Ratings based on 906 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Right on the beach
Cons: Facility and customer service
Location: Location is perfect. Really close to shops and restaurants.
The hotel is right on the beach but there is a war ship next to it and big industrial ships pass across the beach every time (total eye sore). It is not what you want to see during your vacation. We rented two rooms, one of the room (room 719) the air conditioner did not work. No air vent in rest rooms. Front desk customer service could be a little more accommodating.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach and area atractions
Cons: The renovations need to be redone so they actually look good.
Location: On the beach, walking distance to the USS Lexington, Texas State aquarium. Close to a restaurant.
The hotel is right on the beach. It smells like the ocean. The renovated rooms were quickly and poorly done. The rooms take forever to cool down when you open the balcony door. The drains in the shower take about 45 minutes to drain. The restaurant service is slow. It was a decent hotel to stay in for a couple of nights but it wasn't top notch.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Sits on the beach

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: It sits right on the beach.
Cons: Re-do the renovations so they look not so sloppy.
Location: Beach is right out the door. It is walking distance to USS Lexington and Texas State Aquarium. A couple of close restaurants and stores.
Hotel sits on the beach. The rooms that were supposedly renovated are not well done at all. You can see drywall separations in the walls and there are old holes where things used to hang. The drains in the shower/bath take 45 minutes to drain. The caulking is poorly done and messy. If you open the balcony door it will take a bout 2 hours to cool the room down again. The restaurant service is slow but the food is decent.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tx

walking distance to beach, and attractions, eating

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: air conditioning was loud in room, restaurant could be a bit pricy
Location: tx state aquarium, uss Lexington, short drive to padre island beaches
very enjoyable, was able to take grand child to beach for first time
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2014
It was wonderful! My favorite part about the hotel was that it was right off the bay and it had a saltwater pool & hot tub. I also liked that there were many restaurants nearby. It was also a plus that the USS Lexington was close by.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houson, TX

Great Location

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: The location really is GREAT!! The beach is right outside and everything else is a short walking distance away (USS Lexington, Aquarium, and restauran
I read the reviews and was a bit iffy on staying here mainly because this trip was a mini vacation for my daughter and I. I didn't want to be bothered with the negatives I read about and deal with my 5 yr old as well. It was just going to be a one night stay so I decided to give it a try due to the location of the hotel. I had a good stay.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Nice hotel on beach front.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: location to beach & balcony view of beach and several shops, restaurant & sites within walking distance.
Cons: we felt for the price a free continental breakfast could be included and offer coffee every day.
Location: USS Lexington, Texas State Aquarium, several shops & local restaurant .
we had an enjoyable stay & liked the balcony view of the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Dirty room, broken toilet, broken ac, ridiculous food prices, horrible service. Great location, but hotels which are much lower priced right next door are probably much more clean and better quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Dave, Hotel Management
I am sorry for the issues you mentioned and would hope you called the desk to give us a chance to make corrections. We do have issues like any business or your home, and when notified we react immediately to make corrections. if we are not able to make the repairs we offer another room or other options. I will forward your comments about the food to the restaurant operator for her immediate attention, please accept my apology. Dave R, GM
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Very close to the beach!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Hotel is nice! Staff appeared extremely tired and over worked. It felt like they were in a rush and careless. li liked that the hotel was on the beach. Pool needs and upgrade. Beds were very uncomfortable. Felt like they were rushed when they cleaned the room.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Tx

Good hotel, close to beach & attractions

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness & beachfront.
Cons: Check showers for water temperature. Parking lot was tight and barely enough for hotel guests.
Location: Good location. Battleship Lexington, water life museum, restaurants within walking distance.
Stayed one night & day. Enjoyed beach and sitting outside on the balcony facing beach. Room was nice and comfortable, except for water in the shower. Water in shower ranged in temperature from warm to hot, no cold water available. Reported it to hotel staff & they said they would have it repaired.