Ratings based on 1,084 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester, UK

Great location, great staff!

Posted Apr 22, 2015
The hotel is in a great location just steps from Trinity church and about a 10 min walk from the common. The hotel is a little old fashioned especially in the rooms but everything works and it's great value for what you're paying, especially with free breakfast and wifi (which is a bit temperamental in the rooms). Cannot fault the staff, they were welcoming, warm and eager to help out with ideas for eating and entertainment. Will definitely be coming back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Comfortable stay in a convenient location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The location was the best- safe and central. The room was very comfortable and the atmosphere was very relaxed.
Cons: The decor could probably be updated slightly.The heating system did not seem very reliable and often our room was cold but we got help when we asked
Location: It is one block away from Copley Square which contains the beautiful Trinity Church and an underground station Shopping and restaurants v nearby
We had read on previous reviews that the hotel was in an excellent location but a little old and tired looking. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived because not only was the hotel extremely conveniently located but it was a lot nice than we imagined. The lobby was very grand and looked very impressive. The room was pretty big with an extremely comfortable bed and 2 cosy armchairs. The decor may not have been to our taste and the appliances may have looked slightly old-fashioned but all was in working order and we had a very relaxing time in the room. Breakfast was provided and it was everything we would have required. The whole place felt very relaxed. We had help when we needed it (to work the heater in the room, to inform us when a takeaway meal arrived and to book a taxi on the last day) but were left alone to come and go as we pleased without feeling under observation. Wifi was not available in all rooms but the lobby had good reception along with somne working computers, a printer, a photocopier and an ATM machine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It is well positioned within 2 mins walk from the orange line and 5 mins walk from the green line metro stations. The lobby retains its 1940s art deco grandness and as a result is charming. The rooms look a little tired but, like the lobby have a touch of charm about them. Everything worked!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
It wasn't a great hotel. There were issues with paying for the room and the continental breakfast (which consisted of pastries and bagels) wasn't open late enough. The accommodations were adequate but that was it. It was cheap for the area and close to the subway, but that's all it has going for it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Too old, don't stay if you expect to live in a 21st century hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Köln

Gute Hotel im Zentrum nah South Gate

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Bahnabindung too. In der Nähe auch Sehenswertes . Restaurants, Bars, alles fußläufig. Hotel nett....bischen dunkel, sonst ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 浜松

Bostonの繁華街であるCopleyに位置し、Locationは抜群です

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: シングルルームで広さは十分、広いバスタブがあり、お湯もすぐ利用できました。ハンガーがたくさんあって、1週間分の衣料をつるすスペースがあった。ベッドは広く、硬さはちょうどよかった。
Cons: 冷蔵庫がないので、ヨーグルトや飲み物を保管できない。テレビが箪笥の中に設置され、開閉式のドアが十分開かないので、部屋全体から、テレビをみることができない。 机がないので、ベッドの上にパソコンを置き、椅子に座って仕事をしなければならなかった。仕事ができる机がはしかった。朝食は変化に乏しい。
Location: ダウンタウンのCopleyにあり、Logan Expressの停留所からも近く、Fine art Musiumにいくにも便利です。3分ほどはなられたPrudential center の手前にには24時間営業のStar Market があり、便利です。早朝や夜の10時ごろまでは、人通りがあります。
Copleyにあり、入口は目につきにくいが、40Trinityの番地を探せば、道路に面する入口はわかります。二重ドアを入っていくと左手にフロントがあります。すぐ隣にダンキンドーナツがあり、地下鉄のCopley駅から歩いて2分の便利なホテルです。周囲のホテルよりも割安で、日本人の利用客が多い。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North carolina

Inexpensive, older hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Old and shabby, but given the price that was expected.
Location: Copley Square
The Boston Common Hotel appears to be an old converted dormitory building. It hasn't been updated, but given the really excellent price that can be overlooked. The room was small and somewhat shabby, but it was clean and quiet. Continental breakfast is included, and that was appreciated. The location is excellent (1 block from Copley Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom US

The Common is not Common

Posted Mar 29, 2015
The Boston Common has a lot going for it. The location is excellent - next to Copley Plaza, major tourist attractions, buses and subways, good restaurants. The building is old - 1925, I asked - but in excellent repair. Very little in the building is new but it is all tidy. A very quiet hotel, too. Prices vary but are excellent for a major city. Amtrak Back Bay Station is five minutes away. You can go to the airport for $5 at a bus stop across from the Copley Plaza Hotel. Bus, which runs regularly, is operated by the city. I have only good things to say about this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Price was right.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Hard to find entrance. Lobby was nice. Our floor was not. Old and not taken care of. Room was super small. Old looking. Clean but run down. Bath was straight out of the 70's. Bed was good. Shower pressure was great.