Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lost power and plumbing

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The rooms are large and clean, but there was no power in the hotel most of the time we were there also no functioning plumbing. We ended up checking out at midnight and going to a different hotel. The electrical system for the hotel needs upgraded badly!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to COSI

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The beds were just super.
Cons: Towel racks. More housekeeper attentiveness to room.
Location: We came for COSI; OSU nearby.
The hotel is very close to COSI and the Spaghetti Warehouse for a quick, decent meal. The beds in the room were great and they were the best thing. We had two towel sets (no wash cloths) for 4 people. There are no towel racks at all in the bathroom; one hand towel ring that falls off the wall. The paper coffee cups had stains in them. It was an exorbitant price, all in all, compared to comparable rooms in large city hotels and the way it was maintained. The reason that I would stay again is for location, and we come for a short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs Co

Double Tree Suites - Columbus Ohio 8/1/14

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The room was a one bedroom suite, very nice accommodations, very clean, very convenient and a lot of amenities. The hotel staff went above and beyond.
Location: Down town Columbus, the Columbus Zoo, restaurants.
We had to attend an event in another city where the hotels were sold out due to multiple sporting events. Expedia showed the Double Tree Suites available for the dates I needed. A two hour drive from my event. We were so pleased at the staff and hotel accommodations and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Nice, large, clean room.
The staff was friendly and the room was much larger than I thought it would be. Also, although it was downtown, it was within walking distance of restaurants and the COSI museum. I had a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great potential hotel ruined by bad service

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Night service terrible ask for pillows no show next day room was not cleaned and took 2 hours to get replacement lining only after I went to front desk and demanded them although day staff was nice will not be staying there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland,ohio

Very nice stay

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The hotel was wonderful my room was wonderful the staff were wonderful. The only thing that wasn't wonderful was the fact that my bathroom was not clean there was a washcloth in the shower and my door lock kept sticking out making it impossible to close the door properly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Cons: This may be something small but I did not like the soap. It was cheap and had a rough texture to it.
Location: Red White and Boom
Had a great time. Good location and clean and nice accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Let Double Tree Suites Exceed Your Expectations!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The friendly and accommodating staff, the room, the view, the food, late check out, the location, the attached parking garage.
Cons: Everything met or exceeded our expectations.
Location: The view of the Federal Justice Department, with it's art and fountain is nice and so it the view of the Scioto River and Broad Street bridge.
Double Tree Suites was conveniently located to our planned weekend destinations. We arrived earlier than the usual 4pm check-in time and requested a room facing west, toward Front Street. Their wonderful employee, Kelsean, I believe her badge identified her as the receptionist supervisor, she was very accommodating. She contacted housekeeping immediately and someone was sent to make sure a room was ready for us. This was the 3rd of July so several other guests had arrived early and were also asking questions and making special requests. Through it all, Ms. Kelsean remained friendly, calm and took the time to answer every question that was asked. She was so friendly and seemed to join in the spirit of everyone's excitement! While I waited for housekeeping to contact Ms. Kelsean I walked to the Capital Room to buy a cup of coffee. A lady (I wish I had gotten her name) gave me a complimentary cup of coffee to go. Your staff makes all the difference as to where we will stay when we return and we will choose to stay at this Double Tree Suites. In addition to your staff, the attached parking garage was convenient and safe. Our room was beautiful, spacious, comfortable and the view was stunning!!! Four of our friends came for dinner at the Capitol room (delicious food!) and they stayed for the fireworks and long enough for the traffic to clear. Thank you all for making our stay enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice, clean, comfortable place, but . . .

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Access to a good gym. Easy parking (in and out for $22/day). Close enough to restaurants, etc.
Cons: Either more staff or better trained staff. Food quality and room service.
Location: 5 minute drive to restaurants, convention center, science museum (kind of lame).
Staffers, friendly and mostly eager to please. But perhaps they aren't properly trained, or they're understaffed. It took four or five requests over more than four hours to get linens for the fold-out. (Fold out was as bad as they can be, but who expects any better?) Room service simply didn't answer the phone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Epic Fail on Customer Retention.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice for the most part. A cart came around on Saturday morning asking if we needed anything. We did, coffee he had some on his cart
Cons: Doesn't matter, due to no response from company on their complaints I will never stay at that brand. the other people with me also feel the same way.
Location: Location was actually pretty good. Short cab rides to where we were or a short walk.
Our room was 80 degrees and muggy. The thermostat was set on 60 when we checked in, but was at least 78. Complained 3 times to front desk. Complained Friday before heading out for evening. I do not believe anyone was sent up. We complained Saturday morning to front desk, she sent someone up while we were out. He changed the temp from 60 to 65, making the room over 80 at this point. I called front desk as soon as I entered the room. He sent maintenance up and he opened it up. He told us someone had disconnected the water line and should be fixed now. He was wrong, it maintained 80 and muggy. No one offered any real solution or assistance. We had no AC in our room for our entire stay. We emailed GM like we were told upon check out. He was emailed on June 23rd, we still have had no response. We filed a formal complaint on company website on June 27th. They claim we would have a response in 24-48 hours. We still have not heard back from them on July 1st. Our key lock also stopped working and took them over 30 minutes to fix on Saturday night. They only placed towels for 2 people in a Suite with King Bed and Pull out couch. Also, no one came into make the bed on Saturday. I had worked in Hospitality for over 10 years and this was not protocol to ignore customer complaints that are as serious as this. AC is very important in mid June. Not too mention this trip cost me a lot for 2 nights of room and parking. I will not ever return and will tell as many people of my experience.