Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, Australia

good resort in a great location

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: The Balinese architecture, gardens / grounds, location, staff & lagoon pool
Cons: Quality of beds & bedding, they were very uncomfortable & the food in the hotel restaurants was just average at best.
Location: Very close to beach, shops, restaurants, bars, Legian markets on Garlic Lane etc.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in the Bali Mandira and the staff are just wonderful. The lagoon pool is great and the resort is in a superb location being very close to all the shops, bars, restaurants, Legian markets on Garlic Lane etc. we loved the Balinese style architecture of the Mandira and the gardens / grounds are beautiful. The breakfast was displayed beautifully but it would be great if the hotel could find a way to keep the food a bit hotter as it was a little on the cool side each day. That being said, there was plenty of it and a good variety. We stayed in a superior room then moved to a deluxe cottage on the ground floor which was much nicer with outdoor space but the beds and pillows were very uncomfortable in both the rooms we had. Personally, I thought the food in the resort's restaurants were just average at best and the quality / taste didn't quite match the resorts star rating. I have to say though the resort caters for anyone....Families, couples etc but it would be even better if a few of these little negatives could be sorted out. An overall good resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Everything was better than expected.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Cons: The bathroom had a bit of a back-plumbing smell.
We booked the Bali Mandira for just one night, in between a cruise and departing for home, based pretty much on the knowledge it was near the beach. We were blown away by the huge room with private garden, the landscaping, the beach access, the staff, and even the free local cultural entertainment during dinner. This would have been a bargain at twice the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne

Beautiful resort

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Mandira is perfectly located to all amenities. The pools were amazing and clean, they suited singles, couples and children with the 2 style of water slides.. We spent most days at the pool bar or at the beach surfing.. The shopping close by was brilliant with lots of fun bartering to be had. Local foods were yummy.. All in all a fantastic holiday in a great resort...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Western Australia

Lovely hotel with traditional gardens

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: as above
Cons: as above
Location: Great location with restaurants, shopping and the beach right there.
We loved our stay at the Bali Mandira. The grounds are beautiful, rooms good sized, clean and comfortable, nice breakfasts and cocktails and friendly staff. The only downside to our trip was not having a balcony in both of our rooms. While it didn't spoil our stay, it was unusual to not have one. Next time we book, we'll make sure we check that we have a room with a balcony. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to families, couples, singles or groups of friends. It's a quiet hotel considering its size and gives you a beautiful, traditional Bali experience in a great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great pool, tired rooms

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, although we didn't feel like family as we did at a lot of other hotels do including the Pullman down the road.
Cons: The rooms feel old and outdated, in corners you'll find build up of dust that looks like it's been there for years. Tired rooms and bathrooms.
Location: Great location, just outside of noisy Kuta but still close enough to the action. Markets, mini marts and restaurants just around the corner.
The pool here is great. The photos of the room on the website did not accurately represent. We were told later the photos were of the recently updated rooms. After paying in full and checking into our room we were taken aback by the tiredness of the room. The toilet seat in the bathroom looked like it hadn't been replaced since the hotel opened. There were a few other issues with our room, including being right at the very back of the resort and having no balcony, so we walked across to the hotel next door (Padma) to see what they had available. We could have got a much nicer room in a better location in the resort (and more modern) for $200 less than what we had paid at the Mandira. I have to acknowledge the reception staff for her handling of the situation.. she initially wanted to move us to the same room but in a location a little bit closer to the pool, but eventually ended up moving us to a 'club room' but without the club benefits. It took for us to ask for a refund for her to offer this though. We decided to accept her offer and not to move to the Padma because we had already unpacked our belongings, and were so tired from our long journey already. Our pasta dinner at Parasol was at best 5/10. The flavour was severely lacking. Even the garlic bread had hardly any flavour! However our buffet breakfasts daily at the other restaurant were quite tasty.. the pancakes cooked fresh for you were nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom JAPAN

満足のホテル

Posted Nov 24, 2014
バリに一週間の旅行でホテルは4箇所利用。一泊、2万以上のヌサドゥアの最高級ホテルからクタの二千円チープホテルや、レギャンでも三千円のホテル等です。その中でもここは素晴らしかった。着いたらすぐに冷たいおしぼりとウェルカムドリンク、10分間のウェルカムマッサージを予約で受けれたり、レイトチェックアウトで14時まで滞在できる希望も聞いてくれました。ヴィラの一件づつの建物は、友人達と来たら扉を開ければ繋げる様な仕組みでした。お隣さんのイビキはうるさかったけどね!笑 目の前は海でみちを渡るだけ、 ホテルから水着で行けるし、帰りはすぐシャワーがあってなんといっても最高の立地。レギャン、クタ、ヌサドゥアの海をみたけど、波の大きさといい、レギャンの海は大好きになりました。サンセットも最高。そして、少しあるけば買い物や食事をするところも大満喫。レギャン通りへも数分で出れます。 しかし、暑いので夕方の買い物をお勧めしますよ! また、ホテル内のプールは充実しています。2階にあるプールは空いているし、海やホテルを一望できて最高です。カップルにお勧めです大人向けの深さですが、ガッツリ泳げます。ホテル内のレストランは一つです。美味しかったです。 ホテル内が広過ぎ無いことも今回の旅でBestに感じると実感しました。鯉にエサやりしたり、頭に可愛いモコモコがついたアヒル達もいるのでお散歩して探してみてくださいね。スタッフもみなさん親切、笑顔の素敵な最高のホテルです 必ずまた行きたいです
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom aydney

Lovely staff , surroundings , food and service.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Myself and husband stayed 6 nights in a courtyard room. We loved the welcoming staff and looked after us and our room very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom perth

Best hotel in bali

Posted Nov 9, 2014
We have stayed many times at bali mandira and will continue to always stay here as the staff and facilities are just amazing. The staff at this hotel make it the only place to stay in Bali. They treat you like family and nothing is too much. From the bar staff, restaurant staff, housekeeping, reception to management.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom perth wa.

a poor example of 4 or 5 star acc

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: all of it.
stairs stairs walk walk if thats what you want this is the place. rooms poor. bed hard like laying on a bag of spanners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise!

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Pool, location, breakfast, gardens, room
Location: La Monde is a great place to eat and the coffee shop below has great coffee and food
We have been to Bali several times and love the Legian area, this was our first stay at The Mandira although our friends have stayed there before. The upgraded pool was amazing and we loved the 'adults only ' pool area! The staff were so friendly and helpful and surprised my husband with flowers, bintangs and a card for his birthday! This was our most enjoyable stay i=n Bali! Thank you Simon and staff at the Bali Mandira