Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marion, MA

Nice old hotel that has been pleasantly renovated.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: location, feeling, grounds, room, pool, and staff
Cons: replace old style louvered windows.
Location: very nice location, a short distance to super market, two blocks to beach, and also to a nice local restaurant.
This is a nice hotel that has made noticeable efforts to keep it renovated, clean, and up to descent standards. The staff were friendly and the location convenient. This facility is one I can recommend to any seasoned traveler.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst hotel ever.

Posted Nov 2, 2014
We were a group of 7. They split our group up to different hotels. The contractors woke us at 7 every morning. The sink did not drain. The toilet water ran constantly. The faucet sent water to the ceiling. When I complained ...the man t old me that's what I get for my money and he walked away. The safe was broken as was the alarm clock. Horrendous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Tropi Rock Is A Great Deal for the Money

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Not a bad location and a nice pool area. Just far enough off the beaten path so the area is relatively quiet.
Cons: Apparently improvements are being made to bring the hotel up to higher standards.
Location: Close to beach and fine dining facilities at nearby hotels.
Room was clean and staff vey pleasant. Unfortunately, there was a lot of remodeling going on almost all night in the room across from us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sterling Heights MI

overnight in Ft Lauderdale

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: family owned, can tell they are working on updating.
Cons: newer bath sinks/fixtures. Put a mirror on wall. Ice Buckets, pop/snack machine for 24 hour use.
Location: 3 blocks to great beach and restaurants/stores. Thoroughly enjoyed The Deck restaurant right across from beach.
Booked room because it said close to beach and airport transportation. FYI, was told cabs do not come here, no reason given. Our cab driver never heard of the place. 3 blocks from beach. Shuttle to airport very prompt and pleasant. Needs some cosmetic work but room was very clean. Elevator, scary...pool perfect size for cooling off. Beautiful garden/pool area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bring snacks and stuff to put in fridge, store not close by.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

What a DUMP!

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: TEAR IT DOWN and build something nice.
Location: Awesome location a block from the beach.
This place was a dump! I don't know where the other reviewers were staying, but it couldn't have been here! I gave it a 1 star because I couldn't give it a ZERO! The only positive was that it was clean and close to the beach. Unfortunately, it was also close to lots of nice hotels that made you envious you weren't there instead! The room was small and sparse. I was supposed to have a 'kitchenette'. Although it seemed some rooms had them, ours was a fridge in the corner with a microwave on top and a coffee maker on the shelf above that. No countertop/sink etc. The beds were like straw and I think the sheets were actually plastic. The A/C was so bad that, even though it wasn't even hot outside, it was warm and humid inside. Good luck if you are short because it was over the door. There are not many positives I can say about this place. If I had paid half the Expedia rate, I may have expected a two-bit truckstop motel and would have expected it. It was the single worst motel I've ever stayed at and that includes 'no-tell' motels!!! Don't waste your money! A discount chain motel is an upgrade from this place. I trusted the online reviews and was hoping for a nice, boutique, historical motel experience. IT WAS AN EXPERIENCE! If we were staying more than one day I would have gone somewhere else. Sadly, it was so bad, I couldn't wait to write the review just to get it off my chest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Just Perfect

Posted Oct 4, 2014
The hotel is nice, clean and very close to everything, it was cheap and I was very pleased with the room I got. Pretty big for the price and very clean, the bed was very comfy. I'll def come back here next time, and I highly recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Close to beach

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: It was very close to the beach and the price was great.
Cons: It didn't get real cool in the room. I like it cooler than it would go for sleeping, but so clean.
Location: Lots of places to eat and drink in walking distance. The beach was less than 2 blocks from hotel. So nice!!!
Very nice stay at this hotel. The tv was about of a problem, but we got it corrected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Cherylfrom Ft Lauderdale

Good overnight hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
If your looking for a overnight stay or just hanging at the beach this is a GREAT hotel. It is older and could use some maintenance but the staff was nice and professional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Serge Pfrom FL

Budget hotel in great location

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best things about this hotel is location and free parking. The hotel is two short blocks away from the beach, and there are restaurants and several convenience stores in the walking distance. The surrounding area is quiet. The hotel is old but well maintained, the front desk staff is friendly and helpful. The problem is the cleaning staff. Although they happily accepted our tips, our room stood not cleaned until 3 PM every day we were there, the floor was never vacuumed, and no coffee packets or toiletries were not replenished. The A/C is very old and noisy, and you cannot control it. And I mean really really noisy. All in all, this place is okay for one or two nights if you on a budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, Fl

Very Nice Hotel w/ great staff and close to beach!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, cleanliness, location.
Cons: Steps going out to balcony.
I was very happy with our first stay at TropiRock. We arrived very late (3:30am) but the guest service manager, Richard was very helpful and friendly checking us in and even helping us with our bags. He also told us about the other hotels in the area associated with this one, letting us know that we had full use of all of those hotel's amenities. The rest of the staff was very friendly as well although we only needed them once before checking out. I visit Ft. Lauderdale often and always try to check out the older smaller hotels in this area and we will definitely stay at this one again.