Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from harrow

A nice looking hotel with a nice enclosed garden

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The garden.
Cons: Staff that spoke English and were interested in the people staying there as it's them that ineffect pay their wages. Place needs redecorating .
Location: Bournemouth is a lovely place , plenty to do mini golf , gardens to play in , lovely beach , some fantastic restaurants , wonderful theatre and Bic.
Hotel checking was very poor , room was clean and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was awful service was very poor a complete lack of tables for the amount of people staying there. Bar staff were rude and not experienced in pouring drinks plus their understand of English was very poor. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone and when in shops heard lots of people complaing about this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and lovely atmosphere

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Hotel was lovely and in a great location, staff were very helpful from parking our car to looking after our bags whilst waiting to check in allowing us to go and have a look around. Bar staff very friendly. Only downfall was that children were allowed in the bar/ lounge until after midnight! Also checkout a little too early at 10am although you can still use hotel facilities all day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel next to beach

Posted Aug 11, 2014
First day it was horrible .next day we changed the room was ok.lift doesn't work we are in fifth floor.room service not to bad.they need put comfortable beds ..other thinks was good..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Visit

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The setting and garden at rear of Hotel is lovely.
Cons: SEE ABOVE DISAPPOINTMENT
Location: Excellent Location
Having grown up locally and aspiring to stay at The Royal Bath Hotel from a very young age. I booked a surprise Wedding Anniversary stay for my wife and I, expecting our stay to be memorable and befitting the elegance of the Hotel. Unfortunately our visit did not live up to our expectations including the points below. 1. No instruction when checking in about meals etc, Only concern seemed to be taking money. 2. Room at front overlooking busy Roundabout.(Constant noise throughout night) 3. Room not left clean, sand all over bathroom floor,small towels, room also excessively hot, open windows even more noise. 4. Ordered meal in bar had to wait over 40 minutes, tables not cleaned of dirty glasses and plates. When meal arrived was more like a microwaved meal! 5.Sleepless night due to noise from Road and hotness of room. 6.Went to breakfast at 07.30 only to be told that I had to go to reception to pay, wasn't advised of this before. Had to wait in reception because of a customer complaint. Returned to breakfast even though first in food all rubbery having been on hot plates for a while. All in all a very disappointing anniversary gift to which I cannot recommend anyone staying at your hotel and I would never make a return visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicester

Such a shame

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: A member of staff who helped me and apologized for the state of the hotel.
Cons: Don't get me started....
Used to be the best hotel in Bournemouth. Now it's close to the worst.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful view

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Amassing warm atmosphere, friendly staff. Highly recommended...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Excellent location.
Cons: The hotel needs a bomb spending on it due to its age. Food in the buffet restaurant poor.
Location: Shops and promenade close by.
Must have been a luxurious hotel in its hayday but that was a long time ago! Bathroom recently refurbished, it was functional and pleasingly adequate. Comfortable and clean bed. Room enjoyed a lovely view over garden and the sea with a small balcony.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Nice location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
No air con,room dated,Oscars restaurant food terrible ,receptionist complacent
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but poor hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Room was extremely small and very hot! No AC There where much better rooms in the hotel but we couldn't get one, refused to move us and we knew there where empty rooms, one very small lift for huge building. Shocking we had to pay £4 a day to use the swimming pool and gym after being told it was included. Over all a terribly disappointing stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beyond Terrible

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location, checking out and going home to take a bath in detol.
Cons: Pretty much everything? Facade looks good from the front.
Badly repaired ceilings, TV remote held together with tape, kettle containing evolving life forms that probably started out as a farm of limescale...an iron, but no ironing board, glass in lifts taped up with packing tape...premium pricing, and yet the quality of the place was less than a 50 quid travelodge. My guess is this place use to be spectacular - if it was, it certainly isn't any more. Run down and requiring a lot of investment to bring it back to average, never mind premium. Signs for the rooms are also pretty crappy - rooms x this way. Only it isn't this way, as there's a number of rooms in the middle of that range that are actually on a completely different floor. What's that about? Staff for the most part looked utterly defeated and fully aware of the environment they're working in? If I were out on a stag weekend with some mates looking for somewhere cheap to stay where I wasn't that bothered about the above things.....then this would have been OK. At 180 quid a night for me and my daughter to stay in - utterly and completely pathetically over-priced.