Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Glennofrom Wellington, NZ

Super friendly, very satisfied

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were all sad to leave. What a friendly place. Rooms good for a family - we took 2 with interconnects. We had a hire car so drove around the area for sightseeing. We also walked to the local beach in the Cuvu village for reef snorkelling and took a couple of trips to Natadola Beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles.

The place stinks.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Hotel is new and clean but room is filled with bad odour through sewerage system close to it and management hides to tell visitors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent, England

Small, friendly and relaxed resort

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Faster and free internet would be an obvious improvement.
Location: See above
We stayed for 6 nights in August 2014, using the resort as a base from which to explore the coral coast in Fiji in our hire car. The apartments are very basic and some of the fixtures and fixtures and fittings could do with some modernisation but they are comfortable and have everything that you need. Moreover, the apartments are kept spotlessly clean and it was lovely to see the fresh flower arrangements left on the pillows and other places in the apartment each day. Wifi was available for a small charge but the speed was slow. While we were there, the advertised arrangement with the nearby Shangri-la hotel, allowing Gecko resort customers to use the hotel beach and restaurants, was suspended. This was not a problem for us because we are using the resort as a base and found a number of far more peaceful and prettier locations along the coastline. Without a hire car, however, there is little to do at the resort and no shops, restaurants or alternative beaches within walking distance. We have fond memories of the resort, in particular the lovely staff and excellent food - we chose to eat at the resort restaurant most evenings. The traditional Fijian dance shows held twice a week were also great fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great option for access to Shangri La

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Stayed here as a friend was having a wedding at the Shangri La. Easy access to the hotel. Staff friendly and food well priced compared to the Shangri La. Great option for a short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton, NZ

Friendly resort

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The great staff, the friendly, intimate atmosphere.
Cons: The bed moves around a lot. Maybe some brakes or remove the wheels?
Location: An easy bus, hitch or taxi ride away from lots of activities. Check out Kula ecopark, do a day cruise out to an island and go on the off road safari
Had a very pleasant stay at Geckos, the staff are very friendly and helpful, great for advice about things to see and do during your stay. Its a good location, not too far from Sigatoka and only an hour or so from Nadi, and also good for those days you just want to sit by the pool or watch dvds in your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jerrykhoofrom New Zealand

Comfy and clean rooms with good dining selection

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here while I was working up in the Sigatoka valley. Clean and comfortable room and the restaurant has good selection of food on offer at a reasonable price. The restaurant is very busy and popular with many guests coming over from Shangri-La just opposite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne

Great spot

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Larger Resturant, always booked out
Location: Close to Sigatoka, Shangri-La, Intercontinental, great golf courses close by, Tomlu seafood Resturant can't be missed
Staff are very friendly and helpfull Rooms are very clean and comfortable Free local dance and fireworks every Friday and Sunday Close to town (Sigatoka) Local villages visits are a must, and try the Cava
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Fantastic small resort

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Food. Cleanliness. Terrific staff always willing to help and please. Good facilities.
Cons: For me the bed was too hard but for some this might be a good thing.
Location: Good location about 15 mins from Saratoga, however no beach but they do have a pool. Plenty of trips if you can afford them.
Excellent resort about 15 mins by taxi from Saratoga and shopping. Food was exemplary and at a very reasonable price. Room and Bathroom was spotless however the bed was a bit hard for me. Great place to go for a relaxing holiday and I would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fiji girlfrom New Zealand

Friendly staff

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful - really made us feel at home.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Christchurch

Basic accommodation.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The food was good, the service also was excellent. The room was clean and tidy.
Cons: The use of Shangri-la is key to the resort, so they need there own beech. Staff having better knowledge of activities and giving directions.
Location: The location is bad with nothing to do nearby. Only if you have a car can you access some of the amenities which are at least 45 minutes away.
saw good reviews on expedia and from family members on the grounds that you can use the resort Shangri-la which is across the road. On arrival 30th june 2014 there was a letter on the wall dated April 2014 stating that non Shangri-la guests could no longer use the facilities. There are no beaches or any other activities close by only a dusty road with Shangri-la on the horizon. We had a rental car so we were lucky that we could leave, but most other people didn't t, with a small swimming pool to look at, when we asked staff about activities in the area they were very vague. The food was of high standard and the rooms were clean and tidy. Been so bored with nothing to do without a 45 minute drive to natadola another resort that you have to sneak into! we decided to leave the next morning we arrived, with no chance of a refund, but we didn't t care because we didn't want to have our 5 day holiday ruined. On leaving staff weren't surprised and didn't seem to care or ask why we were leaving.