Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Historic Hotel with a Cruise Atmosphere

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Proximity to all attractions; the daily activities available (even the college kids liked them); and the helpfulness of all hotel staff.
Cons: Internet and the business center
Location: Location was awesome. Everything within walking distance. Only trip on the subway was to JFK Museum and that was easy.
This was a historic landmark converted to timeshares with some units available as hotel rentals. Excellent location for all things Boston. Daily activities to keep kids and adults engaged. Only a couple of downfalls - rooms on 1st floor were noisy due to proximity to the "Counting Room" activity room (mostly live music which really was fine) and the internet was terrible. The business center was basically useless due to bad internet and the desktop was only configured for printing boarding passes - made all other websites mess up. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and stay there again without question. I loved it. Next time, I will just bring my mobile hotspot and laptop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Great Location

Posted May 26, 2015
Great location, close to many attractions. Just across from Quincy Market and 2 minute walk to the water front. If you are not afraid to take a stroll this is a great location. We were able to get to the Boston Common within 20 minutes which in nice weather was a lovely walk. I would highly recommend the location. Great Value for your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Great Boston location!

Posted May 26, 2015
Hotel was in a great location to food, shopping, historic sites as well as the harbour and the T-station (subway). Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Checked us in early when we arrived and held our bags upon checkout due to a later flight. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Loved having the separate bedroom. Only disappoint was the observation deck was closed for repairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted May 10, 2015
Great location, within walking distance to many attractions and historical locations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location and great staff.

Posted Apr 30, 2015
The staff was knowledgable and accommodating. Only valet here, but literally waited 30 seconds for our car since they park on the property (I went in April, so I'm sure they have a lot somewhere else when it's peak season). The front desk called a cab for us and that too was less than a min. We took a cab to Fenway, less than 20 bucks. Only negative was the bathroom shower walls. Looks a little moldy, but overall clean. Airplanes were noisy too but it's the city and we didn't mind it much. I believe the hotel offers ear plugs too. I would stay here again. The staff really made this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Fantastic location in a cool old historic building

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Location, location, history, design and well maintained.
Cons: Free continental breakfast or at least vouchers for a near by cafe.
Location: Aquarium, Quincy Market, North End, Children's Museum, T-stop, Gov. Center, harbor, Rose Kennedy Greenway.
The Custom House is an amazing old historic building and they have done a great job keeping the character of the building. My family from Cal. were raving about the place and they stay in many hotels. The suites are comfortable for families and our loft room was amazing with the super high ceilings and the original molding, and the arched ceiling. Very clean, quiet and great views from the upper floors. Bed was very comfortable; however the pillows were too soft as they are in most hotels. Parking was very expensive, even for a city. No pool which is fine because it would have ruined the character of the old hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful hotel, but...

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms, good location downtown, friendly reception staff.
Cons: Room options, parking.
Location: Plenty of restaurants, bars, tourist attractions.
I stayed here with my fiance last month as part of a surprise birthday gift. I booked the room weeks in advance and requested a room on an upper floor as suggested by many reviewers to experience the amazing views. Unfortunately, when we arrived they gave us a room on the First floor, the only floor I did not want to be on. Okay, it happens I guess, due to also being a time share. I didn't think that would be a problem in the end of February when tourism is low. We did ask for a different room but were told none were available. I wasn't too upset about the room because I knew we could still check out the views from the observation deck. Unfortunately, it was CLOSED!! Due to snow on the deck. MInd you the whole reason I booked this hotel was for the amazing views and reviews. You can still see the views from inside but from 10 feet back and behind windows, was really difficult to take pictures. When we got to the room (room 101) I immediately had to close all the shades as the large windows in every room were open to the busy streets and bars/restaurants across the street. Being on the first floor everyone can see into the room, especially as night came. I had to get dressed in the bathroom because the old curtains were basically starched open even when unlatched from the holders. I reserved a King bed but this bed looked more like a Queen, it was okay comfort wise. Fortunately, the ro
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JEANNE from Key West

Spacious villas and gracious staff.

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
We wanted our kids to get a taste of New England history. Perfectly located for the Freedom trail , Quincy Market, The Aquarium, and Legal Seafood! The staff was extremely helpful and cheerful. We would never stay anywhere else in Boston since finding this gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle from Worcester

March 23-24

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
We needed a hotel near TD Garden for a concert. The location of this hotel was perfect. Really cool old building, excellent service. The layout of the room was unique---loft style bedroom upstairs, bathroom and living area downstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Nice vacation club hotel close to downtown

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Excellent
Cons: a full service dining facility
Location: Near Downtown Boston, near Quincy market, Faneuil Hall, and many other shopping areas. Not far from the theatre district , TD Garden, Boston Harbor
This is the converted custom house near Boston Harbor that has been converted to a Marriott Vacation Club Condos. They did an excellent job retaining the historic grandeur of the building and making it into a very comfortable and wonderful place to stay. We only stayed one night, as they rent out the condos for a night or for a week or whatever. It has all of the comforts of any hotel and a very helpful and courteous staff. Dining facility is limited to a limited breakfast menu, but literally across the street are plenty of restaurants, bars, pubs and light dining places. Very nice