Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland,ohio

Very nice stay

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The hotel was wonderful my room was wonderful the staff were wonderful. The only thing that wasn't wonderful was the fact that my bathroom was not clean there was a washcloth in the shower and my door lock kept sticking out making it impossible to close the door properly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Cons: This may be something small but I did not like the soap. It was cheap and had a rough texture to it.
Location: Red White and Boom
Had a great time. Good location and clean and nice accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Let Double Tree Suites Exceed Your Expectations!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The friendly and accommodating staff, the room, the view, the food, late check out, the location, the attached parking garage.
Cons: Everything met or exceeded our expectations.
Location: The view of the Federal Justice Department, with it's art and fountain is nice and so it the view of the Scioto River and Broad Street bridge.
Double Tree Suites was conveniently located to our planned weekend destinations. We arrived earlier than the usual 4pm check-in time and requested a room facing west, toward Front Street. Their wonderful employee, Kelsean, I believe her badge identified her as the receptionist supervisor, she was very accommodating. She contacted housekeeping immediately and someone was sent to make sure a room was ready for us. This was the 3rd of July so several other guests had arrived early and were also asking questions and making special requests. Through it all, Ms. Kelsean remained friendly, calm and took the time to answer every question that was asked. She was so friendly and seemed to join in the spirit of everyone's excitement! While I waited for housekeeping to contact Ms. Kelsean I walked to the Capital Room to buy a cup of coffee. A lady (I wish I had gotten her name) gave me a complimentary cup of coffee to go. Your staff makes all the difference as to where we will stay when we return and we will choose to stay at this Double Tree Suites. In addition to your staff, the attached parking garage was convenient and safe. Our room was beautiful, spacious, comfortable and the view was stunning!!! Four of our friends came for dinner at the Capitol room (delicious food!) and they stayed for the fireworks and long enough for the traffic to clear. Thank you all for making our stay enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice, clean, comfortable place, but . . .

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Access to a good gym. Easy parking (in and out for $22/day). Close enough to restaurants, etc.
Cons: Either more staff or better trained staff. Food quality and room service.
Location: 5 minute drive to restaurants, convention center, science museum (kind of lame).
Staffers, friendly and mostly eager to please. But perhaps they aren't properly trained, or they're understaffed. It took four or five requests over more than four hours to get linens for the fold-out. (Fold out was as bad as they can be, but who expects any better?) Room service simply didn't answer the phone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Epic Fail on Customer Retention.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice for the most part. A cart came around on Saturday morning asking if we needed anything. We did, coffee he had some on his cart
Cons: Doesn't matter, due to no response from company on their complaints I will never stay at that brand. the other people with me also feel the same way.
Location: Location was actually pretty good. Short cab rides to where we were or a short walk.
Our room was 80 degrees and muggy. The thermostat was set on 60 when we checked in, but was at least 78. Complained 3 times to front desk. Complained Friday before heading out for evening. I do not believe anyone was sent up. We complained Saturday morning to front desk, she sent someone up while we were out. He changed the temp from 60 to 65, making the room over 80 at this point. I called front desk as soon as I entered the room. He sent maintenance up and he opened it up. He told us someone had disconnected the water line and should be fixed now. He was wrong, it maintained 80 and muggy. No one offered any real solution or assistance. We had no AC in our room for our entire stay. We emailed GM like we were told upon check out. He was emailed on June 23rd, we still have had no response. We filed a formal complaint on company website on June 27th. They claim we would have a response in 24-48 hours. We still have not heard back from them on July 1st. Our key lock also stopped working and took them over 30 minutes to fix on Saturday night. They only placed towels for 2 people in a Suite with King Bed and Pull out couch. Also, no one came into make the bed on Saturday. I had worked in Hospitality for over 10 years and this was not protocol to ignore customer complaints that are as serious as this. AC is very important in mid June. Not too mention this trip cost me a lot for 2 nights of room and parking. I will not ever return and will tell as many people of my experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Excellent!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: CLEAN & neat. Not too many restaurants and floor lay out is weird. You have to take elevator up to lobby/reception desk. Parking is in weird place too
Cons: Staff morale seems to be low. Being involved in leadership development, it staff may be reflecting the manager but that is just my speculation.
Location: Only nearby restaurant is the sandwich shop. Hardly any restaurants walking distance, esp when it's late. Our best bet was ordering pizza, yuck.
My husband and I were on a business trip & stayed here many times on our visits to Columbus. Their staff service is always great no matter how busy they are they still do their best to accomodate. It is always very clean which is a MUST for me. This review is for my most recent visit: this last visit I am giving them 4 stars but it usu. would be 5. When we checked-in my husband (he's a social butterfly) hit it off with one of the receptionists which scored us extra cookies. Great way to turn my tired traveling frown upside down! When we got up to our asssigned room we couldn't open the door. Seems as if it was locked? We went back down and quickly got reassigned. The week we visited there were multiple conventions and parades going on so they were super busy and I think the staff handled it as best they could. You could tell they were a bit overwhelmed because my calls to the front desk would go unanswered and when we did request for towels, etc. it took awhile to get them but no biggie. Seems they were short staffed. We booked our reservations through expedia and was already paid for. We checked out and had no charges to our room. When we returned home there was a charge on our credit card for our whole stay at Doubletree! We have been calling between Expedia and the hotel and both firms have been transferring us all over the place. We finally got it resolved today. Keep in mind, even though we had difficulties all staff members we talked to were very courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Jun 16, 2014
My fiancé and I stayed for two nights and it was a great place. The room was large and the amenities were nice. There is a nice walk way next to the river across the street which was nice. Only complaint would be parking is 22$ a day which seems slightly steep but I'm sure it's similar other places in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Clarion Pa

Came to Columbus for Il Divo concert

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: It was convenient to our plans
Cons: Free Wifi
Location: Found Columbus to be very clean. German village good. Schmidt's excellent just walking the streets and looking at the buildings. Bikes to rent.
Hotel was located very close to Palace Theatre. Jeremy whom checked us in excellent in customer service. Had a room looking to river cookies delicious room clean and comfortable
2 out of 5
by mad from guy

Over priced

Posted May 19, 2014
Overpriced. Charge you more for parking since you are stayig in hotel. If you don't stay in hotel you can park in same garage for much less money. I said wait its not that much to park here, lady said too late they already charged it to your room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel and staff

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: close to everything in downtown area
Cons: room cleanlyness
Location: everything in walking distance
overall very pleasing , room itself had plenty of dust on woodwork and furniture in room