Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Hanno

good breakfast, wifi problems

Posted Jan 23, 2014
I had problems to connect to the free wifi, after an hour of trial and error, i connected my cell phone but the connection only lasted 30 or 45 minutes. the laptop computer never connected. next day breakfast was good, enough to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel lobby was impressive. Breakfast was fantastic. Huge variety. Booked in at 4 pm and asked to make a reservation for dinner. Was told the restaurant was fully booked. However we were able to order room service. Not as nice but better than going hungry. Room (of course) was not as big as it looked on the internet and the first room we were given had people in it already! We stayed here as it was less expensive than staying at Titisee and not too far away. Couldn't get the internet to work even after taking the computer down to the front desk but we would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ezio from Geneve

A taste of 60s on Danube source

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Cons: Personnel could be more helpful and kind
The hotel overlooks the Danube (or better the Brigach). Rooms are nice and rather large. Location is slightly outside the village, you have to cross the railway and the Danube (the second one being much easier to cross) to go "downtown". It is a totally oversized facility for the little town of Donauschingen, with some taste of Soviet style resort (large and empty spaces). The hotel looked apparently desert, but very nice inside. The personnel was not very good, I wanted a room on the Danube and the lady made some passive resistance to give it to me (claiming the existance of noise of the road !) but then I got what I wanted. I asked for information about the town (how to visit the source of Danube) and I was addressed to an empty desk full of brochures ... well this also fits the soviet style ... Anyway it's difficult to get lost in the town so ... In conclusion the place was nice, good breakfast, large spaces, cheap price ... what more ?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Piotr from Poland

Great hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Fantastic staff, good food, free parking and Internet. What can you want more? One side of the hotel faces local rail tracks - it didn't bother me at all (not so loud and small traffic) but if you are especially sensitive and sleep with windows open, you may want to ask them for the room on the opposite side, should be perfectly quite and the air is nice from all the nature surrounding the place.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by michel from ireland

tourist tax

Posted Apr 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had to pay tourist tax as an extra by checking out. Hotels.com say on the site; included tax, we complained, to no avail. This was the first time so far in our 6 week trip, this shows in my opinion a negative side of the hotel-management. We have paid now 2 times the tourist tax. For this reason the overall rating is 2.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Gail from Toronto, Canada

Hotel needs help

Posted Mar 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Grand old hotel with great potential but as it is today lacks personel and service.We checked out early and would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Convenient for Business

Posted Mar 28, 2011
We are in Donaueschingen on business and find that the Carlton is very convenient - both in terms of location and comfort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Z├╝rich, Switzerland

Not impressed

Posted Aug 20, 2010
It is unfortunate but the hotel did not meet my expectations. I found some of the staff unfriendly and unprofessional. However, the food in the hotel was excellent. The decor was tired, the rooms not well cleaned or maintained for a hotel of this standard. Overall a disappointing experience and we will not be returning.