Ratings based on 546 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Very disappointed with the Banana

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pool was not kept up needed a good scrubbing and chlorine. Pool side tiki bar was there but not staffed. No restaurant. Halls were dirty. Our overall stay was terrible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pool was nice and the tiki hut was nice also, even though they could only serve beer right now
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vashon Is. Wa.

Great pool, good atmosphere

Posted Jul 10, 2014
We selected this lodging randomly and felt we scored. Great pool area. Accommodations are a little rundown, but new owners have great plans to breathe new life into this wonderful place. A one minute walk on the property to a splendid viewing area of the open water. A must is to eat at Sunrise which is up the road at the base of the 7 mile bridge. Happy hour and at 6pm live music. Excellent eatings!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

old world charm

Posted Jul 7, 2014
stayed for 7 days, room was cleaned great every day, the hotel is older the hallways are a little dark and need paint, the air conditioner worked great, the price was good through expedia, a good location set in the heart of the keys, marathon. a nice marina behind the hotel with a sea wall you can fish from, the pool and the hot tub worked great. the furniture is out dated in the room yet the beds are clean and comforable. the land scaping is nice throughout the property.. if you just need a good place to sleep and save money on your logging i would say this is a good choice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach Gardens, FL

Needs a complete update

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The pool was the only element of this property that was decent. The AC and WIFi worked fine.
Cons: Everything needs an improvement. It's totally outdated, dirty, and moldy.
Location: There is a pool, marina, and gulf water view you can walk to on the property.
The Banana Bay is in bad shape. We heard it has recently sold. Hopefully the new owner will improve the property. The buildings are old, with dirty moldy carpet and the rooms are in bad shape. Peeling wallpaper, old curtains and furniture. The beds are awful and the thin coverlet was stained and shabby. We brought our own pillows, thank heavens. The hair dryer did not work and the switches in the bathroom were hot to the touch. The pool area is large and was about the only thing that was not too bad. They do have Wifi. The AC was newer and did work great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from beverly hills, MI

dump of a dump

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: absolutely NOTHING
Cons: every single thing.
filthy, disgusting, scary hotel. I don't think this hotel has ever been remodeled since 1950.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The location was great for us and the property was really pretty.
Cons: The property is definitely 'aged' but it actually kind of added to the overall charm in my opinion. The rooms were clean and pleasant.
Location: Bahia Honda park is a must see if you like the water. You can rent snorkel gear and easily spend a day there.
The staff was extremely accommodating and quite understanding. I wish we had more time to use some of the amenities like the pool and the tennis court.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures are not accurate.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
This place is old and run down. It is clean and safe, but not worth what we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel with a view of the marina (and sunsets)

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The feeling of being alone in a beautiful paradise... Swimming pool was a real winner.
Cons: The carpeting was soaked from rains that leaked in the balcony sliding doors. This caused very slippery conditions on the balcony.
Location: Centrally located; closed to restaurants, marina filled with all kinds of boats for water adventures, and the acclaimed Dolphin Research Center.
Nice, quiet hotel with a great view of the plush tropical plants and the marina. Stroll down to the marina for those awesome Florida sunsets. Centrally located in the Marathon FL area, close to restaurants and attractions. If you are looking for relaxation, this is your place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

In a sorry state of disrepair..

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: It's location.
Cons: Really, everything
Location: It is in a wonderful piece of property, with the Marina in the back. Close to everything, and in the center of Marathon.
Right now it is not the place to book a room. Everything is old, broken. Our slider would not close all the way, no light bulb on a fixture, TV kept going on and off, sheets kept coming off the corners, towels were not changed. No liquor license, so no drink by pool. Restaurant has been closed for a while already. We had been coming here for a very long time, but no more. We were told the place just got sold..big improvments on the way!