Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from drayton valley AB

Not what is advertised

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Under no circumstances should anyone assume they are travelling to a 3.5 star resort when booking this hotel. The room That is advertised is not a standard room and a standard room at this hotel means decrepit, shabby, and in dire need of a reno. The owners of this resort should be ashamed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Good resort for the money

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: We really enjoyed the restaurant on site called Bamboo. The drinks were never short on alcohol, and the food was fair for a buffet.
Cons: There was a drink machine near the bar that was never cleaned! Not enough towels!
Location: Cleveland's bar was just a short walk up the beach, this is a must visit local bar! The food was wonderful!
We read a lot of reviews that went back and forth about this resort. We took our chances and booked a week there. We arrived at the same time as tropical storm Arthur. With this being said the resort was a mess the day after. It took another day before everything was back to normal. Once the storm and the mess it left was clear, the resort was just as pictured. It has a great beach area if your looking for a natural beach. The beach area has lots of trees and man made covered areas. The pool was kept very clean, and the included water sports were great. The staff for the most part were just going through the motions. There was always trouble getting new towels, for the beach/pool, and the room!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bahama trip

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Cons: maintanance
Location: there was actually nothing close to this hotel, the beast part was that it was right on the beach.
The hotel was ok for a first time visit to the Bahamas. The hotel needs a lot of maintenance work to make it perfect. I didn't like the fact that an all inclusive hotel charged to use an in room safe... Overall I guess my stay was ok, was nice just to get away from home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall, a good Hotel for the money.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Fantastic food and location by the beautiful beach.
Cons: Customer service at the hotel. Need more snorkeling gear because most of the time we could not snorkel because the staff did not have any gear left.
Location: Great location for swimming, snorkeling and kayaking.
The Good: very close to the beach and great food. The Bad: we had to change rooms because the AC in the first room was set at 60 degrees and there was no thermostat lever to raise the temp so it just stayed on all the time, therefore we went to a another room which was good except for the very loud AC. Overall it was a good experience because of the location and food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, quiet, restful

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The air conditioning worked, beds were comfortable, nice dark out shades/curtains, always fish option available and beach was beautiful.
Cons: Have more bathroom linens available for all guests. Fewer rice dishes. More variety in day to day meals. Provide porters even if a fee I charged.
Location: The beach was beautiful. We did not go further than the resort.
The amount of walking and no porter services to carry bags was rough. Dinner was adequate each night. However, it would be better if dining area was air conditioned. Towels and washcloths were hard to obtain sometimes. Viva Café was excellent. No printing from business area. Location is very hot and humid. It was restful and quiet. Nobody bothers you on beach. Room was clean and very well air conditioned. Baggage transport is all on you. Pharmacy on site was good for snacks and drinks. Ice was obtainable only at bar area. You will not check in until 3pm. You may enjoy the location until then but can not check in. It was what I expected for the rate and it was a good rest. Pool was clean and music was always appropriate. Theme nights were nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel, great beach!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The location is the best thing about this hotel. Beautiful beach and away from the commercial center of Freeport.
Cons: If the food was taken up a notch or 2, this would be a 4 star hotel. Please fix the bikes. Most had flat tires and peddles missing.
I was a bit concerned about this hotel based on the reviews. However, I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. I took my 14 year old nephew and we had a great time! The beach is beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable if a bit old. The AC and the hot water were in working order. I paid for a garden view and had a view of the ocean. The staff was polite and attentive. The activities were always available. The trapeze was under repair during our stay but we took advantage of everything else. The pool and hot tub were great. We also went on 2 excursions, one snorkeling and one to Lucayan National Park. Both worthwhile and inexpensive. As expected, the food was just ok. They served a great breakfast and my nephew was happy with the pizza, fries and burgers for lunch and dinner. And the beach grill was a plus for a hungry teenager. I was able to find decent veggies and fish most of the time. Imagine cafeteria style food- pasta salads, steamed veggies, spaghetti, etc. The fresh fruit and desserts were good. And wine was available at the buffet for dinner. The drinks were probably watered down a bit but I was ok with that. The late night pizza was really good. We were not able to make a reservation for either of the restaurants but didn't feel like we missed anything. I wouldn't go here for a honeymoon or the trip of a lifetime, but for a getaway with a laid back teenager, it was great. If you want 5 star accommodations, pay the price and quit your whining!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gboro, NC

Staff made the difference

Posted Jun 29, 2014
The staff made a resort hotel that lacked much more enjoyable. Shortage of beach and room towels was beyond laughable as it took over a day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Beach and Pool facilities - great!!!!

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Beach and pool. Some of the staff were nice. Not many. Staff in dining all always ready to serve.
Cons: The facilities for those that are not members is terrible. Need to be updated very badly.
Location: Nothing nearby. You must take a taxi to anywhere.
Very disappointed with my experience with this hotel. It took almost 1 1/2 days to get towels!!! I think they have a shortage or you MUST be a member of their travel club to get good service. Second maybe even third rate service if you are not a member. Food not good..and not a good selection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

If u are going to a island

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Food and overall things are shipped to the island so you should not compare to cancun like some people do. so the food is okay if you think about the difficulty of having everything fresh and nice. If u are going just to enjoy the beach and sun tan i would not recommend viva wyndham bahamas and would tell u to book in the lucaya or even atlantis. But if u are a person that likes to save a little but still have all of the activities like paddleboarding, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and other activities for free I mean all inclusive. U should definetly go there and also they have a scubadiving facility inside the hotel that is cheaper.to dive with them and amazing personel. I would definitely recommend.this hotel and will be coming back. Had a blast. And the beach just beautiful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by elizabeth P from ontario canada

Great beach

Posted Jun 17, 2014
My husband and i stayed here in june it was a nice beach staff was good too you just have to be polite an they are polite back the food was not bad there are alot of options to choose from. Overall we enjoyed our stay here the rooms were not bad either we had an ocean view room and loved the view.