Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

cute guest house in AMAZING neigborhood !!!

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
both times i've been to Cape Town - i have stayed here .... if u are looking for a quaint neighborhood to stay in w/ good eats and shopping -- STAY HERE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Barbara from Austin, Tx

Great hotel!

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Safe, easy access area without being in tourist area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by mgood66

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stellenbosch

Great area to stay in!

Posted Mar 22, 2011
Great area, great restaurants and vibey. Room we got at the internet rate was a bit small and kind of in the basement with a window looking outside into a wall. Wil stay again, but will look at one of the lovely upstairs rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

On top of the hill...

Posted Nov 9, 2010 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed staying at the De Waterkant House. Three issues I had, which were very minor: 1. The hotel was located on a steep cobblestone hill (not very enticing to venture up after a long day of walking, after a few drinks, or if you are handicapped). 2. The room did not have air conditioning (even though I called before my arrival and asked if the room was air conditioned and the staff said yes it was air conditioned). 3. The cleaning staff needs to clean the carpet and drapes in the room (I saw water stains on the carpet and mold on the drapes). The house I stayed in had a full kitchen, dining room, living room, outside deck and small swimming / lounge pool. There were great views from the outside seating area. The house was half filled with guests during my stay. I didn't see another guest until day 2 of my stay. The home was quiet, clean, and relaxing. The first night I stayed I asked for a fan since it was warm the night I got there. The staff brought in a 6 foot floor fan that was so big (the blades were 2 feet long) and loud (like a small jet engine) that it drowned out the television. I would suggest that the hotel invest in a ceiling fan. My room was in the basement of this old renovated home.The room was quaint, clean but no views since I was stuck in the basement of the house. The hotel area was very safe. I saw security patrolling the grounds / neighborhood constantly all hours of the day. The area around the hotel is clean, beautiful and quiet. Within a block or two around the hotel area there are many restaurants and bars (straight and gay). There are also lovely restored upscale homes to look at, lots of boutique shopping and there is even an upscale grocery store in the mall. So if you don't want to go out and eat, you can always do a bit grocery shopping and cook your meal back at the hotel. The area is a bit pricey because of the upscale neighborhood. The hotel is close to all the attractions (waterfront & Bo Kaap / Long Street), close to the city center, and many other neighborhoods. To get to the hotel there is a shuttle bus that runs from the airport to the downtown convention center till about 9:00 p.m. Instead of paying for a taxi from the airport you can use the MyCiti shuttle bus to get to the convention center then take a cab to the hotel from the convention center. This will save you some money if you are on a frugal budget. It is half the price of a taxi. The hotel doesn't mention the MyCiti shuttle service and the staff will suggest using one of their taxi cab services. Overall, the experience I had in Capetown and with the hotel was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel for its price, quality, respectful staff and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, perfect location

Posted Aug 26, 2010
A very welcoming place. Quiet and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Very charming accommodation in a great location

Posted May 18, 2010 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the De Waterkant House (the guest house). It was really a charming place - the living room downstairs and my bedroom were furnished very well and comfortable, with quaint character. As another reviewer mentioned, it is not a hotel - so you don't have the 24-hour services like in a hotel. You have reception open from 7am-8pm, and housekeeping tidies the room in the morning. But overall, it was a great experience - the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

De Waterkant Village +++++ Cape Town, March 2010

Posted Apr 15, 2010
De Waterkant Village is actually all of the houses along two quiet blocks of Laoder Street, overlooking the area. I stayed in one of the houses which has 5 guest suites. The house and my room were very tastefully appointed and luxuriously comfortable, and clean. There was a communal kitchen, dining area, and a living room with big, comfy leather couches and a fireplace, as well as a surrounding outdoor deck and a small pool, just big enough to cool off in on a hot day. I didn't see anyone use the kitchen, as there are more excellent cafes & restaurants all within 3 blocks than I had time to try. The staff was especially friendly and accommodating, and there are a shelves filled with interesting books on Africa and Cape Town, as well as a host of other great books. (I could have stayed a few weeks just to read some of the books, and to try the other restaurants but there's so much more to do in Cape Town. The neighborhood is alive with art galleries and plenty of excellent places to eat, drink and be Mary. The breakfast that's included with some rooms is served at The Charles, just around the corner, and was top-notch. I would definitely stay there again, and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anglesey,Wales

"Security issues"

Posted Feb 18, 2010
Nice accommodation on 2 floors with patio outside.Very contemporary. Shower looked lovely,but not much water came out. Street outside noisy at night.Didn't feel very safe in the neighbourhood. Good restaurants nearby and bars and not far to Waterfront. Just didn't sleep much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

De Waterkant Village

Posted Feb 17, 2010
The only negative was being directly across from a restaurant that has late night patio seating that made it noisy until about midnight. Any other of their properties away from this restaurant would have been a lot quieter. Other than that, we were happy to have an entire two story apartment and a full breakfast. The location was convenient to everything and very charming.