Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Close to Cleveland Clinic.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff, and price.
Cons: Cleanliness, and the Continental Breakfast.
Location: The location was great for the purpose of our visit, which was going to Cleveland Clinic. It is also very close to The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.
I chose University Hotels and Suites because of the very reasonable price, and closeness to Cleveland Clinic, being the primary reason for our visit to the city. The staff was very friendly, the room was adequate for our short stay, it however could have been cleaner. We have to go back in a few weeks for my husband's surgery, and I will more than likely choose this hotel due to price, and closeness to the hospital.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Highly Disappointed!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Not much!
Cons: Not much!
Location: Excellent location to points east and west! That's about it!
I was really disappointed with this hotel. The internet picture is rather deceiving. My skin has developed some kind of condition which I did not have prior to my stay. I will never book this hotel ever! I could say more, but why !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

I travel constantly and this is ............

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The parking was free.
Cons: They need to invest in the comfort of their guests and stop being cheap
Location: There is nothing to do within the immediate area around the hotel but downtown Cleveland is about 2 miles away
the worst hotel experience I have ever had. They claimed to have free wifi but it never worked in the room. Always had to go to the front desk for towels. The room was always half cleaned (one bed made, garbage not being removed). The free breakfast was frozen waffles, fruit loops and oatmeal with no way to heat it up. I will never stay at this hotel chain again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K Vegas

Nice accommodations for the price.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Free continental breakfast was acceptable. Time frame offered was accommodating. Room very clean but some updating couldn't hurt, such as the tile in bathroom and the grout. The frig was awesome! Very nice to have freezer capability, TV was great, speed of elevators definitely a plus. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and we're very accommodating. Thank you for a nice weekend at the University Hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near downtown Cleveland

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The manager was doing his best. Poor trained staff.
Cons: Dont allow dogs, clean the carpet, fine smokers. train staff on how to speak with guests. Lower price!
Location: Close to downtown
Poor... smelled of smoke... they had signs everywhere - NO SMOKING
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

The worst hotel experience I've had in the U.S.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The room was unclean: food in the drawers, beds slept in, carpets stained, hole in bathroom ceiling, missing pieces to the coffee pot. I was afraid staying there because of the other clientele and the seedy, dinginess of the hotel. I checked out and changed hotels as soon as possible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty and old.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
very dirty and old. Sheets had holds in them. Bathroom very disgusting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

My Stay

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: TV controller did not work and had to manually push TV button to change channels
Location: Good amenities
Hotel room had signs of wear but staff was efficient and management helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best place in town, seedy clientele

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Lonnie, the front desk clerk.
Cons: The housekeeping, security and the open windows (which I think are against the law).
Location: Run for your life.
I based my booking on the name, thinking it was close to CWRU. Unfortunately it was in a seedier part of town near CSU. Immediately upon pulling in, my wife saw open windows and clientele that was suspect. I went in to check it out and, while waiting to check in, heard the clerk apologizing to one of the patrons about the lack of sheets on the bed. I started checking my phone for another hotel, yet my turn came up, I decided to check in since we were staying only one night, the price was right and we only needed a place to sleep. Lonnie, the front desk clerk, was wonderful as he saw my concern and let me check my room first. Upon entering, the sheets and bedspreads were balled up in the middle of the bed. Lonnie gave me another room which was acceptable, but when I returned to the car, my wife insisted that we find another hotel and my son threatened to go get hurt so he could spend the night in the hospital if we stayed there. We did find another hotel, and Lonnie was very gracious in refunding my money. If it wasn't for him, I'd give it a zero.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: the cost.
Cons: everything
Location: close to public transportation but not the best area
Terrible cleaning crew, especially on the weekends. Coffee maker stank. Curtains broken. Air conditioner noisy. Water pressure bad. Cold water not working in shower. Hallways smell of cigarets. Unfriendly staff. Terrible Wifi - not always working. After a week of complaining, and a bathroom ceiling that was leaking, they "upgraded me to a suite." Later I found out all the regular rooms were booked, so they had no choice. I'm praying that I didn't get bed bugs and strongly suggest dropping their rating on your website.