Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view & pool.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: View, free breakfast was great with waffles,cereal,biscuits & gravy,fresh fruit,juice,muffins, & toast.
Cons: Very nasty Elevator. Unclean & unkept.
Location: Public water park is just south with many shops & resteraunts within walking distance.
Close to boardwalk & novelties shops. Great Ocean view that's in view of two lifeguard towers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
friendly staff. beautiful view. clean pool. not far from the boardwalk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sorrento, FL

Wonderful view and access to the beach.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Beach view and access.
Cons: See above about the sliding glass door.
Location: Good restaurants and shopping near by.
We loved being on the ground floor and having immediate access to the beach. However, the sliding glass door track was so corroded that the doors could hardly move open or closed. A lot of WD-40 is needed once the sand is vacuumed out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is very old and dirty

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Dog running loose on property.very old hotel, dirty.best part was right on the beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Not everything that glitters is gold

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: It was on the beach
Cons: Everything needs to be improved there.
Location: Nice hotels for the same price are near "Makai"
The only nice thing about "Makai" it's located on the beach. The pictures do NOT match the reality, especially with the breakfast one:( The cleanest of the room was horrible, had to clean the bathroom myself, after seeing the way it was "cleaned" didn't trust their housekeeper. Check In at 4pm, Check out at 10 am. The policy of the hotel if the "..guests leave dirty plates, microwave e.t.c a charge of $50 applied." You MUST place your credit card on file, even if your room is paid off. Credit card is needed if there are any dirty plates left and damages to the room. So, once you checked In, you become a housekeeper of "Makai." The breakfast area is disgusting. The waffle made by one of the Makai's employee (you are not allowed to make your own waffles) were burned out, and when I tried to say something about dark brown to black waffles the employee's response was :"I don't know they come this way." When I tried to teach her how to make waffles, she got offended. The food if you can call it food, was so old, by the smell you can tell it was expired, NO fruits, No yummy, NO goodies like on the pictures. The price for the hotel neither the stars do not match the hotel at all. The sheets were so wet, it was so disgusting to sleep on them, couldn't wait till the night was over. The hotel "pet friendly" and the rooms with guests pets and with guests with no pets are mixed, so if you hear a dog barking at 3 am behind your wall, do not be surprised!
2 out of 5
by Disappointed from Miami, Fl

Very disappointing

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The only thing that I liked was that it was close to the beach.
Cons: Everything inside and out.
Location: Go to the beach
My experience at the Makai Beach Lodge was very disappointing. I had expected the place and room to look as the pictures, and it was the total opposite. That's a place to go for a few hours of sleep only, but not with your kids. They should update their pictures.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not too good!!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Had to leave way earlier than planned and they did not return any of the money i had already paid. Horrible service!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Beautiful beach only.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Ocean access
Cons: Finish renovations! Keep stairs & walkways clean
Location: Good maps to find things of interest.
The Hotel staff were friendly and helpful in recommending places to eat. The hotel was conveniently located. The Hotel was under renovation and we were put into a room that was not finished with renovations. It was ugly to look at the deck and bath tile which need to be finished. We couldn't believe they would rent the room in that condition. The stairs were nasty and not kept clear of trash. Unfortunately we were disappointed with the hotel and will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ormond beach florida

Renovation warning

Posted Jun 15, 2014
So we asked for a king size before for my family (hubby, me, 2y/I and our newborn baby) but that's not allowed before 4 people in a room must have double beds.... Although we brought the basinett for our newborn and our 2 year old sleeps in between hubby and I. So when we got there they "upgraded" us to a room with two beds.... But that room was being renovated so the door to the balance was blocked off, the room has half done, tv wasn't even hooked up, bathroom had no TP, and the door that connects to the other room looked like it was about to break (so we put a chair infront of it... Just incase!!). The rooms were full so we were stuck and that's fine but when I called about the tv I got a nasty attitude... Somehow having a working tv was like a privilege and I should t expect it. We then moved the beds around so they were next to each other for our son to sleep like he does at home(inbetween us) and wow the stuff under the beds were disgusting... Positive side was the beach was very close and beautiful to listen too.. The ac was new and very cold & the beds and pillows were very very comfy!!! The breakfast in the morning was delicious but I will admit the sign that said we can't take any food out so if ignored as my husband stayed in the room and I got us some breakfast to take back to them. Anyway I would not recommend this hotel to my friends to stay not in the near future... Maybe after renovation is done if we come back and had a better experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by s from colorado

Hotel was right on the beach great hot tub & pool

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Cons: take care of the bugs and clean the room better.
the kids loved great pool the room could have been cleaner.