Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location not for sight-seers

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Fine for sleeping, but not for sightseeing. That is the ONLY reason for not recommending this hotel to a friend.
Cons: Better computers. Difficult to print out boarding passes. Was able to use computer at main desk.
Location: Fuel - restaurant from a converted gas station. Along shuttle route on Rutledge. Good food - not near downtown though.
The hotel was fine -- no major complaints. The main issue was that it is far away from all the sights and restaurants that you want to see when you visit Charleston. There is a shuttle stop a few feet from the front of the hotel, but it runs about every 20 minutes and takes about 15 minutes to get to the "downtown" area (Charleston Visitors Center - other hotels - museum - shopping - tours, etc.). If you need a hotel near either the VA Hospital or MUSC (major Charleston hospital...don't know the full name), then this a a good hotel at which to stay. Parking could be tricky, but for the most part you don't need your car when visiting Charleston. The free shuttle (there are 3) take you most of the places you'd want to go. The people were very nice. The weather (early April) was lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent downtown location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Reasonable rates
Cons: Bathroom needs a update...but very clean
The hotel was in a good location...nice walk to downtown during te daylight hours...definitely take a taxi home at night. Across the street from MUSC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by manny from virginia

Value for money is good.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The breakfast is much better than in other hotels of same category.
Cons: Check-in time at 3 pm is too late. Move check-in time to at the latest 2 pm.
Location: The location is far from the historic city where the action is. Nothing much to do.
The distance to historic downtown is a good fifteen minute ride from the hotel. However the free shuttle service every 30 minutes. provided by the city has a bus stop just 20 meters away from hotel.
3 out of 5
by crystal from greenville sc

Needs repairs

Posted Mar 28, 2014
The fan made a knocking noise, the room smelled wierd, the frig wouldn't stay closed and started rattling during the night,the ice maker was out of order and wifi kept going out.
2 out of 5
by Bernie from Dorchester, SC

Disappointing and overpriced

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The staff knowledge and mannerism, the breakfast, the a/c units.
Location: Nothing really close by actually except Wendy's and Burger King.
The hotel was over priced and disappointing. The rooms a/c unit did not function properly, the staff was rather rude when I phoned about the check in time and tried to explain we would be in around 6pm. The woman who answered the phone was gruff and abrupt in her tone. The staff was not helpful as to places to find some Tylenol or aspirin. The breakfast bar biscuits were as hard as rocks. I would not recommend this hotel nor will we stay in this facility again anytime in the future.
3 out of 5
by mo from Nashville

Poor housekeeping service

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The Assistant GM was service oriented and apologetic when I brought the issues to her attention.
Cons: Housekeeping and general service training of the staff.
Location: I was in town for business and were away from the hotel all day both days.
I stayed three nights and two days at this hotel. My room did not get cleaned at all the first day. When I got back to my room at 7:30 PM, It appeared that no one had even entered my room as my bed was not made, trash baskets were still full and my bathroom dirty with the used towels still on the floor. I asked to speak with a manager and F/D told me there was no one on duty, but she will pass on the news to them next day. I insisted that someone brings me fresh towels and empty my trash, which a houseman showed up and did. The 2nd day the room was cleaned but a badly stained and dirty bath mat was left in the bathroom on the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location to historic district

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Comfortable stay. Excellent breakfast. Easy access from highway. Close to historic district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Mar 2, 2014
We got a large room with a fridge and microwave for a great price. The staff were very friendly. There was some construction which caused long waits for the elevator. There is a trolley stop steps away from the hotel entrance which mafe it convenient to use the free public transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carolnw from MI

Above average for value, excellent, friendly staff

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: General facility could use updating.
Location: Free shuttle service to historic district.
Very helpful staff, near major roads, best breakfast hostess ever with good quality and variety.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from Boston

Adequate lodging close to MUSC

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Room was comfortable, staff was pleasant, price was right.
Cons: Deodorize the hallways, elevators, lobby.
Location: Short walk to the Medical University of South Carolina
Perfectly adequate hotel, considering the room rate, for a short visit. I needed a hotel near MUSC; this was the closest. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. There was no hot water my first morning, so I had to take a cool shower. The second morning, there was no heat in the eating area. The hallway smelled musty and dirty. My room was next door to a large room used by the hotel for storage. Junk was piled high in that room. There was a poor smell coming from the room, and the door was open all day long, contributing to the musty smell in the hallway.