Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Carlos from London

Good place to go for a walk around the town

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: The position
Cons: T.v, shower, bed, carpet.....etc etc.
Location: Bussum is a nice town to find a place to eat and to go for a walk around town.
This hotel was ok overall, but it really needs a new make up and a complete update of their facilities. The t.v for eaxample, was from my grandparents years, And so small, I didn't even think those T.Vs were still around. All in all unless you are there to see Bussum, which is a nice enought town, there is no other reason to pick this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt from UK

Practical business hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: short order chef at breakfast
The hotel location next to the railway station was very practical for accessing the Hilversum Media Park one stop down the line at Hilversum North. Its location on the edge of open heath land was pleasant for running in after work, although distance from the center of Bussum and its facilities meant my stay was too reliant on the in house restaurant, which was adequate, rather than good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by K from US

Good hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is excellent overall. There are only two things that may not be optimal but there is really nothing the hotel can do about it. One is that the shower space is very small. I am a regular sized person and I still feel it is a little tight. It is definitely not working for a big person. The other one is that this hotel is located in a tiny town, although right beside the train station. There is basically nothing within 10 minutes walk except for a gas station. The closest restaurant is about 10 minutes walk away. But the parking is free and easy if you drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent Value

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff. Located right at a train station for easiest and safest access to Amsterdam, but never once heard a train. Very quiet. The only drawback was no air conditioning so my room was too warm. This was the 6th hotel I have stayed at in Western Europe and it was by far the best value. Hotels website does not have a star rating for value but if it did I would give this hotel a 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Garry

A really comfortable hotel near Amsterdam Center

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: location, friendly staff, close to train
Nice stay, clean and right in front of train station. However, you may hear train run by once in a while depending on where your room faces. I didn't notice it much myself. The hotel was a comfortable stay. Keep in mind it cost about $4-5 one way to take train to central amsterdam and same amount coming back to hotel which should be factor into total cost per day if u plan to travel out to central amsterdam each day. Otherwise, a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Dan from Florida

Overnight stay before leaving Amsterdam

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was very nice. The night shift clerk made breakfast earlier because he knew we were leaving before scheduled breakfast time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike & Sue from West Sussex, UK

Good value

Posted Jul 8, 2013
If I visit Amsterdam again I will definitely look here first. Easy to find, very welcoming, quiet, clean and comfortable (kettle in room). Free parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk into Bussum where some good restaurants - and the hotels ! Train station 20 metres and 9 Euro return to Amsterdam Central (if you like beer try Gollum)(Rijksmuseum 2.80 by tram- hour ticket - 10 minutes and stops outside). Yes the room are a little small - but no less comfortable than much larger and more expensive elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jordan from Los Angeles

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a great hotel, we decided to come to Amsterdam last minute and really the only option for us was Bastion, but we were very happy with the service and quality of the hotel. They let us check in early, everything was clean and we were pretty happy with everything. The only thing is our toilette started running constantly but it was because the flusher was loose, but nothing that really bothered us. Also, the train station is directly in front of the hotel which was perfect for us and we loved that, if you looking to book this hotel, I would say go for it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Surrey UK

Great location for train, small rooms

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stroll to trains to Amsterdam and airport and free parking. Need train or car to reach shops or restaurants. Quiet and good breakfast. Beware that station not manned and ticket machines only accept Maestro debit or coins - 2 returns to Amsterdam 18 euro. Seems to be a known problem as hotel refused to change 20e note for coins as did shops and bank in nearby town. Ended up getting passer by to charge to his card and paying him with note. Stupid system.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth what I paid for it.

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Expensive Breakfast Buffet
I like the hotel but the breakfast is expensive if you would like to partake. Other than that, the location was extremely convenient for what I needed to do.