Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location, average rooms

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Location of the hotel was excellent. Very close to lovely cafés, restaurants and shopping. The single room was very small. Though the bed was comfortable, the cupboards, bathroom & carpet was quite drab-looking and old. You get what you pay for. Breakfast was satisfactory with scrambled eggs and hard boiled eggs included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel walking distance from city centre

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Good value.
Hotel staff very helpful. Rooms basic but clean. Nice breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in quiet location

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: convenient location.
We stayed 5 nights and would use hotel again.Near to all the shopping areas and tourist sites. Breakfast buffet good and room small but adequate for short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ralf from New Haven

Cheap hotel in great location

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: AWESOME location in the heart of the city. Friendly stuff. Free WiFi. Free breakfast.
Cons: Rooms are very small. Beds only twin-sized. You can certainly get nicer hotels if you are willing to pay twice as much. (Yes, twice as much!)
Location: Party area at Zuelpicher Platz, Cologne Cathedral, Neumarkt and shopping street Schildergasse, Rudolfplatz, romanesque churches and museums, Old Town
I booked this hotel for the second time now and I am still very happy with the decision. It is the optimal hotel for those who travel on a tight budget. The Hotel Leonet is BY FAR the cheapest hotel I could find anywhere close to Cologne city center and its location is its biggest plus. It is located between the student party mile "Zuelpicherplatz/Zuelpicherstrasse" (10 min. walking distance) and "Rudolfplatz" (5 min. walking distance) with its medieval gate Hahnentorburg. The major travelling hub in Cologne called "Neumarkt" is also very close (15 min. walking distance) and from there most subways, trams, and many buses depart. Wherever you want to go in the city, you can start from Neumarkt. The major shopping area around Schildergasse also starts at Neumarkt. Cologne Cathedral, Roman-Germanic Museum (history), Walraff-Richartz Museum (art), Rautenstrauch-Joest Museum (culture), the old city hall, and various romanesque churches are about 20-40 min. walking distance. Thus, the Hotel Leonet is located in the heart of the city! The hotel is clean and the staff has always been extremely friendly and accomodating. The rooms have everything that is necessary but they are small and NOT LUXURIOUS. I read a couple complained about the hotel after spending their honeymoon there. This is not a hotel for a honeymoon but for someone who wants a cheap vacation! The hotel has free WiFi and a free breakfast, which is decent but I admit I have eaten better. But hey, its FREE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Oxford

Reasonably-priced hotel in good location

Posted May 27, 2014
We stayed for 3 nights, very pleasant hotel, reasonably priced. Room very good, all conveniences except kettle, quite a small bathroom but all clean and new. Breakfast very good, buffet incl. scrambled eggs. Lift, wi-fi, bar. 25 minutes walk from Dom, or just a couple of minutes from Rudolfplatz tram and from a LIdl supermarket. We tried the small sauna, 10€ for two, never found out how to get into jacuzzi room though. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Some noise from pubs a couple of streets away on the Friday and Saturday night - used my earplugs!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Supersonic from London

Excellent Budget Hotel

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Location, Price,Breakfast Included. Close to everything. Very inexpensive for a City centre Hotel.
Cons: Shower curtain was useless and we flooded the bathroom every time.
Location: All the sites, loved the cable Car and the 1 hour Rhine cruise. Loved the centre,very vibrant and buzzy.
I was unsure what we were going to get for the money we paid, but was pleasantly surprised, good location near everything and lots of shops and bars etc., About a 20 minute walk into the centre of Cologne or an easy tram/tube ride. Our room was clean and spacious although the bathroom is a bit pokey. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. All in all i would go again as the price was so reasonable. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a good nights sleep and it was quiet, we were on the 4th floor at the back. Loved Cologne and would certainly love to go again, would probably stay at this Hotel too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review. We are delighted that you had a nice time in Cologne. We would be glad to welcome you again. Faithfully Yours Leonet Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from London

Great location near city center

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Quiet but central location, comfy bed
Cons: Fix the sauna, replace old fashioned lift, replace tinned fruit salad with fresh in breakfast room, offer croissants and improve coffee
Location: Very close to city centre/old town, great transport links, nearby Mauritius hotel has great spa facilities (as hotel's sauna was broken)
The hotel was easy to find as it's close to a number of tram, bus and U bahn stops (nearest Neumarkt). It was clean with comfortable beds, though the feather pillows were very flat (and no spares in the wardrobe). Luckily, we were put in a triple room although it was just me and my partner and we used the extra pillow from the third bed. The bathroom was very small and only had a shower (no bath). When we asked if we could get a room with a bigger bathroom we were told that they are all the same. So if you're not too fussy, it's an ok place to stay. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. They make great scrambled eggs but the coffee wasn't so great. Also, the earlier you go, the better chance you have of getting some fresh fruit. Otherwise it's tinned fruit salad. Their sauna is not fixed, although the website suggests that it's been renewed (March 2014). We tried the spa in the nearby Mauritius hotel which was great, although it costs around 17 euros/person for 4 hours. The hotel will lend you towels so you don't need to rent and take your own shampoo/shower gel as they don't provide any. There are lots of restaurants nearby. Would recommend the L'Osteria Italian place with huge pizzas at good price.The rooms are quiet despite the central location and the many bars nearby that are open late. Very gay friendly area/town. Also, you'll find shops and supermarkets within a few minutes walk and it's a very safe place to walk around even at night. Would recommend.
1 out of 5
by mihoub from portsmouth

Very bad place and I will never go there again

Posted Feb 21, 2014
The staff at the hotel were terrible . I got treated very badly by the reception staff in particular .. This lady who was nasty and shouting at me every time I asked for my room key .. I was with my whole family and it was very bad experience .. I will never go to this hotel ever again.. The lady mentioned was working late nights
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from London

Good city centre location

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff. Breakfast.
Cons: The mattress on single bed needs to be thicker/ firmer
I normally stay around the cathedral area but actually preferred this area close to busy Rudolfplatz ( trams, shopping, restaurants) . Hotel staff friendly and helpful ( although I didn't get the clothes hangers I requested). Room serviced daily . Breakfast reasonable and the hot filter coffee flask for each table was a nice touch. Did have to wait for half hour for a table at the weekend otherwise no issues and it's nice that they extend breakfast until 10.30 am. I had a single room. Adequate but the mattress too flimsy causing a few aches but shower was nice and had instant hot water. Overall a good room. There was a bit of a damp smell by the lift on floor 2. I fell ill on this trip ( not the hotels fault) and spent 2 days and nights out my 5 in my room , was not disturbed by any noise at all during my extended sleeping periods. I would return here again but next time go for a double bed as the single isn't comfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Scott from USA

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Positives: cost, friendly staff, and location; Negatives: smell and cleanliness. The front desk attendant was friendly and the lobby was nice; however, once entering the tower I stayed in, I was knocked over by a musty/chemical smell that permeated the building and my room. The window opened so I immediately aired out my room. The room could have used a thorough cleaning and the linens could use a changing (holes in the pillowcase and towels). The location was great - near the Rudolfplatz underground, shopping, and a brisk, twenty-minute walk to the Dom. The hotel was chosen because it was very affordable, but I can't say that I would stay again.