Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Nafeesa from UK

On its way up!

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful architecture
Cons: Staff professionalism, service and cleanliness.
Location: Not much to do near by but golf at hotel kept us entertained!
Part off a honeymoon trip from UAE to Malaysia to Thailand to Brunei. Started off as a terrible experience at this hotel, room bedding had never been changed, they were unable to change our room, the lagoon building was far from reception as a result anything needed or ordered took over 1-2 hours to arrive (including a simple towel). However spoke to manager who is in charge and was informed that the hotel is undergoing changes. They understood our concerns and disgust so therefore it is all work in progress. Hopefully should improve over the next 12 months and look forward to seeing the changes!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo from Singapore

Great all encompassing Resort

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: The staff were incredibly helpful and made me feel very welcome
Cons: The need to sign in and out, for a towel at the pool was a bit annoying
Location: I did a trip into the Temburong National Park and checked out the rainforest canopy walk. No wildlife though...
I spent my first afternoon relaxing by the pool, did a tour of the national park the next day. On my last day I had a fabulous massage, followed by pool time and topped off with High Tea. Great way to spend the long weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J. from Canada

This is the hotel to stay in Brunei!

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We as a family stayed at the Empire Hotel and fully enjoyed our stay. Staff was always polite, attentive/prompt and delivered a cake for our daughter's birthday. This was a pleasant surprise and a very warm gesture. Great location on the ocean with lots of walking pathways combined with excellent amenities for kids/families. Extra large bedroom with a lavish ensuite, excellent food options, French bakery/coffee shop and in general a very nice luxurious resort. We also liked the airport pick up and drop off service and a guided tour within Brunei arranged by the hotel. Thank you for making our first trip to Brunei in December 2013 a very memorable one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from UK

This was my second visit to this elegant hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: The elegant appearance. The grounds are well cared for and very attractive. Excellent swimming pool.
Cons: One evening I had dinner at the Penai restaurant serving a variety of fish dishes. The meal was only of a moderate standard.
Location: Perfect location only 15 minutes ride from the airport and by the sea. I remained in the hotel for my two days in Brunei.
The Empire is a memorable experience and I was not disappointed visiting again following my first visit six years ago. It is in a wonderful coastal position and although huge, the buildings are spaced creatively throughout the spacious grounds. Every comfort is catered for and the staff are friendly and helpful. As I was travelling alone on this trip (and am 71), friendly staff were an important factor.
2 out of 5
by Kaz from Melbourne

An extremely disappointing experience.

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: The garden and beach setting and the cleanliness of the rooms.
Cons: The pools are filthy and need drastic cleaning. Greater communication with guests and a more honest website.
Location: Very little nearby. Gadong, the nearest town was drab and not worth the trip there.
The hotel is visually stunning in a beautiful garden setting but thats where it ends. The vast pool area shown on the web are in fact extremely dirty, with algae build up in parts up to an inch thick, which probably explains why the pools are deserted most of the time. Also, my son was lookng forward to the advertised marine sports, but this area was closed (and has been for a year). In addition, the pool shuts at 7pm, so there is no opportunity for guests to enjoy the pool during the warm evenings. Staff abound at reception but are non existent at the many seating areas around the pool other than the pool bar (which does not serve alcohol as this, together with cigarettes, is prohibited in Brunei). The menu is limited and many items not available. Due to mandatory prayer times no food, drinks or other services are available from 12-2pm on Fridays, which we were not advised of. It meant that we could not get lunch till almost 2.30pm. As this was our only full day the hotel we were mortified. Other disappointments included being left waiting alone at night in the nearby town for half an hour when the hotel driver failed to show up at the arranged time. While the room itself was clean and spacious with a lovely view, the overall experience was extremely disappointing, especially for such an expensive hotel. We would not return and would not recommend it to our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Amazing resort, completely over the top in terms of decoration and size, which made it quite easy to get away from the crowds. Good for a couple of nights but if like more than just lying in the sun could become boring after a couple of days as along way from the main town. Really good buffet in the evening but a really basic breakfast, which was a surprise given the star rating!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rods from Aussie

Lush

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Pros: swimming in the large and varied pools after dark
Cons: there is a bit of distance between areas. The waterfall view area is a good walk to the main areas. There is golf cart style transportation though.
Location: Beautiful, due to the ocean and serenity of the area. But it is not near the main city areas at all - you cant have both.
A BIG lush hotel experience, I wanted to save money so I only booked for one night. Now I wish that I had stayed for more nights. The pools are amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place with fantastic view

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Hotel has fantastic finishing and is beautiful. The view of South China Sea is stunning. The dining options are great. My family especially likes Li Gong, the Chinese restaurant, and Zest, the bakery. The country club sites near the hotel provides visitors a great variety of sporting choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from Canada

Anniversary

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Beautiful hotel and country club
Cons: Not much atmosphere in any of the restaurants
Location: To make the most of Brunei probably best to plan for outdoor treks etc
Great for relaxing and make the most of all the club amenities. Nothing much else to do though