Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from York, England

Nice hotel, clean, good facilities for the price.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The free bikes, the breakfasts, the nearish proximity to town for the price. The cleanliness.
Cons: Some of the bikes were in a poor state of repair. The hotel had no tool to even raise/lower saddles!
Location: Situated just back from a busy roundabout. 20 mins walk into town (or five minutes on a bike). Not a lot to do close by. Location was ok for price.
We were generally very happy with the hotel.The room was pleasant and cleaned every day. Not massively spacious but certainly not cramped. We asked for a room with a bath and duly got one - a nice large bath. The room had a small veranda. There was no view (you had to stand on a chair to see over the wall and then you could only see roof-tops), but it was nice to be able to sit outside and read or eat lunch. Breakfasts were superb (apart from the European cereals – Yuk!). Scrambled egg, bacon sausage, a variety of cold meats and cheese. A variety of different bread rolls and pastries. Fresh fruit salad and a number of other fruits. Various yoghurts, fruit juices, tea/coffee/chocolate etc.... and you can eat as much as you want. Couldn’t ask for anything more. The hotel gym was small – a tread-mill, cycling machine and weights apparatus. But good enough to work off the pizzas! And none of the other guests seemed to use it so we always had it to ourselves. There were a limited number of bikes and I’m guessing they dated back to pre-Roman times and started life with square wheels! They had no gears but then then journey into town is flat and only took a few minutes. The hotel was a 20 min walk into the centre. Using a bicycle cut the journey time to 5 minutes. Given what we paid for the hotel, we had no complaints. Hotel staff always courteous and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel close to main attractions.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Close to tourist attractions. Friendly & helpful staff.
Cons: Breakfast menu could improve, more choice with the cooked foods.
Location: Very near Hop on tour buses. 10 to 15 minutes walk to all main tourist areas. Ideal for long weekend sight seeing.
Lovely small hotel clean & comfortable. staff very friendly, helpful. Views from bedrooms not good, but acceptable. Breakfast sufficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anthony from London

Clean comfortable and charming hotel.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable and efficient. Friendly staff.
Cons: N/a
Location: The location is quiet, to the North of the town centre. It is quite a walk, about 20-25 minutes to the heart of Florence.
I stayed at the San Gallo Palace in April this year on business. It is a very well run and comfortable hotel and the staff are efficient and friendly. It is however a reasonable walk to the centre of Florence and the opposite back of the River.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel San Gallo Palace

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Very pleasant hotel, with friendly staff, spotlessly clean rooms and great breakfast choice. Approx 15 min walk to the main attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to where you need to be

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Great place to stay. Centrally located. They only have 4 bikes but make it seem like they have an entire fleet. We reserved 2 bikes the night before we planned on using them and Luca gave our bikes away. Come to find out they do not accept reservations. Paula was great. We need to print out a voucher for a tour and she printed it out for us. Besides the miss communication with the bikes this is a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bud location

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Add food options
Perfect location. Clean rooms .. Europe style small but modern ... Hotel staff were nice except they gave us wrong info about bus timings but over all friendly staff. No restaurant in the hotel just a snack bar .....if u r hungry late in the night don't know what u wud do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from Massachusetts

The SAN GALLO PALACE HOTEL is fabulous!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Excellent location; clean, quiet & comfortable rooms; great buffet breakfast; accommodating staff; free WiFi throughout.
My husband and I stayed at the San Gallo Palace Hotel for six nights in April 2014 during our delightful trip to Florence, Venice, Pisa, Chianti and Siena. The hotel is an easy 15 minute walk to the Duomo and Ponte Vecchio as well as the shops, restaurants and museums in the downtown area. If you prefer, the bus stop is a couple of blocks away. We love that the San Gallo is located away from the noise and congestion of downtown but still accessible to everything. The hotel has a delicious buffet breakfast and offers light fare in the bar for a late dinner and cocktail. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, fluent in both English and Spanish, and are always ready to answer questions or call a taxi. The reception area is beautiful with two comfortable seating areas in the lobby. The rooms and bathroom are quite spacious and spotlessly clean, and the beds are very comfortable. There is a safe in the room for locking away valuables and the free WiFi throughout the hotel is a bonus as many hotels in Europe only offer it in the lobby. We will absolutely stay here again and will recommend the San Gallo Palace Hotel to our friends. Book without hesitation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alan from manchester england

Great Location if you don't mind a small walk

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Great staff, good location
Cons: Maybe slightly bigger rooms, but that ain't gonna happen!
Location: Outside the centre but an easy walk int the centre. Taxi is 9 euros. Easy to find good local bars and eateries as opposed to touristy places.
This hotel is right on the northern edge of the historic centra. This means its 15 minutes walk to the Duomo. It's an easy walk down one straight road so no issue. The area itself is a nice local area with good pizzerias and trattorias serving excellent local dishes at good prices. The hotel rooms were OK as normal city centre hotels. Read: not too bog, but comfortable and clean. An excellent buffet breakfast was available and all the staff we met were lovely. The bar prices were comparable with local bars so we always had aperitivos in the hotel bar before venturing out. Allinall, a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Everything. Nothing was too much trouble, lending us an umbrella, taxi to come in minutes, lovely breakfast.
We upgraded up a superior room and weren't disappointed. Room 105, very spacious, lovely view. It is a good 15mins walk to the Duomo but it's a pleasant walk, however the hotel will loan bicycles which is fab for getting around this beautiful city - especially if you only have a few days to cram it all in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Claudia from london

Great hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness. Staff politeness and helpfulness.
Cons: Nothing
Location: 10-15 minutes from the centre. Fun restaurant with delicious food ( we are Italian and know this! ) called trattoria da Tito nearby.
This is a fantastic hotel,which suited us down to the ground. The staff, especially (hope I get her name right ) Lucia are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant recommendation was spot on, had a wonderful evening. We love to walk and as this was about 10 mins away from the centre it was perfect. The lobby was spacious with lots of places to rest. On arrival everything was spotless, the rooms airy and neat. The garden well kept.breakfast ample with staff to attend. Another plus is that as our plane left in the evening,they looked after out cases after check out phoned for and allowed us to wait for the taxi in the lounge.lovely service, I will definitely return here as having a hotel of this quality makes the holiday so much more pleasurable. Thank you St Gallo