Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Nice facilities but spartan room

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: It has a private beach access and pool.
Cons: Cleanliness of the room could be improved. The floor was sticky and there was insufficient towels for a triple share.
Location: Good location with nearby Flamingo Mall providing restaurants and shops for quick service.
The sumptuous lobby, pool and bar gave us the false impression that the room would match up to the overall hotel. Unfortunately, we should have expected things to be less ideal, upon driving into the hotel parking lot. There's no lift connecting any of the buildings, even the car park to the reception, and only 1 bellhop for the entire hotel. Rooms are difficult to reach as you had to traverse a series of up and down flights of stairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Old, small, a bit of charm but can't recommend

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly attentive bellboy, lobby furniture color scheme.
Cons: better bfast and cleaner furniture.
Location: Easy beach access
This hotel is under renovation and the name NYX will change so I doubt they care much about the reviews. You will hear and deal with typical construction. Rooms have NOISY forced central air. The humming and motor noise may drive you nuts. The lobby and restaurant furniture old and heavily stained. Difficult and tight parking access. Staff is nice and helpful. Maybe a nice place later but I would not recommend staying here now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
The hotel is about a three and a half star hotel. If for looking for A decent hotel to stay and not have to spend for the five star type, I would recommend this hotel. It is conveniently located not to far from the bar and night club section and close to A shopping center. Fyi. keep an eye on the porters handling your luggage when you first arrive at the hotel make shure they don't linger way behind They may try to go through it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Basic hotel but Perfect!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Everyting
Cons: Lift
Location: A very big mall La Isla and another craft market Flamingos
We had a a very nice time at this hotel is basic but clean and with a lovely beach with beds with an extra charge the only thing is doesn't has lift but is good if you like exercise, I will stay there again also is very close to the very nice mall (la isla). The breakfast buffet is amazing I can't complain at all. Two minutes from the bus stop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by The Management Team, Hotel Management
Hola Ella! So great to read you'll be coming back! We'll be looking forward to host you again. Best regards!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is good but experience was not good

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Lot of things. Already mentioned above
Location: La Isla Shopping village, some local street eating spots like Tacsun.
1. Refrigerator was always making loud noises. 2. Even complimentary water was not provided. 3. While i booked it was supposed to be all-inclusive, but I was told it isn't. 4. The entire room smelled like puke. 5. There were no English TV channels, so when you are not at beach there was nothing to entertain. 6. Even basic things like toothpaste were unavailable 7. Pathetic Wi-fi connection and only limited to lobby. 8. Bed-sheets and linen were dirty. There were rust markings on them 9. We reached early but were not allowed to checkin till 3PM
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by The Management Team, Hotel Management
Hola Sunit! Thank you for the interest shown in NYX Hotel Cancun! We appreciate the time you took to review us, we've been taking a proper look at the areas of opportunity you mentioned and we'll definetely include some of those items within our work plans. Best regards!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad installations

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Hate it! Bad rooms, no too much services, is close to the beach, no elevatior in some rooms, bad expirence,,,,,,,,..... Air contition fails The rooms was awful
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by The Management Team, Hotel Management
Hola! Sorry to read that you had a negative experience at NYX. About not having many services, here on Expedia, we do list all the services that we provide. We're confused as to what service you didn't receive. We'll keep on with the hard work in the hope of having a second opportunity to host you and change the idea you have of us. Best regards!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Beachfront white sand

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Awesome experience! Friendly staff, great breakfast buffet. I personally didn't like the spiral stairs. Wifi is strong in the lobby. This hotel is recommendable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by The Management Team, Hotel Management
Hola Woody! We're thrilled to read that you had such a positive experience at NYX Hotel Cancun. We hope that on your next visit to the area you think of us again as your place to stay. We would be glad to have the opportunity to host you again. Best regards!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom huntington beach

