Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Terrible stay, inconfortable.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Location: Near To the train station
It was vert bad experiance because the hotel was full with more of 200 students. The lobby was full, the restaurant was always full, elevators. The room was very small without space and the air conditioner did not work properly. In the flirts night I asked for a biger room but IT was deneid.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Hotel close to Berlin Hbf

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Close to Berlin Hbf which is like a large shopping mall with cafes, restaurants & supermarkets.
Cons: Hotel should not release booking for room required for 3 people.
Location: Next to Berlin Hbf & public transport including Hop On/Off tourist buses.
Budget hotel that served the needs of travellers requiring to be close to central railway station. Room was hot & extremely small for 3 people and we could hardly move.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Ron from Halifax, NS

Nice hotel, horrible customer service

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location, clean, had a nice lobby/bar area.
Cons: Customer service and check in details. If breakfast is 6 euro a day and I need a card to eat breakfast, tell me that.
Location: Close to canal tours and central station. About a 20 minute walk to the Brandenburg gate!
Overall the hotel was nice and in a great location, across the street from the central station. However the customer service was HORRIBLE. Upon checking in, the man behind the counter asked if we (myself and my friend) wanted breakfast for the 3 days we were there. He said it would be "6 euros total". So I asked him to repeat that, by saying "So 6 euros for 3 days?" and he agreed. Seeing that some hotels offer breakfast for free or for a cheap rate, I thought this wasn't too good to be true. So I left the counter assuming he charged it to my account and all was good. On the last day when checking out, being the honest guy I am, I asked "How do I pay for breakfast?". And the woman said what do you mean... It turns out, EVERYDAY I was supposed to buy a breakfast card for 6 euro, present it to someone (no idea who) and then go in and eat breakfast. I literally walked into the breakfast buffet everyday and ate and left. Upon checking in, the gentleman was very uninformative and mislead me with the price as well as the details on how to pay. So I asked for a manager, feeling that was a little outrageous and I was misinformed (plus 6 euros is a bit steep for a continental buffet if you ask me). She did nothing to help. She said something along the lines of, "well, its 6 euro per person per day, and you just told me you ate so now you have to pay", and she could care less that one of her staff members is not explaining things to guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jun from UK

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 17, 2014
I stayed in a 4 person room with private bath The good: very conveniently located, tv in room, towels provided The bad: sheets were very messy and smelled, and were casually thrown on the beds. After checking out, the male common toilet did not work and the staff were not helpful at all, simply asking me to use the one at the train station in an unfriendly tone. It was more of the staff's attitude than the problem with the toilet that I have an issue with. To give credit, other staff were friendly when asked for directions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2014 by Toni Meyer, Hotel Management
Dear guests, thank you very much for rating us. It helps us to improve our product and service. We will speak with our housekeeping and reception staff, the guests well being ist an important matter! Best wishes and see you soon :) your MEININGER Team
2 out of 5
by Simon from Vancouver, BC

This is more like a hostel than a hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Very good location, it is right beside the central train station
Cons: Strong cooling fan. If possible, change the windows so that I can open wider.
We booked for a room for 4. When we arrived, the upper bunk beds were not made. There weren't even bed sheet. The rooms are not air conditioned. The window can only be narrowly opened. There is a cooling fan, but the air circulation remains very poor. It get very hot for the four of us during the night even in the spring.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2014 by Toni Meyer, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. Of course we will check the function of our cooling fan with our maintenance department and we hope to assure you next time. Best wishes and regards, your MEININGER Teams
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel and location

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Better towels. Noon check out would be better
Location: Everything!
Easy to get around Berlin from the hotel being right next to main train station. Only draw back during my stay was that there were tons of High School kids... Loud and a bit rowdy... But overall good! Good breakfast but get there early if all the HS kids are there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2014 by Toni Meyer, Hotel Management
Dear guest, many thanks for rating us :) We ar elooking forward welcoming you again, in beautyful Vienna, great Munich or at carneval in Colonge :) Best regards, your MEININGER Team
3 out of 5
by Stacey from California

OK. Staff is nice.

Posted May 24, 2014
I only chose this hotel because of its location - it's next to the HBF. I booked last minute, so I definitely overpaid, but if you can get a good deal in advance, I suppose it would be worth it. The other hotels in the vicinity were too expensive, and I really only needed a room close to the HBF since I had an early morning train to catch. Overall, this hotel was satisfactory. The staff were nice and helpful. The room was okay. I was a little disappointed probably because I paid too much, but it did the job. Unfortunately, it was really hot in Berlin and there was no air conditioning in the rooms, only fans that didn't really work. It was so hot and stuffy I felt like my head was going to explode. I was forced to keep the window open, so unfortunately I didn't get to sleep until around 3am due to the constant noise. I would recommend requesting a room away from the central station.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by Toni Meyer, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for rating us. Glad to read that our helpful staff asure you during your stay, we would have loved to help you and try to find a solution with your room. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at MEININGER; in Europes vibrant cities. Best wishes, your M-Team
3 out of 5
by Gwen.S from Singapore

Super close to the termini station

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: The location, friendly staff and free baggage storage.
Cons: Cleanliness of the bedsheets, maybe it's time to do a quality check on the bedsheets. About time to get new ones.
Location: Near termini station, supermarkets and food.
The location was definitely the best as it's right next to the termini station which has lots of shops there including 2 supermarkets. However the cleanliness of the room was a different thing. i booked the private double room and the toilet was clean and good. However i had 2 single beds pushed together, and 1 of the single bed had a small bug on it and the bedsheet was rough and black unlike the bedsheets of the other single bed which was very clean, comfortable and smooth.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2014 by Toni Meyer, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for rating us.Your honest feedback gives us the possibility to identify things which we have to improve. We really appreciate it. In terms of consequences regarding the incident please be sure that our staff has already been given full instructions. We would like to assure you another time. Kind regards, your MEININGER Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Davie from croydon

Great Hotel

Posted May 5, 2014
Great hotel - ideal location for exploring Berlin. Definitely more of a hotel than a hostel as others have described. Rooms fairly basic but no real complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2014 by Toni Meyer, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for rating us! It would be a pleasure to welcome you again :) Kind regards, your MEININGER Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good place to stay for a city break of Berlin.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
The hotel is in a perfect location to catch a train, tube or sight seeing bus in no more than 5 minutes walking distance as well as only a 15 minutes walk away from the Brandenburger Tor. We shared a room with 3 people and although it had everything we needed, it was very small, just enough to sleep in. It can be a very busy place especially at breakfast time with visiting schools however we felt, it all was very well organised. I can recommend the Hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a pleasant place, central to all public transport systems. I would defiantly use it again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2014 by Toni Meyer, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much - this is our concept and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay! We would like to welcome you again :) Wish you all the best! Kind regards, your MEININGER Team