Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton

Close to the beach, cosy room.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Excellent food at affordable prices. The room was basic but warm and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom C

You may get charged for the sea air!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
First time ever found hotel charging hotel guests to use the hotel swimming pool. If you promote a hotel with a pool you should have big pounds sign on it to say you will be treated like a member if the public if you try and use it. Parking at £20 pretty steep as well. I imagine they will soon start charging for breathing in the sea air in the hotel garden. From experience are lots of better places without this attitude in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Witney, Oxfordshire

Fantastic hotel overlooking Bournemouth beach

Posted Feb 18, 2015
2nd time we've stayed there and it was as good if not better than the first. Took my fiancé as a birthday surprise and it didn't disappoint. Helpfully we went in February and the hotel was quiet and we got our room upgraded from a double sea view room to an executive room. It had the biggest balcony and the best views of the sea. The all you can eat breakfast buffet for £5 per person if done with the booking is excellent too. Definitely 5 out of 5 from us. We'll be heading back in June, secretly hoping we get the same room (367)
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom cambridge

Hotel charges and parking

Posted Jan 31, 2015
The ad was misleading about the availability of the gym. There is £4 surcharge for using the gym which is not clear when you book through expedia. there is no parking available and depending at the time of arrival there could be an additional cost of £12 per day to park in the neighbouring car park.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Freezing by cold room Bed mites , really uncomfortable beds Tiny tv Cold small bathroom Would never stay here agan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

とても快適でした。

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: 外観が豪華で部屋がきれいでした。 ロビーも広くておしゃれな雰囲気です。
Cons: 一階に泊まったのですが廊下、階段がかなりぎしぎしいっていたこと。 Wi-Fiが繋がらない!!! サイトの不具合かiPhoneはログインできずiPadのみ接続できた。
Location: BICにて用事があるから近くて助かった
外観も素敵で部屋も明るく快適にすごせました。 シャワーのパワーもあり温度調節も的確にいじれたのでバスタイムを気持ちよくおくれたのがよかったです。 ドライヤーも使いやすかったです。 チェックインがなかなかできず不安になったのですが予約の確認番号を印刷した紙を渡したら部屋に通してくれて助かりました。
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland UK

What a terrible experience.

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Absolutely Nothing.
Cons: The whole hotel is badly in need of renovation as are the staff
Location: Location central near centre of town.
Arriving at the hotel after a journey from the Highlands of Scotland in severe adverse weather conditions we arrived at approximately 10pm to be informed restaurant was closed and there was no room service available.When asking the desk clerk about eating facilities we were presented with 2carry out menus,one for a pizza outlet the other an Indian takeaway.,both unsuitable for our needs. On arriving to our room we found there was no heating on and the room had obviously not been heated since the last user vacated the room. Bar service we were informed closed at 11pm and our meal was a potato crisps!! The next morning to add insult to injury when we arrived at the dining room for breakfast we were informed that we had to PAY before we were permitted to use the dining facilities.This we were not informed of on our arrival . The attitude of the staff was certainly not hospitable(I understand there are hospitality courses available throughout the UK) Having been fortunate enough to be a world wide traveller I have never been asked to pay before I ate and have never received such terrible service. Should *I ever return to Bournemouth I will certainly NOT be using The Royal Bath Hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but a little disappointing

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Location is excellent for Bournemouth and going out.
Cons: Needs some resonably priced Parking. Wi-Fi coverage is lacking.
Location: Cinema, Restaurants, Theatre, Bars.
Had a mixed experience. The Hotel is very big and grand and could be a good venue for parties, but as a business user I found it a bit lacking. Also the hotel being so big is not actually a good thing, my room was literally 1/4 mile away from the entrance, up one elevator, down one stairs and through two corridors before I finally got to my room, not very convenient. Needless to say the Wi-Fi didn't reach my room. Parking around the hotel is a bit of a nightmare, it cost £20 a night to park onsite, or £12 in the car park next door, which is frankly extortionate and what I might expect in London, I parked up the road near the beach for free, but this is also not very convenient. Unfortunately the hotel is getting a little dated, decor, tired bathroom, creaky floorboards, and furnishing look they have seen better days. But the foyer is lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is good, there are several decent restaurants, a cinema and the Bournemouth International Centre 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Stafford

Not as it was but still pretty good...

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Its history, its position, its lounge, its garden.
Cons: Staff could be more friendly and Britannia need to spend some money on the decor and structure.
Location: Brilliantly positioned on the cliffs with a short downhill walk to the Winter Gardens, promanade and pier. Level walk to shops.
We stayed at the Royal Bath several times when it was a 5 star hotel under De Vere. Although the top hatted doorman, friendly lounge staff, free valet parking and free leisure club are no longer available, this is still a great place to stay if you can get a cheap room. We were given the Churchill Room - one of the biggest we've ever had in a British hotel. It was warm, comfortable and adequate for a 2 night stay. The hotel is still a grand place to stay although fading at the edges a little. The staff are ok although not terribly friendly, the bar staff at the "whisky" bar really should be taught about what they are selling, but all in all for a 3 star hotel, it's still a beautiful place to stay with a glorious lounge, perfect position and the lasting elegance of an old dame. Go, don't expect 5 stars but enjoy the experience of the oldest hotel in Bournemouth while you still can.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dorset, england

Enjoyable stay

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Comfortable hotel. We stayed in club room. Little old fashion. Frosted windows so no view. Electric plug in radiator. We did have a lovely breakfast. Nice atmosphere in the hotel. Although few negatives we Would stay again.