Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for what you get.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Hotel is dated. Did not feel there was value for cost of stay. Hot tub out of service. Hallway carpeting covered in stains. Too much $$ for level of property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Awesome Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: How good the staff was, where it was situated, all the hotels were no more than 3 levels so it feels so open, and the views. Wow!!!
Cons: We needed more garbage bins outside as with a dog we needed them. But the outside of the hotel was really well maintained.
Location: A really nice British Pub , where the food was awesome. A micro brewery tour. Plenty of places to hire bikes or go and do adventure sports
This was our first stay in Canmore as usually we stay in Banff. We planned to bring our 10 week old Doberman puppy with us. We couldn't find a reasonable hotel in Banff for our dog, two teenage daughters , my husband and myself, so looked at Canmore. What a gem. It said on the website that the hot tub was not working and there were signs at reception telling us also , so we were prepared. Check in was so easy I thought something was wrong. The room was good , clean and comfy, with a exit close by for us to nip the dog out for the bathroom. Canmore was beautiful and a lot quieter than Banff. There is a A&W across the road for breakfast, even though they did do breakfast in the hotel. Plenty of well known resturants on the main road, and some nice little shops and cafes. We were able to walk around Canmore w ith the dog and we could sit outside Starbucks for coffee. Everyone we met were nice , it was so relaxing, Plenty of well known shops, Canadian Tire, Save On Food, Safeways etc, and the usual quaint stores. When we arrived at the hotel our Television was not working, the staff worked really hard to fix it, at one point asking us if we would like to change rooms. We declined as we really didn't feel we needed the TV. The staff continued to work on our cable connection away from the room and fixed the TV.. If you want a quiet but really nice hotel I would recommend this one. My girls loved the swimming pool and it was open quiet late
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

need to replace hallway carpets - heavily stained

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Cons: stained hallway carpets
Location: good location
one night only so hard for me to write about anything - hotel was OK
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

No thanks

Posted Aug 20, 2014
I booked this hotel with my kids mainly in mind and as they're young (2&5) I wanted the hot tub and pool close together. That is what mattered to this little family. Unfortunately, we were not notified upon booking, and I think it would be important to tell the customer if the hot tub is not in working order. What a disappointment to my girls. The pool was extra cold do instead of having an hour, they were chattering after 15 minutes... Nowhere to warm up. Then we ordered room service and after 25 minutes of waiting they called up to say the food would be up shortly. I asked if that meant they were just starting our order and she said yes. She also explained that they were busy with a wedding and had a big order before ours. I asked if we could possibly get some sort of discount and she didn't understand well what I was asking, as she spoke poor English. She said she would ask her supervisor. The drinks came and she said no discount because they were busy from the wedding. When our food was delivered I spoke with the girl and she brought us some cheesecake. Food was mediocre, mussles were yummy, nice local beer. Other hotels leave the cart so u can put it outside the room for pick up. Unusually enough I phoned the front desk to ask if we could have someone pick them up. The man sounded like this was a weird request and told me someone would "Be up in a bit". They came up within 10 minutes. The rugs in the hallways are absolutely filthy. No thanks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Pretty darn average

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Decent, if not a trifle expensive restaurant in the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice patio area. Easy access to airport bus.
Cons: More counter space in the bathroom. Easier AC control or directions on how to use it.
Location: Crazyweed Diner in Canmore was good!
The room was clean and neat and the bed was comfortable. The way they make the beds is strange, though - I had a hard time distinguishing between the mattress cover and the bottom sheet because neither one seemed to actually be anchored to the mattress very securely. And the cover sheet and duvet only came up to my chest (no matter how hard I pulled) so had to slide down to get full coverage when needed. I couldn't figure out how to operate the air conditioner to cool the room so had to open a window to get some cooling happening at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brownsburg, IN

Good value in beautiful town

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Room and cost relative to other area hotels.
Cons: Hallways, refrigerator in room, restaurant schedule.
Location: Beautiful town close to Banff National Park and mountains.
Nice room-liked sleep number beds-stains in hallway carpet-in house restaurant, Vic's, was closed on Thursday night leaving only limited lounge menu after a long day when we did not feel like going out for dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Review of our stay at the Coast Canmore Hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The bar and grill associated to the hotel was excellent.
Cons: See details with regards to my experience.
Our stay at the Coast Canmore Hotel was below expectations. The hot tub or jacuzzi as adverstised on the website, was out of service. Also, access to WIFI as advertised was not functional for our 4 night stay. While I appreciated the feedback from the front desk, that the hotel staff and contractors were "on it", I did not feel this as a customer. In addition, the room above was very noisy as was the traffic in the hallway during early morning hours, before 7AM.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Beautiful mountain views, clean rooms

Posted Aug 8, 2014
The hotel location was beautiful. Canmore has some great shops and restaurants. The hotel was clean and staff friendly. The pool was basic but clean--and my daughter loved it. The hot tub was out of order and it looked in need of a major overhaul (no work being done at present). The hotel restaurant looked like a nice steakhouse but a little pricy. We went offsite for meals, especially breakfast. It would have been nice to have a small fridge in the room to keep milk and fruit. Otherwise loved our stay. Close to Banff but it was nice to be in a quieter community at the end of a long day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

The hotel room smelled bad.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
In a pinch it was ok, not worth 250.00/night. If the room smelled musty... It would have been more pleasant then the chemical mix and stench that was locked in. My room keys didn't work for the second day of my stay.... Not sure why? The toilet was sweating so bad it got our clothes wet and left a pool by morning. Not a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown Canmore

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Clean, friendly staff and easy walking distance to downtown Canmore.