Ratings based on 618 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beachfront Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Loved our stay in Bar Harbor. Try MacKays and Beal's Lobster Pound. A harbor cruise is lovely and Arcadia is extraordinary!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wash dc

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: it was ok
Cons: race relasions
Location: great place to be
it was a nice experience , whale watching , lots seafood ,and lovely sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Close to Acadia National Park

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Cleanness, location, staff's kind manner
Cons: Nothing
Location: Must visit Acadia National Park and bar harbor downtown.
Was an excellent hotel to stay. All the staff were extremely kind and nice, knowledgeable to what they are doing. Nice and clean rooms. Close to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor downtown. Bar Harbor free shuttle stops at hotel. Really enjoyed my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Expected better

Posted Sep 3, 2014
After reading reviews from trip advisor, I knew I wasn't going to be staying in a five star hotel, but I thought it would be clean and adequate, but perhaps a little outdated. Upon entering our room, the over powering stench of urine was enough to make me gag. To be fair, we were only staying one night and it was a holiday weekend, so I didn't ask to be moved, but the fact that any room could smell that bad and be rented out is horrendous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trumbull CT

Great place to stay in Bar Harbor.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Very nice grounds,spacious and clean room, close to downtown Bar Harbor and close to Acadia National Park.
Cons: Check in during peak hours.
Location: Take a stroll along the shore walk downtown and soak in the picture perfect setting. Go to Acadia and drive up to peak of Cadillac Mountain.
Very nice hotel. I would have given it a overall 5 rating except check in took an abnormally long time.Arrived on a Saturday at about 5:15 PM and the lobby had about 20 people/8-10 parties waiting to check in. One couple took at least 15 minutes to complete check in.Finally it was our turn and check in at that point only took a few minutes.I figure that this was not the norm and we probably just caught it at the wrong time. Front Desk personnel were courteous and thorough.Our room was on the second floor of the Proctor Wing.Very nice and clean. Room was a partial ocean view near the pool and hot tub. The grounds were immaculate. Did not spend a lot of time in the room or at the hotel as we spent most of the time exploring Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The Island Explorer Free Shuttle bus stops at the hotel. Runs every 30 minutes during the day and 15 minutes after 3:00 PM. Last bus back to hotel from Village Green is at 10:00 PM ( ten minute ride either way ) The Hotel is located only a mile from the Visitors Center for Acadia National Park. Parking is very limited in the park. Good idea to take the shuttle bus from town or park at the Visitor Center and take the bus into the park. Plan on returning next year and will definitely consider staying at the Bar Harbor Regency again. A bit pricey but still worth the extra $$$$.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangor

Bit overpriced, but nice

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Very convenient for exploring Acadia National Park, great locale right on the water and great free bus service into Bar Harbor.
Cons: Better breakfast!! Get competent front desk employees.
Location: Bar Harbor is great. Tons of shops and restaurants and beautiful harbor views. Acadia is worth exploring for at least two days. Gorgeous!!
The hotel is in a very nice location right on the water. The grounds are very nice but the actual hotel is just OK. My room was in a separate building from the main hotel and had to walk up three flights of stairs with luggage. No elevator. The room itself was nice enough, but there were signs of age like long cracks in the ceiling and some staining. The room was otherwise very clean but the shower was very weak. I felt I did not get properly clean. The room also had a nice balcony that looked out to the water. It was generally very quiet and peaceful except for some noisy kids and people who talked too loud. I felt the hotel was way overpriced for what you get, but then again I guess it's the location. Anywhere else and this hotel would probably be a lot less expensive. Word of warning: Eat breakfast somewhere else. They have a breakfast buffet that they charge 15 bucks for and it is pretty awful. My waffle was cold and dried out and the rest of the choices are pretty much what you would get at Super 8. Cheap pastries, Frosted Flakes and cartons of yogurt. They make it look fancy but it is not. Don't waste your money. The door man was nice, but most other employees were pretty cold and unfriendly, especially in the restaurant. When I arrived the check-in line was out the door and they had this girl behind the counter who must have been 13 and she didn't know what she was doing. It took forever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

At the edge of the ocean, very beautiful scenic.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The Breakfast is the best. They are good restaurants.
This is resort is at the edge of the ocean, very near to Acadia Park. Every things is right shape we had good time while we are in hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Great Hotel. Good Location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location, Cleanliness, Hotel grounds.
Cons: WiFi
Location: Acadia National Park. Bar Harbor Center.
All in all the hotel was very good. Staff was OK, primarily foreign temporary workers, anxious to help but not always that efficient. Breakfast buffet was good but overpriced. Bus service to Bar Harbor Center was a great perk. Biggest drawback was quality and availability of WiFi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe,NY

Great Stay

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location to town and Acadia, grounds were nice, great pool, great ocean view from our hotel room, good parking, the tiki bar.
Cons: Have the hotel bar stay open later instead of closing at 11:00. A spa would be a great added bonus.
Location: We were so close to Acadia only a minutes drive and close enough to town. We like the mini golf, and ice cream store down the street.
My wife booked this hotel. She was hesitant to do so at first because of all the negative reviews about the hotel being old and run down. I am happy to say that we are happy we did stay here. We had a great stay. The location was perfect. We loved being so close to Acadia. We did drive into town but that did not bothers us and it was only a 5 minute drive. We stayed in the main building. We had a king size bed and great ocean view room. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We found the hotel staff to be polite and knowledgeable. We did like the idea of the hotel having a shuttle service even though we never used it. We were always able to find a parking spot. We liked the idea of the coffee shop in the lobby to grab a cup of coffee in the mornings. We did like the bar in the hotel. We did wish it stayed open a little later instead of closing at 11:00 pm . We did not eat at any of the restaurants on site. We went into town to eat. My wife did lay out by the pool a couple of time. We though the grounds and pool were very nice. The pool was a good size and loved over looking the coast while sitting at the pool. We did get some drinks at the Tiki bar which was a treat to have. The few time were were there the service was a little slow only because there was only 1 bartender there and it got crowded. . Make sure to confirm a few days a head of arrival and specify what you want. We would stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Clean hotel near bar harbor

Posted Aug 20, 2014
It's a good experience at holiday inn. Room is clean with a big refrigerator. If there is a microwave, that makes it to a 5 stars.