Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good for young people to enjoy night life

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: security, noise barrier, breakfast
Location: lots of bars around
the window lock was broken, it has been fixed, i come to my room 2 days later and window was open very noisy from outside but very good location if you wanna go out and party or shopping you had to go for breakfast out of the hotel - poor breakfast, no reception area to hang around or no bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Casey from Chicago

In the middle of the action

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Location, The room was very nice, the view
Cons: The noise kind of keeps you up , I enjoyed having something to do all the time
Location: Greemarket Square, The Parliament, The Bo Kaap area, The district 6 museum, Down town Cape town, Signal Hill,The fort(take the tour the Guide is great
Great room for a person who likes being in the hotspots. Centrally located on a street that never sleeps. The location by Greenmarket square was amazing(take lots of money if you like african art). The bars were great but not a lot of good beers. The food was okay around the area. Gets kind of shady @ night but still a good time. My guide Jeff was the bomb. You are in walking distance of everything downtown.
2 out of 5
by Gerwyn from San Ramon, CA

Urban maybe, but far from Chic

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Location: Many rowdy bars.
Poor arrival experience. Poor parking requiring carrying luggage from a separate building to the hotel in the rain. No luggage assistance available. Poor restaurant. The supposedly non-smoking room smelled heavily of smoke - as did all the common areas in the hotel
2 out of 5
by LJ from South Africa Durban

Urban Chic Needs Help

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Location was close to lots of things, staff was very friendly and breakfast was pleasant
Cons: Noise control, parking to unload luggage without being attacked by parking attendants and testing things out like air conditioning was poor
Location: Lots of shopping and if you are a party person, lots of bars, good craft area for local items can be found and some nice cafe's
The Staff was very nice however the loud music coming from both the bar and the street is not recommended for people who have put those days behind them. I am a professional and do not get much chance for vacation and that includes a good night sleep which was not possible any of the days I stayed at the Hotel, very noisy, Hotel staff even knows this and all the rooms they put me in was on the street side which was loud till 4 or 5 am everyday. Parking in fron to unload your bags was also disappointing and cost me money just to unload from the street patrol who collect parking fees, this needs to be addressed as luggage is important to have.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Craig from Johannesburg

Not ideal if you need to rest

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Long Street in Cape Town is a party mecca. That said, this hotel is in the heart of the scene and surrounded by drug dealers, drunken backpackers, and other "characters." The hotel itself is fine. Nothing exciting. Beds are comfy and the bathrooms are superbly outfitted (except mine was missing toilet paper... easily remedied). TV didn't really work while I was there, so I watched Mandela's memorial on my laptop. Noise levels are HIGH and carry on until the wee hours of the morning. If you want to party, this is your spot. If you need to sleep before 3am, give it a skip.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by arun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Loulou from London

Fantastic city hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: The bathroom, the bar and the view
Cons: Noisy from 10pm to 4/5am - ask for upper floors.
Location: Very central and perfect for short Cape Town break - not for older couples who hate noise.
I knew from the reviews that this hotel was going to be noisy at pub/club times. This is the absolute only issue anyone should find with this hotel. I picked it specifically as I was a woman travelling on my own - I was immediately put at ease when walking through the door and engaging with the receptionist. I later popped down for a quick drink in the bar and again felt like I was amongst friends and very comfortable. The following I thought to be exceptional - * Customer Service - I arrived late and the kitchen was closed but was still offered a burger which was absolutely delicious. * The bathroom and bedroom were of a very high quality, I loved the mosaic shower! * The view was amazing and the bed so comfortable. * Very central, walk to the markets and station All in all, I had a wonderful 5 night stay and would recommend to any young couples or single travellers. Families may have an issue with the noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by cbeverly from Atlanta, GA

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I found the Urban Chic to be a wonderful find in a hotel. The room was very nice with a great view of the mountain and of Long Street which was vibrant with laughter and sounds from the people enjoying themselves WAY into the night. You could hear them in your room if you had an outside window which was really wonderful because of the view- but the sound was not bad at all - it was like you being in your room with a party up the hall. ( I would say that this hotel would be more of my choice for the weekend or high seasons because during the week night and winter seasons Long Street is kind of empty at night but really sparks during the weekend). The free breakfast was good and it was cute that during the evening 3-6 they offered comp. slices of cake and coffee. I must also add that the internet signal was better than that of other hotels that I visited. They even had bathrobes. Overall I rated this property high based upon my room and service vs. cost. Give it a try!!
3 out of 5
by Young couple from London, UK

Disappointing :-(

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: style of room with a screen to separate the bath tub and wet area.
Cons: Noise and quality of breakfast and products.
Location: On Long Street surrounded by bars
This hotel is 4* but we did not feel it met the stadard. The reception staff are fabulous. The room was not cleaned very thoroughly but a great style of room (luxury Queen). The products were cheap and the one time I had not brought my own. Breakfast was basic, chopped fruit salad, cup cakes that looked like they had been made from a packet mix. Yogurt, cereal cheese and meat with pre-sliced bread. Fresh coffee was served. But service was slow, again really nice staff. The windows did not keep the sounds of Long Street to a minimum infact it felt like we were at the party all night!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Breakfast sucks and the hotel is on Long Street. It will was very loud every night. We actually danced in our room one nice to the music from across the street. It was like we were in the bar it was that loud. I'm not kidding. If you need sleep, pick a different hotel. There are also no doors on the bathroom, so if you don't mind pooping in front of others go for it. The staff is very helpful with tours, places to eat, cabs, etc. They were a big help!