Ratings based on 2,317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Nostalgic Feel and Look

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The bed was extremely comfortable and room very spacious. Loved the sofa set off from the sleeping area, it provided a place to sit other than a bed.
Cons: The room was a little dusty, specifically the coffee pot and around the lamps. Bathroom was small in the sink area, a bit difficult to get ready.
Location: The location to the Power and Light District was convenient to dining and night life. We were able to walk to different venues and felt very safe.
I enjoy staying at older hotels (not part of a chain) that have been remodeled with modern amenities. The Hotel Phillips was completed and opened in 1931 and has maintained a lot of the charachter from it's early days. Staff was very professional and accomodating. There were many things I liked about the hotel, such as the decor, size of rooms and location. Nice restaurant and bar in the lobby. Convenient valet and fairly reasonable. The only complaint I have is that the room was a little dusty in a few spots, specifically round the lamps and behind end tables and the in room coffee pot. The bathroom sink area was very small it made it difficult to do hair and makeup. The bathroom door was in the way alot while I was trying to do my hair. But, it is an older hotel and one of the reasons could be because of the initial design. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a shame

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Couldn't ask for a more pleasant reception the ladies at check in was great however the servers in the restaurant were extremely rude Nikki had a real attitude when she discovered we were only going to have drinks an breakfast server was equally rude. Scott was amazing!!! The room was filthy an nasty every where I looked it was covered with dust the phone was nasty so I refused to eat there if they would put us in a nasty room I cant imagine what it looks behind close doors dont go if u want or expect a clean room!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and diligent staff

Posted Mar 24, 2015
althogh it took a little bit long to check in, the front desk staff did a great job updating me frequently and offering a complimentary drink to make me feel welcome and relaxed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
This hotel is awful. It is a scam. Do not stay here. We booked a room through expedia because it was listed as a 4 star hotel. When we got to our room, it was 81 degrees in the room, and the ac was broken in our room. They informed us they were sold out and could not give us another room, so we were stuck in a stuffy room. They also said, the ac units frequently break in the rooms! On top of that, the room was filthy--dust everywhere, smelled musty, food smashed into the carpet, and hairs in the bathtub. When I attempted to speak with a supervisor, I was brushed off. I was so disappointed in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Older Hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Clean rooms, but very small. This hotel has character.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting water faucet

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Kind of old place. Not bad but bit great. Probably tenth best place in Kc
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom st. louis, mo

Hotel Phillips avoid it!!

Posted Mar 10, 2015
The room was absolutely filthy! There was a very thick layer of dust in the entire room, bathroom, carpet edges, everywhere. There was an empty water bottle behind the nightstand with an even thicker layer of dust on it. The sheets weren't changed on day 2 cleaning which I'm ok with if they post a note or ask your permission, but they didn't. They didn't replenish the toiletries and a tiny bottle of anything with 2 people over 2 days is not enough! Very disappointed!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Friendly staff

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Great character - beautiful exterior.
Had a quick layover in KC and made a last minute reservation. Staff was very helpful and accommodating, and gave us a free upgrade since it was our first time at the hotel. They also offered to give us a ride to a nearby restaurant in the hotel's shuttle. The room was clean, but the walls were rather thin and we could hear the person across the hall from us very easily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice lobby and restaurant.

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Stayed 1 night. Staff was great Especially the valets! Very nice lobby. Room was clean and large but not as nice as the lobby. Definitely a good place for adults but not kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Andover Ks

VALET PARKING

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The hotel is absolutely beautiful. Food was wonderful
Cons: Pleasing customers.
Location: Looks like there is lots to do around the area
I came to Kansas City for two reasons. One to drop off a friend at the hospital for surgery and the other to Visit Lawrence for a college visit for my daughter. checking in was wonderful and the dinner was fabulous. When we were leaving to take my friend to the hospital the hotel had no idea where my keys were they did not even have me on the Valet list. I had proof of a valet ticket and a valet charge on my bill. I was unable to take my friend to the hospital for her kidney surgery. She had to go alone in a taxi. I had to take the hotel shuttle to Lawrence to meet my family for my daughters college tour. I had to miss the last of the tour to travel by taxi back to Kansas city to get my truck. Apparently the valet driver locked my keys in the car. I Missed my daughter picking out her dorm room and the second half of her tour of where she will be living the next four years. That is something I will never get back. All I kept hearing was how sorry they were. I have never stayed at that hotel and my reason for going was to see if this would be the hotel my husband and I would stay at for our upcoming 20th Anniversary. Nothing was done to ensure I would be back or ensure that I was happy. We own a business ourselves and the customer service I would give a 2 out of 5.