Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Not the best!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Where to start. Sent to an unready room and had to wait around while it was cleaned despite being past the very late hotel standard check-in time of 3pm (they ridiculously charge £10 per hour if you want to check in any earlier). A party in the room next door went on until 3am and no one would answer the reception telephone, eventually when they did, it took around another 45 mins to resolve. Rooms are dated, particularly the bathrooms, they are like something out of the 80s with plastic showers, exposed pipes and horrible beige colour schemes. I would never stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sheffield

Average

Posted Dec 30, 2014
The restaurant staff was not very friendly or attentive on check out the bill was wrong the room was run down and in need of of some TLC however the surrounding was very picturesque
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ayrshire

Had a nice 2 day break

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Just a nice relaxing stay. We had a view of the Clyde which was fantastic. The food was good.
Cons: We prefer having a buffet breakfast.
Location: Excellent location, and the room with a view over the Clyde was great.
Enjoyed ourselves, staff very friendly, food was good. Décor in the halls need to be spruced up but other than that we had an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stefanfrom whitehaven

very nice hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
easy access from Glasgow, fantastic settling, rooms dated and bad wi fi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martinfrom Sunny Saltcoats

Great stop off away from the madding crowd!

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
One night stop en-route to Greenock - Hotel is easy to find and very quiet due to location, great views over the Clyde at breakfast, dinner was unfussy and very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christopherfrom portsmouth

nice hotel with great location

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely location with a good size ,clean double room. Great breakfast and helpful staff. My room had two single beds pushed together and one of the beds was broken!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Johnfrom Chelmsford

Good staff. Needs an upgrade.

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff very accommodating. Hotel needs an investment programme to refurbish and update. Lovely location, shame about the golf course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carolfrom Lairg

Fantastic

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was fantastic. Soo relaxing. The only problem we can think of was that the coffee cups were a bit dirty - but we just gave them a quick wash and everythiing else was perfect. Would definately stay again and have already recommended it to friends. Staff were soo friendly, setting was stunning - i think we must have had the room with the best view - over the clyde. Was everything we wanted and more. Food was delicious - nachos with haggis were amazing. Fantastic stay - thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Mediocre stay at this hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was a wedding taking place when we arrived therefore the reception area was extremely busy and the receptionist failed to notice our arrival. When we did get our card to the room it was another drive around the building to get to the closest entrance to it. The hotel once inside is poorly signed for where everything is and it's like a maze! The rooms are dated and in need of a good hoover!! dust and fluff everywhere. Hotel is located in a beautiful place though and views are stunning from the restaurant. Hotel pool is absolutely freezing! so not suited to younger ones, we did venture in and our 20month old daughters bottom lip was trembling with the cold. Food was good, we had both dinner and breakfast and it was nice enough. I would recommend both the steak pie and the steak! Staff were ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com