Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Big room with clean comfy king bed. Very good food at the hotel bar and at a reasonable price. Quiet and nice woods around the complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Close to the park & food places
Cons: Cleanliness of the room & kettle in room for tea drinkers
Location: Water sports, hiking, the national park, golf etc
Good location, no hot water in the morning, staff couldn't care less.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria, texas

Great staff close to park activities

Posted Sep 2, 2014
New owners this year had friends give bad review last year new owners really doing it right would stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

A Motel 6 room at a very expensive price.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The main lodge was very nice.
Cons: It took about 15 - 20 minutes to get our order from the espresso bar.
Location: Denali is close by. It is beautiful.
We were supposed to have 2 queen beds and a couch that made into a bed for 5 people to stay in. We ended up with a cot instead of the couch. No extra's like a small fridge to keep our soda's. Our cars needed to be parked at the top of a hill quite a ways from our rooms, but they did have shuttles that came on a regular basis. We were told that the pictures we viewed of our room on the web site (the ones we should have had) they did not even have them at their hotel. This is set up mostly for those coming in on cruises. We were very disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Ok hotel, expected better for its price

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: We stayed at a building way back close to the river, kids liked to play at the river bank.
Cons: Room not very clean.
Location: Pretty good, close to shops
We had a nice stay at McKinley Chalet. I booked a king bed room, at checking in, I asked if we could get a two bed room, and I was given a two queen bed room, we were very thankful for that. However, the room could have been much cleaner, we found stains on the carpet, the towels looked yellowish, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Nice hotel that backs to the river.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Very quiet and close to the river.
Cons: See overall review.
Location: Right in the midst of the boardwalk at Denali.
We were told we would be in a room that was recently renovated so for the $200 I paid for the night this was nice to hear. Once we got to the room we were very surprised that it wasn't. Crack in bathroom floor, fixtures in the "seating area" was worn, tv was in the seating area not even close to the bed. Toilet moved when you sat on it. It was for one night so it wasn't too bad but not what I expect from 200 /night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: location, room comfort, cost
Cons: Parking near the room
Location: It's right next to the rafting, shopping, and park tours pick up right outside the hotel
Clean, quiet, close to our activities. Good location, very comfortable room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sugar land TX

A hotel made for cruise lines.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The room was clean.
Location: There are a lot of gift shops and a couple of cafes, and a Subway. There are afew places that offer tours of different sorts. There are no restaurants
Though clean, the Rooms are too far away from the main lodge and you have to park elsewhere and take a shuttle to get to your room and then wait for the shuttle if you want to go up to the main lodge. First night at their onsite restaurant, the fried fish came totally uncooked and had to be sent back. Next day the clean coffee cups had lipstick on the rim. There really is not a restaurant you can walk to so you have no choice but to go there. The hotel seems like a muster station for all the people who come in on cruise busses. It is always crowded and loud. The check out time is 10am, earlier than any other hotel I have been to and the check in time in 4pm. So in actuality you are paying for 18hours, not even a whole day. It was not a relaxing, restful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Nice hotel close to Denali and shops.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Decent restaurants on the property. No wifi in the rooms yet, we were told it is expected for 2015. If you don't have a car expect to use the shuttle service to get around the property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Terrible vacation

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Arrived non then train. Called hotel 3 times and no one could tell me where the bus picked up. Got to hotel and checked in to my room. No microwave no refrigerator. Waited on my luggage. Gave up and went te supper. Asked for seating for 4adults and 3 children. Was told 1 1/2 hour wait. They suggested the pizza place across the road. Next morning went to breakfast at main restruant in lobby. They seated us outside the dining room. Seemed to segregate tables with children. Service was slow. Food was cold. Complained to front desk that there was no blackout curtain in my room. Never did get one before I left. While checking out I am told that because I was not with a group I would have to carry my bags to the train to check. Loaded them on intern al bus without help from the driver. Put them in the lobby to go eat breakfast. Was told I had to move them to baggage storage. Had to load them on the bus to take them to train station. Again no help from anyone. All in all this place sucked. Overpriced and very poor set Vice