Ratings based on 618 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

Don't be fooled by the pictures!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
This motel looks great online, but this is a very old motel who's sheets are old and tattered, doors and walls could use a good washing, the beds were terrible. We couldn't leave fast enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place to stay on the way to Key West!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Very nice size pool & hot jacuzzi. Nice laundry, tennis courts and rooms were comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Nice place to stay

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Location OK, not far from what little Marathon has to offer, 2 grocery stores, a Kmart and numerous bars, dining etc. Unless you are an avid fisherperson and are either prepared to charter a boat or bring your own, not much to do except drink. Sombreo beach OK, actually one of the best in the Keys but there are much better ones elsewhere. My next vacation destination Panama.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

2 nights stay

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location and the bayside area
Cons: A ton of upgrading needed, starting with the furniture, bathrooms and ending with the landscaping
Location: Perfect location. But so are a ton of other places in the area...
Location is perfect. The outdoors are great. Pool/jacuzzi area is not taken care of. Rooms are ok, but their bathrooms, although clean, they need a lot of work. It's a shame they don't take care properly of this property. Staff is very friendly. I would probably recomend this hotel, but not to my most demanding friends. I would recomend it to the ones who are on a limited budget
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, Fl.

Great Get-away

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Marina and the fact it felt safe.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was very close to great Rest. Key Fisheries and Stuffed Pig.
The wife and I decided to get away i.e. an overnighter. Found Bananna Bay Resort & Marina, on Expedia. We were very pleased! 5 star? No, didn't want that anyway. We will be back, next time for two nights along with our boat for fishing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

great secluded resorT

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Website needs updating as well as property. Pool area was awesome, nice marina and fishing area. Staff was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Okeechobee,FL

Not what you think.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The check in process.
Cons: Oh my paint, cleaning and updating period.
Location: We loved the area, so all was good had a great dinner.
Well we had been to Marathon Fl in July for 2 weeks and seen this place from the road and knew we were coming bavk to look a few house for our vacation next year. By all counts the outside and office looks good and so when I went online to book it, we thought it would be fine for one night. WRONG. Check in went well no problems. We checked in around 4:00 pm. On our way to the room we noticed the door was left opened to entrance to the rooms and there was no AC. Well no big deal, when we went our room I knew this was going to be bad, paint, wall paper pealing, pop corn ceilings that were dirty extremly old fixtures and room in general needed a major over haul. The desk in the room had marker drawings all over it. Large mirror on wall was peeling so bad you could not look at yourself in it. TV was very very old. Internet was terrible. Carpet was so aweful unreal. Then the bed was a king but my gosh the worst night sleep or lack of, I was scared the whole night. Especially since posted on the back of door was a sign which stated sercurity until 2:00 am Mon-Sat, well guess which night we stayed, you got it Sunday. No sercurity and if I shook the sliding glass doors you could open them. So needless to say I will never ever stay there again I did not even shower here. We were going to Hollywood FL later and we did shower after we arrived at our other hotel. We do not reccomend this place at all. This is also the only review I have ever written.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Englewood Fl

Not a good place to stay

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The pool
Cons: All of the above
We arrived and the check in was fine, it went down hill from there. The room was musty, the doors were open due to no air in the hallway. The room had air. There was no drinks in the soda machine. There was no coffee in the room next to the coffee maker, the front desk said they ran out of coffee. We asked for an extra pillow there were no to be had. They said they were out. The pillows that we had were terrible. The beds need to be replaced. I stayed here before and it has gone down hill fast. The new owners have not done anything to improve there place. I go to the keys 4 or 5 times a year and will NOT stay at BANANA BAY again!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Hotel not resort

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: It was right on the highway
Cons: The ugly brown carpeting in the hallways and in the rooms. It should be replaced with tile. Our room could use new furniture and a flat screen tv
Location: Marathon key is the second largest key in the Florida keys. The best beach of the keys Bahia Honda state park is only a few miles away.
The hotel was advertised as a resort but it's just a motel with a pool, a tennis court and a boat ramp!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Jupiter Fl.

Old and run down

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: the locate was good
Cons: A complete renovation.
Location: Water sports and lots of places to eat.
Slept very little because of the toilet running water and the air conditioner was super loud. The ice machine was right across the hall. the box spring has a good size hole in it.We heard the noise from the highway.