Ratings based on 1,661 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this was worst and overpriced hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing
this was worst and overpriced hotel . Horrible hotel , insects
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Canyon Plaza Resort

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Staff, spacious room, cleanliness
Cons: The internet was unreliable, and twice during a 4 day-stay the keys stopped working so we had to have them re-keyed.
Location: The IMAX is just a stone throw away, as are restaurants. "We Cook Pizza and Pasta had a great salad bar as well as pizza, pasta looked good too.
The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The front desk staff were friendly even when I locked my hotel keys in the room twice! "Grand Canyon Rich" at the tourist desk set us up with a great tour that took us to the Canyon and the Navajo reservation, which included a great lunch at a wonderful Navajo trading post. The room was spacious with a queen size bed and a pull out sofa. The décor is a little dated and you can tell it is an older hotel, but it was a great value for the price. The bathrooms were clean and the drains worked fine. There was a small refrigerator and a microwave which made it convenient to bring back leftovers. The dinner and breakfast buffet's were decent, and the wait staff were very attentive. The bar was also very nice, with a great selection of drinks, and great cocktail specials. It was nice that upon check-in the staff gave us discount coupons for both the lounge and dinner. And Grand Canyon Rick recommended an café near the hotel, that was very good for a late breakfast, and he even gave us a discount coupon! My only complaint about the hotel is that the internet periodically did not work b/c of too many users. Since we were on vacation that was not too much of an issue, but for anyone that may need it for work, it could be a problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In a town of very limited choice ...

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Hot tub Pool but it should be heated for the price of the hotel
Cons: Update look Very annoying that they, take 50 dollars security deposit for 30 days
Location: Grand Canyon is 5 miles away. It's one of 5 choices in town.
It's fine ... Front desk is abrupt. Looks as if they are cleaning all the time but it's not spanking clean . Not worth $257 a night more like $125. Restaurant is over priced ....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa.

They don't pay attention to customers requests!

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: SERVICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: Grand Canyon
I requested a feather free room in advance due to severe allergies (emergency room severe) to feather pillows/bedding. They ignored this request and were not prepared with a feather free room upon my arrival. I made the request in person again upon arrival. The desk clerk seemed to think it was a meaningless request, but the night supervisor did accommodate my request. However, on the second day they put feather pillows back in the room. When I checked out I advised the morning desk clerk of the problem and she acted like it was no big deal and it was " housekeepings problem". As the consumer, I don't much care which department of the hotel staff is responsible- I care that the hotel in general did not take the request seriously. The facility was decent but very overpriced for the service rendered. I'll never stay there again, and I regret staying there in the first place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good location

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The location.
Hotel was situated in a convenient location. Close to the IMAX theatre and helicopter tours. There was a good choice of restaurants close by for dining. Hotel was clean and well kept. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Ok when all else is full.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: I like the backdoor access to the inner/inside area of the hotel. Parked infront of our door, and walked out the back door into the indoor plaza area
Cons: Staffing could be improved.
Location: Location was great, right outside the park, directly on the bus route into the park. Restaurants were all walking distance.
The staff who checked us in "Cherish", could have cared less we were there. I would say she was civil, and polite because she was being paid to be. Not sure she ever actually looked at me. Upon check out they were understaffed with one person at the desk while three others were in the back room talking to the only person at the desk while a line of 10 guests waited. No one came to help. I gave up and just placed my key on the counter and said "I'm checking out" and left. The hotel offered many amenities which were nice. Breakfast could stay open for an extra 30 minutes, until 10am, that would have been helpful. The room was "ok". Was no smoking, but must have just recently been changed to no smoking as there were burn marks on the furniture, and the room still smelled (appeared to be pet stains on the carpet). Big room, front and back door which led to the inner restaurants, bar, spa, etc. The room had been partially remodeled and partially not remodeled, kind of odd. Overall, was comfortable, worked in a pinch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Service.
Location: Visit the grand canyons, Imax
Nice hotel, rooms very comfortable. Quiet Employes very polite
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

This is a dirty motel pretending to be a hotel.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: leaving
Cons: remove the dumped vehicles
Location: Get to the grand canyon and avoid this hotel
For $400 we got a view of dumped cars and trash tip
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, TN

Convenience to shuttle line only attraction

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Location: Very convenient walk to catch the purple shuttle route to the Grand Canyon Visitors Center. The free shuttles are the best way to move about the park
This hotel was extremely over-priced for what was delivered. The furnishings were shabby - even seemed to be missing one piece of furniture. No microwave and mini-fridge was questionable. It was definitely taking advantage of it's location and time of year. Check-in staff was unhelpful - like pulling teeth to get info on anything Grand Canyon related. He seemed to want us to wait for the concierge to return from break rather than answer simple questions about the shuttle service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, but not many options close to G.C.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Older hotel. Overpriced, but not many other options close to south entrance.