Great beach on hotel zone

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Nice hotel, in a great beach.
Cons: Your guest need to be left alone, and enjoy there vacation, as soon as I was taking a nap I was getting Harassed by hotel sponsored, vendors.
Hotel is on par with price, no elevators on side buildings stay on lower floor, Great beach BUT if your like me middle age man, you want some peace and quiet, when getting some ZZZs on the beach, YOU HAVE TIMESHARE PARASITES HOUNDING YOU ALL DAY, PHOTOSHOP PEOPLE HOUNDING YOU ALL DAY, MASSAGE PEOPLESSSS HOUNDING YOU ALL DAY, AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST THE BEACH VENDORS EVERY 5 minutes hounding you to buy!!!!!! I've been to cancun many times, first and last time here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by The Management Team, Hotel Management
Hola JJ! We appreciate your interest in NYX Hotel Cancun, and thank you for the time invested in reviewing your stay at us. However, we're sorry to read that your stay was apparently not up to your expectations. About the line where you mentioned being disturbed while on the beach, do let me inform you that beaches in Mexico are all public by law, and we can not control who comes by or not though the beach area that we take care off, but, and I want to be very clear on this, here at NYX Hotel CancĂșn, we do not have, and do not sell any sort of time share. Best regards!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Salinas, CA

Cancun Vacation

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The rooms were big and nice
Cons: The staff were rude, especially the people at the front desk. The front desk people need to be trained more on customer service or fired.
Location: the Location is good you are right on the beach and the Busses go up and down the strip for $1 per person and the busses run 24/7 you wont miss it.
I stayed from Sept 1 to Sept 8th 2014. If I ever go again Im gonna go to another Hotel. They charge you for water and there are no wash clothes, We went to Walmart to buy the things we needed . The pool and Jacuzzi is only open for certain hours, you should be able to get in the pool when ever you want if your on vacation. The Maids and some of the people in their restaurant were the nicest people, everybody else was rude or disrespectful especially the front desk. When we would come in late all the lights would be off in the Lobby, hall ways by the elevator it was like the Hotel was closed. I was thinking man these main lights should be on at least so people can see. The keys too the rooms were always not working so we had to go back and forth to the front desk like 2 or 3 times every time we got back to hotel. We checked out The Grand Park Royal Cancun Hotel and there hotel was really nice they dont charge you for water, they hook you up and they got good deals on becoming a member that will save you a ton of money, they gave us a few all inclusive tours for really cheap. If I go again Our family gonna stay at there hotel because they know how to treat people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by The Management Team, Hotel Management
Hola Danny! We're sorry to read that your stay at NYX Hotel Cancun was not up to your expectations. However, I would like to review a few of the points that you mention, since I know for sure it would be of great use for your future travel experiences. 1. Water charge, almost every hotel in the world, that is not an all inclusive will charge you for any beverage you request. During your reservation process you should have been given the choice with us of purchasing just a room (which includes only the room), or to get an all inclusive package that actually includes all meals and beverages in our restaurants and bars. If you had chosen the all inclusive, your experience would have been different. 2. Every room has one washcloth per person. 3. When do you think the swimming pool gets cleaned? It's during the night time. This hygiene process is actually for your own security, and, if you get to have the opportunity to travel to other places in the world that have a swimming pool, you will learn that all of them have an schedule for its use. 4. It would have been nice of you to mention what actions in specifict from our front desk staff were disrespectful to you. 5. At night we do not turn all the lights out, however, we dont have them all on for electricity saving purposes, but we always keep the lights in the alleys and front desk on, and then again, this is something that is made by not only everyhotel, but almost everyone that's responsible. Sorry if the light didn't seem to be enough for you. 6. About Park Royal, yes, they're our neighbors and their property is nice. You know why they do not charge you for water? Because they are an all inclusive only property. If you had purchased the all inclusive at NYX Hotel Cancun, you would have been given all the water you needed. Unfortunately most of your bad impressions were actually due to a lack of knowledge on your behalf on the services you had purchased, it seems to us that you're not the most experienced traveler there is. We do hope that with the time you do gain more experience on this matter, and reconsider your opinion about our property. Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom h

very nice beach

Posted Aug 22, 2014
We are really happy with this hotel the beach is nice clean .. they recive as with a drink and did are early check in .. thanks for that ..we had some friens visitiring and they did let them enter to are room I am very desappoinent because we were planning to have breakfast togeter
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2014 by The Management Team, Hotel Management
Hola! We're happy to read you enjoyed our fantastic beach. We thank you for the interest shown towards NYX Hotel Cancun. We hope that on your next visit to the area you think of us again as your option for a place to stay. We would be honored to have the opportunity to be your guests again. Best regards!