewhere other than breakfast.
Location: Centralized. Within minutes of the National park and all tourist activities: Bridges, waterfalls, forest, volcano, ATV, hot springs, etc. Hard to find
Hotel was hard to find but worth it. Secluded and surrounded by nature. Rooms are spacious and double showers. The waterfall shower and plants in the room gave you a feeling of the rainforest that was priceless! Beds are a little hard for my taste but we barely slept! Pool was heated. Limited bar and food was overpriced for the quality. The free breakfast is awesome and filling! True feel of Costa Rica's motto: Pura Vida!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great hotel with access to numerous activities

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Could use a gift shop. The hotel is fairly remote and it would have been nice to have a place on site to purchase snacks.
Location: There were multiple excursion opportunities near by such as waterfalls, rainforest canopy, rivers, and chances to view the wildlife.
The resort was very exclusive and private. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, booking any excursion we desired, often on very short notice. The grounds and rooms were beautiful. Each terrace was private and gave an excellent view of the volcano.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Good place, but some improvements needs to be done

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, always willing to help
Cons: Up keep of the hotel.
Location: Arenal Hike, Zip Lining, Water Fall hike, Tobacon, and Naraya Restaurant.
Nice place, when we first arrived it was around 1130 pm. Staff seems a little reserved, not as welcoming as other places, but they were nice and willing to help. Lighting around the resort was ok, a little more light would help when walking at night. There was a light to our room that was always out and hard to see, so I used my cell phone light so I can see where I was going or if there was anything in my path. Some insects would get in because the screens need to be replaced. Nice place, but needs some up keep. We reserved 2 premium suites, but they upgraded us to the master without asking or letting us know. Bathrooms do not look like they do in the pics, waterfall shower didnt work properly, regular shower took forever to get hot water. Room itself was good, A/C worked great, thermal pool was nice to relax in after all the hiking/zip lining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Everything was great and staff was very friendly. It was close to everything. Location was awesome.