Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great Location for walking to many sites!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Location to what we wanted to see in Beijing in a few days. Also close to a Subway Station.
Cons: Not much as they were very willing to help with any questions we had.
Location: Walk a lot or take the Subway, enjoy the shopping from local to all your high end brand names. Walk the local streets to most all the sites you want.
We were able to walk to Tiananmen Square, the Beijing Museum and the Forbidden City, Great Shopping in the Wang Fu Jing Area! Walked out legs off but sure had a great time. You get to see the old and new of Beijing walking the streets. Ate local foods at the Street Market! Even had blue skies for 3 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mandurah,West Australia

Stay here...

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: All the above...
Cons: Bit more care with the upkeep
Location: Street food just down the road... Try it!!!
Great hotel for it's price...modern and very well thought out......hanging lights in the inner courtyard, reading alcoves, even a computer in the room. Good location for The Forbidden City. Breakfast was the best I have had... Ever!! More staff the quests in the morning and good food in the evening... Would stay anytime
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom liverpool

Fabulous hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2014
We could not be happier with this hotel. The staff are wonderful and will go out of their way to help you. They will hand you a map that also serves as a little phrase book, and subway map. This came in incredibly handy throughout our whole trip! The rooms are lovely. They are kept clean, though the glass bathroom was a little unnerving but the curtains soon solves that!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tel aviv

no exchange money in the hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2014
the deal from expedia not include brakfast (very expnsive in the hotel). you can get a better deal .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location easy access to places

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Nice staff, good variety of breakfast, big room ... Very good service
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Richfrom Plymouth

Family stay

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent location for all main sites and walking distance from very large shopping area. We had family suite superb room nicest we've stayed. Only problem tried to charge for breakfast that should have been included. Eventually agreed free for 2 adults not children. Haven't seen this condition will email hotels. Com on return
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Good Location, Hard bed

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: Getting softer beds and updating the Air Con units
The hotel is very close to the Forbidden City and numerous Shopping Malls. Value for price is still good, mainly due to location. The bed was hard, although this is to be expected in Beijing. At check in the staff member was friendly and english speaking. The fews times we required something from reception there was an english speaking staff member on. The bathroom is a bit odd due to the glass side and just a curtain to block the view. Air con was a bit temperamental, I would suggest leaving a card in the room power slot so the Air con remains on during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Gardens in the room
Cons: The other guests were extremely noise in the breakfast. Restaurant staff didn't care
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. Only 5 mins walk to Wangfujing And 15 mins ti Tian'anmen square.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Mis-advertised

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Hotel clerk tried to be helpful, but seems not authorized to rectify the wrong.
Cons: - say what bed ("western" style of firmness vs Chinese style of firmness) in each room - say there is no tub in most rooms
Great location, close to center of Beijing. The hotel, on the other hand, sucks. We arrived, got to our room, we discovered a tiny room, a bathroom with no doors, and glass walls (there are some things that are better done in private), and sat on the bed. Good thing we did that, since it really wasn't. That is, we were expecting a bed, not a box spring -- first time we'd seen something like that in a hotel, in any part of the world, including Beijing. Of course, we called the front desk to ask them to get us the rest of the bed, or find us another room. Someone came over to tell us that this was a bed, and there was nothing they could do but give us one extra blanket. A visit to the front desk (luckily, one of us speaks Chinese, since the staff does not speak much English), and we were able to 'upgrade' the room after paying extra, to something less worse -- it was a real bed, but the room was tiny as well, barely room to get by the end of the bed between the dresser. Shower water pressure was very low, no bath tub, shower water splashes to area outside because there was no wall. TV needed new cables to view properly. We paid less money to stay in 2 other hotels in Beijing on previous days of our trip, one which was great (Park Plaza, in Wangfujing), another that was fine and a step down from Park Plaza (Wenjin, in Haidian). Compared to the other 2 hotels, Kapok was close to a mis-advertised disaster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com