Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Nice hotel!

Posted Oct 17, 2014
The Hotel St. Regis is in a good location at the edge of downtown Detroit, down the street from the Motown Museum and the Fisher Building with good access to bus routes. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. Overall a great experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

No heat in Detroit in October

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Beautiful old hotel
Location: Good location for access to Wayne State University/
We stayed at this hotel for three days the second week of October when the nights were in the 40's and the days in the 50's and the hotel had no heat in the rooms. When I asked about it they said the owners were not ready to turn the heat on and gave us a space heater. Later that day the front desk clerk told me that the heat was being worked on and would be turned on soon. Two days later when we left still no heat. The housekeeping was also very poor. Other than changing the towels the bathroom was not cleaned, bed not made or anything swept. The staff was pleasant and I feel were just as disturbed by not having heat as I was. This is a beautiful old hotel and the experience could have been much different!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Ok

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Opposite magnificent former GM World HQ and Fisher Bldg. Standard hotel a little rundown. CRT TVs! Desk clerk told me on checking in "No parties!" Thanks for the warm welcome, dude. But since at 3:30am I had to call front desk to ask partiers to stop yelling in the hall outside my room, and slamming doors, I guess they had their reasons. All in all, you could do worse in Motown. Like the Packard Motel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Good looking hotel that screwed everything up

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The lobby
Cons: Management
The lobby is lovely, the hotel is stately looking. But when I arrived the front desk told me that I would be checked in fro 3 nights, even though my reservation was for 4. The next day I spoke to the day manager who said he could only fix it by having us switch rooms. The desk internet was down, also. The next day, in the new room, maid service never came, even though we left the hotel by 10am. I complained in the evening. No apology, just a Maybe-you-had-the-do-not-disturb-sign-on response, as if I'm an idiot. Worst, the next day, the *same thing* happened again. No maid service. We had to wait for fresh towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Ok Not Luxe Hotel, No wifi

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: My room at St. Regis was roomy, clean and looked very nice. It was easy to get downtown and other parts of the city, and out to the suburbs.
Cons: Fix the wifi or stop saying that your hotel provides it. I find that fraudulent. St. Regis needs to train people that this is a boutique hotel.
Location: St. Regis is next to Fisher theater for Broadway plays. Quick cab ride to midtown for the museum and symphony. Casinos and sports aren't much further.
Hotel St. Regis was nice in general. The property looks well taken care of, and is situated very close to highways, downtown Detroit and practically right next to Wayne State U. campus. Something was just a little off about the hotel. My room was clean but the details were missing from this "boutique" hotel. There's an old cathode-ray TV instead of a flat screen. The cable channels are skimpy and glitchy (some had no sound). The telephone didn't work half the time; I couldn't call down to the front desk. I'm getting tired of hotels claiming they provide wifi everywhere. The wifi was down for days. I think their router was most likely incompatible with my Galaxy S3 phone and iOS 8 iPad & iPod. I had to assign my devices static IPs to be able to connect, but the internet speed was slow, worse than dialup. I really would have stayed elsewhere had I known. The entire time it felt like only a 2-man skeleton crew was running the place. There was just one person at the reception desk; same for valet service. I think I saw the hotel restaurant chef running food to the front desk. Where is the wait staff? And housekeeping screaming down the halls to one another mornings. And valet is mandatory for guests with cars. Sigh. Currently, Detroit is in full renaissance mode and construction is everywhere. No exception nearby, but it actually wasn't an issue for my street-facing room. The New Center area is tranquil and getting safer after dusk. Daytime gets busy with office workers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

September in Detroit

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Price was good.
Cons: Reliable TV and wifi would be a plus. Responding to customer complaints on a timely basis would be a big plus. Complimentary coffee in the lobby .
Location: Fisher Building tour. A couple of restaurants in the area. Period.
Generally, the hotel is a nice older hotel. Nothing really fancy. Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was adequate despite a continuously leaking toilet. TV had problems and were never fixed despite daily notes on the problem. Room service was not provided on the second day even though the door marker said service was desired. Upon returning at the end of the day, I called for fresh towels. Had to call a second time, they forgot. The most bothersome issue is that the hotel Wi Fi was down and was never fixed during our stay. One desk clerk was extremely rude to another customer. They were generally friendly to us. Did not use the restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Looks fabulous from the outside.........

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Looks great from the outside.....nice staff
Cons: Technology update! Blankets!
Location: I was able to walk to the museums....but I live in one of the most dangerous cities in the country so it might not be the best option for everyone!
Let me preface this by saying every staff person I dealt with was polite and extremely nice. That being said, the rest of the stay was a huge disappointment. The ride up in the elevator was interesting since the lights telling you which floor you were arriving at did not light up. The elevator did not reach the all the way to the floor at some levels- it was like a scene out of "Kate and Leopold" which would have been fine if Hugh Jackman had been waiting in my room but alas...he was not. The room had been renovated but...the tv had no sound, the wifi was not working ( neither was the hard wired internet in the small room by the front desk), and the bed had sheets and a very heavy coverlet but no blanket- so I was either freezing or suffocating. The heat/air conditioning seemed to have one setting and one temperature so there was no way to regulate the climate of the room that way. On the plus side there is a liquor store a short walk away- disregard the entire wall of bulletproof glass and the carousel that you must place your purchase in and spin around so they can check you out.......and the small slot for you to hand over your cash or credit card...... Also the Chicken and Waffle place across the street "The Eatery" was awesome.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very clean and tidy

Posted Sep 30, 2014
staff where all excellent and knowledgeable about the local attractions. Short cab rides to main attractions
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario canada

Nice hotel. But wifi never works

Posted Sep 29, 2014
This hotel was great for the money spent. You are roughly a 40 min walk to downtown, don't suggest walking when it gets too dark out. The hotel shouldn't advertise they have free wifi cause the wifi doesn't work at all, and from looking at other post it seems as if it wasn't working for the past couple months. My room was nice and clean and I got a great night rest. Recommend if your on a budget and want to stay "close" to downtown detroit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

nice comfortable room in a convenient area.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: the staff was great
Cons: I am not used to paying to park at a hotel when i am a guest there.
Location: close to several landmarks and easy to get to downtown and the ballparks and the museums.
The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel location was convenient to many areas and sites and the staff was excellent; very friendly and accomadating.